We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, great staff and great position.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Garden to your Saves list
The Residence Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146/107 Moo 10, Thappraya Road, Pattaya 20260 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well run, great staff and great position.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Residence Garden in my eyes is a 2.5 star property. It was built in 1997 an dis very well maintained by Thai standards and any standards in fact.

I am staying in a one bed room apartment with 1 flat screen TV and I old type TV. The flat screen was in the living room and I asked the staff to put it in the bedroom. No problems at all. TV reception is great and standards of channels fine.
a
Their is full size fridge, small workable kitchen with all utensils . I don't cook when in Thailand as eating out is cheap and there are so many styles of restaurants or cafes to choose from suiting all budgets.

The hotel is on a main road and 10 baht buses run 24/7. Its only a short walk in to South Pattaya and only a ten minute walk to the heart of Jomtein..

Jomtein is much cleaner and less hectic than PATTAYA and there is plenty to keep you busy. The beaches are 100% better than they were 5 years ago and the water is safe.

I am in a room at the front of the hotel and do not hear any road noise or outside noise what so ever.

The shower and toilet area is fine and plenty big enough. The bedroom is very good size with in room safe and plenty of hanging and draw space. The bed was a bit hard for me so as i am staying here for 70 days I went out and bought a high quality mattress comforter and will take home with me.

The restaurant is of good quality and reasonable price if you don't feel like going out or are after a lazy day. There are two good size pools and a good bar area with Elvis playing Saturdays and Sundays.

Across the road is a Familymart, a laundry which is very cheap and offers excellent service and a high quality hairdresser and beauty shop for the girls. There is a good massage place 10 meters away and the foot paths are not too bad.

The room air con is the best i have ever had at any hotel i have ever stayed at any hotel.

If you stay longer than a month good rates are available. There are cheaper places of a similar quality in Pattaya but this place is very well run, very safe and very convenient.

The staff speak many languages and there English is fine.

To be honest I cant speak highly enough of this palce as I feel safe and happy here an dthe staff make me feel very relaxed. I came here to get away from stress for a while an dsome people would question my choice of Pattaya.

The reason Pattaya is that it is very cheap compared to Phuket and now with Jomtein basically being a city of its own and the development of the northern parts of Pattaya towards Nakula it is very easy to stay away from the chaos of bar life.

There are plenty of family's coming here now and once you know how the baht buses work its a very cheap place to move around with out chewing up money.

Feel free to ask any questions, more than happy to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
13
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed with Family in February.
Usually stay elsewhere in Pattaya but I found a promotional rate for this and it worked out at
1450 Bt per night for a 1 bedroom apartment which is excellent value.

The apartment itself is good. The living area had a large LCD TV and air con and the kitchenette was equipped enough to cook my daughter breakfast every day. The bedroom had its own TV and aircon. Nice big balcony.
We had a room facing the front pool (main road). The road is the main connection to Jomtien so its busy all day. So lets just say it wasn't quiet and you couldn't really relax on the balcony. Also we had to move our daughters bed into our room for the quiet.

The hotel has two very nice pools with plenty of beds, the one on the front more or less abuts the road so its not peaceful, one at the back is ok. The pool area was empty most days

The hotel has appeared to have a nice restaurant but we never tried it, drinks around the pool were reasonable. Staff were very friendly and the hotel had free wifi.

The hotel is on the Baht bus route so 10bht into Pattaya or Jomtien which is no problem in terms of frequency. The Pattaya bus takes you down 2nd Road so is good. Coming back you need to walk to the school at the junction of the South Pattaya road, 2 min queue usually but no problems.

Not much nearby, Family Mart over the road is excellent for provisions, Noodle Bar next door very reasonable and a couple of bars within a 5 min walk.

As stated above the only downside was the aspect of our room, if we had one of the ones in the other building it wouldn't have been as bad.

We would stay again without hesitation and would recommend it to others as you are far away from the madness of Pattaya but close enough if you want to access it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back pool. Search out the promotional rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Home-From-Home once more.
This trip had me staying in a one bedroom apartment for two weeks. The apartment is incredible value for money costing no more than a very good value hotel room. It's spacious and with all of the things that one needs to relax successfully. The rooms could be updated slightly but it's seriously not an issue.
The food is very good with a nice selection. I ate breakfast and at least one other meal here everyday not wanting for more.
Location is good (I feel). You feel set back from it all when all of the action is just around the corner. With some other good restaurants on the doorstep and convenience stores you don't need to go far if you don't want to.
What always strikes me about this place is the pleasant and family orientated clientele that it attracts.
Having a fast internet connection around the pool area is a great thing. This is as good of a replacement to the office as one can get!
Overall a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Lower floors gain the better internet signal (although it's pretty good throughout)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

RG is such a good stay always. Two nice pools. Large 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom apartments with huge lounge areas and nice large balconies. Nice large firm king-size beds, good strong hot water showers, careful on the tiles in bathroom they can get slippery. Kitchenette area if you really want to cook something. Laundry and Foodmart opposite. Easy access to both Pattaya and Jomtien with the baht buses. 10 baht anywhere. Close but not too close to the downtown nightlife.

Room Tip: levels 5 and 6 have sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my 2nd trip to pattaya and frankly was not very impresed with the hotel. Had rented a two bedroom apartment for 3 days. The rooms were ok. Very Basic. The hotel is a about a 2km walk from the famous walking street and about 3 kms from the beach.There are many other hotels for the same price and located in much better areas (closer to the beach road). The hotel claims itself to be guest/joiner friendly but thats limited to the maximum no. of people allowed in a room, so say if two people rent out a double or a twin room and even if only 1 out of the two people are physically present in the room your 'guest' is not free. In such a case you need to shell out another 1500 baht!. (which is more than what most 4-5 stars on the beach road charge). The staff otherwise was courteous and the breakfast was good. But considering many more options near the beach i would not stay at this place again. May be good for families who want to stay a bit away from the party scene and yet not be too far from the beach.!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Still a reasonable place to stay. The hotel is always kept very clean and the public areas around the pool are tidied every evening.

I think the rooms are comfortable although they need some updating. The aircon units are pretty old now and my thermostat was not working so the bedroom was either very hot or very cold. The filters also need cleaning as we got sick from the aircon and the filter looks like it has never been cleaned.

Also had a problem with the water pressure, it was so low that the water heater would stop working.

The new restaurant has taken up a lot of the sunbathing area around the pool so sun beds can be in short supply.

The road in front of the hotel is very noisy so not much chance of sleeping around the pool.

There were a lot of Russian guests at the hotel now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Its not going to blow you away, but for the price you pay it is definitely worth it.

very nice sized room, comfortable and the staff were all very helpful. it wasnt too busy when i was there, which i quite enjoyed. nothing like being able to go downstairs and just have a seat by the pool and order breakfast, which i might add was moderately priced and good quality. I couldnt say for sure but if you wanted to invite people back to drink or eat i think there was always room for this.

again the staff were extremely pleasant, and for the price you pay i dont think you can go wrong. its close enough to the action, but if you dont want to walk (10 minutes) you can just jump on a tuk tuk right outside the hotel.

thanks to the staff for a wonderful time:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Garden

Address: 146/107 Moo 10, Thappraya Road, Pattaya 20260 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Residence Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Garden Hotel Pattaya
Residence Garden Pattaya
Residence Garden Hotel Pattaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.