We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Zoo

Phuket Zoo
23/2 Moo 3, Soi Palai, Chaofah Rd. | Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
+66 (0) 7638 1227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 85 Attractions in Phuket
Attraction details
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think the main thing to say is that this zoo is what you will be expecting in a country like this. They do not have the regulations and welfare standards that we do. Pens are small and pretty crowded, especially the crocodiles and snakes. You can buy bunches of bananas to feed the monkeys bears and elephants and we bought a lot out of pity which is how it seems to work here.
Very busy place though so people are not being put off, food and drink is cheap and you can have photos taken with the animals.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    76
    79
    82
    422
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having been to many zoos in many countries, I would have to rate this one at the very bottom of the list. The layout is horrible, the zoo is dirty and the animal conditions don't seem very good. The alligators appear to be living in filthy water and are extremely over crowded.
The monkey and aligator show are nothing spectacular and while the elephant show is entertaining, it's not worth the money.
I'd recommend you give this zoo a pass!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“MAKE A CHANGE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I would NEVER recommend anyone to visit this zoo, in the condition it is in. It is extremely distressing that the zoo chooses to deny these animals their freedom and ability to display their natural behaviour.

We took a big bag of bananas to feed the starving animals - if you do this, make sure the zoo keepers don't see you feeding the animals - not because they don't like it, more because they recognised this as a meal and will then assume the animal has eaten for the day, so they won't feed it! Also, wish we had taken some raw meat to feed the tigers - they are starving!!

Please, if you do go, Please do not pay any more then the minimum to this zoo - take your own food and PLEASE DONT SUPPORT GETTING YOUR PHOTO TAKEN!

We recently visited the Phuket Zoo - we were horrified by the way the animals were kept in tiny cages, usually on their own, with minimal water and no food. Not a single animal seemed happy.

We were warned that the conditions of the zoo were quite harsh, yet we could never be prepared for what we saw. The elephants are chained up without any room for movement, as a result were swaying uncontrollably. The only time the elephants exercised movement was during the show they were forced into.

There were hundreds of crocodiles, to the extent where they were stacked up on top of each other. The reason for this is that the zoo farms the crocodiles for their skins.

I have never seen tigers in the condition that these were - They were clearly starving, you could see the outline of their bones. They were pacing and had nothing to eat and no water to drink.

The animals are put on show and tourists are encouraged to photograph with them - A large tiger was clearly drugged to keep it calm. Whenever a photograph was taken it was smacked in the face so as to look alert and awake.

The most disgusting part of this zoo was the treatment the zoo keepers show towards the animals. A tiger cub, again available for photographs, was getting a shake down right in front of our eyes - the keeper had his arm in a sling (which I hope was from an animal getting revenge). He repeatedly stuck the cub with a metal rod after throwing the cub into a cage, the size more suitable for a house cat. I asked him to stop and to leave it be, yelling out that this is only a baby. He ignored me and then became quite aggressive.

At a minimum, the living conditions of the animals at the zoo need to improve immediately. The cages are entirely inadequate, and there is no source of enrichment for the animals to ensure that they can carry out even a little of their natural behavior. As a result, the animals exhibit self-destructive behavior like pacing, neck-twisting, head-bobbing and bar-biting. Animals who are forced to perform tricks during animal shows are often trained using whips, chains, bullhooks and other methods of cruel punishment. - THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE!

Please use your influence to ensure that Phuket Zoo joins other zoos by adopting a welfare standards policy to provide better care for the animals. Animals in captivity live significantly shorter lives and are unable to experience most natural behaviors necessary for a fulfilled life. Please order the zoo not to expand and worsen the lives of wild animals. Please use your influence to help those who cannot speak for themselves - these animals are suffering. I will be continuing to speak up until a change is made - every person I connect with, will know about the harsh conditions and lack of care displayed at the PHUKET ZOO. I will do everything in my power to make this change happen, will you?

Support 'Change the Phuket Zoo' on Facebook

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't go there..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went to see the Zoo with our children and I really wish we hadn't. We felt so bad how the animals are treated and in what kind of circumstances they are living.. I have seen many zoos in my life but this was something very different than the others.. It was very clear that the well-being of the animals is the last priority. and in addition, the place needs a renevation urgently and cleaning as well. Everything was falling apart and very dirty. Definitely not worth of visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

only one advice go there if u ve lots of time n if u want to waste 500 bhat for nothing....rather then visiting this place its better stay in ur hotel n have some beer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Phuket Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.