We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Kheow Open Zoo

Khao Kheow Open Zoo
235 Moo 7, Bang Phra, Pattaya, Thailand
+66 236366601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Attractions in Pattaya
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Khao Kheow Open Zoo, for over 32 years, has been a cherished resource located in Chonburi Province .The zoo encompasses over 2,000 acres of the Khao Kheow-Khao Chom Puo Wildlife Sanctuary. The zoo grounds are divided into animal habitats (400 acres), public recreational areas (200 acres) and research area (1,400 acres) which is used for the breeding of various endangered species. It is the first zoo in Thailand to become a member of WAZA .
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Arrived a little late in the day as traveled down from Pattaya and as life goes you only wake up and dinner time in Pattaya!!

Purchased food on the way in and hired golf buggy to zip around in (This is a must!) We where there in close season therefore it was very quiet and we preferred this.

Managed to see most of the animals and its amazing that you can get up close and personal with them. Be careful of the wild monkeys...these can be very cheeky and one tried to jump me :-P

Due to arriving late we rushed round but id love to go back and spend all day there taking our time!

The animals seemed rather happy and feeding the Elephants and Rhino was something we'll never forget.

Our little one was only 11/2 and she loved it!!

The taxi waited outside for us so when we finished back to Pattaya we went!!

We'll be back for sure!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    217
    64
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for full family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Enjoy the day out with your family with lots of fun and amusements. The food is also good with choices of veg & non-veg.

Your camera will run non-stop to capture everything.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice day out 40 drive mins from Pattaya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

You can hand feed the animals including up close and personal with Jirafe. They also have Meerkats. Interesting enough "The flight of the gibbon" is part of the same area, If you do flight of the gibbon you get free entrance to the zoo.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“beautiful open concept zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

huge area, was there for company annual outing and spend the night in their dormitory.
you need to spend one whole day to enjoy all facilities and visit everything.
try to stay overnight to experience different ambience

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing and hands on animal experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had read a lot of reviews of this place, was expecting a lot and I was not at all dissapointed!
Firstly I have say, it wasnt easy getting a tour to there. All the tour companies seemed to offer ones to the Sri racha tiger zoo (which I have also went to previously) or other zoos. We had to ask at several places to find someone. Then we compared prices and haggled a good amount. I think our price was about 1600 which included hotel pickup and dropoff, and our entry tickets. (300 each usualyl?). The taxi driver waited for us from about 4 hours while we looked through the zoo before taking us back. Apparently as this is a government zoo, they pay no kickbacks to tour operators, so none of them want to go there, whereas privately owned Sri rachi and others, pay commisions so they are more appealing.
TRUST ME! This place is worth is and you shoudl find a way to get here!
We hired a gold buggy, which was a few hundred more baht. It was a hot day so we were glad to do it. We bought the food as we went. Some people have said that at times it was hard to get food at different animals, but maybe that was off season, when we went, there was a setup in front of most animals selling very reasonable foods for each.
Dont waste money on the deers.. they were very disinterested in the food..
Feeding the hippos, giraffes, elephants and rhinos was a great experience!!!!
We stopped at got a drink on the way, and pressed a little souvenier medallion on the way out.
We also saw a show near the end which was amazing.. the animals knew their routine so well, and there was no sign of coersion from human handlers (as I had seen in tiger/elephant/crocodile/pig shows at Sri Racha).
This is great, and a really memorable experience! Dont miss it!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao Kheow Open Zoo also viewed

 
Bang Lamung, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Khao Kheow Open Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Kheow Open Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.