We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value... great location !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flipper Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flipper Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Flipper Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520/1 Soi 8 Pattaya Beach Road, Pattaya, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 377 Hotels in Pattaya
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“good value... great location !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Plenty of advantages of staying at Flipper Lodge Hotel which includes the value for the baht at only 1,300 Bhat per night you get a modern hotel with full amenities... the air con is good, the bathroom is modern and fully functional, the complementary breakfast is great, etc. The location is probably just as nice as the value for the baht situated smack in the middle of Central Pattaya next to the beach. You simply can't beat this package.

The only thing separating this hotel experience from a good rating is the lack of a bed cover... one only gets sheets on the bed which makes it difficult to get a comfortable nights sleep.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for someone on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    48
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
19
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was my second stay at Flipper Lodge in 7 months. This stay was just as good as the last. I took advantage of their special offer and stayed 14 nights but only paid for 10. It worked out at $35 US a night including breakfast.

The location is ideal for a single person with many bars in the area and within walking distance of Walking Street ( about 15 mins) and right near Grand Central shopping mall.

Not a good location for families as it is right next to a lot of bars.

As before the breakfast was great. A large buffet selection with western and Thai food and an egg station. If you want to try a different breakfast the Sailor Bar opposite does a full English Breakfast for 60 Baht !

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The ones on the front can be a bit noisy as the bar next door has loud music until about 3:00 am , but this time I had a room at the back so this did not affect me at all.

The roof top swimming pool is good with plenty of chairs and a bar as well.

Would recommend this to any single travellers. When I go to Pattaya again I will be staying here

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper and want to sleep before 3:00 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Mostly because I know what I am getting with reasonable prices. I just spent a week there and was on a special of stay 7 nights pay for 5, which amounted to 1072 baht per night Building A. Which is as reasonable as you going to get. I know Im always going to get a cold room, however this time the A/C noise was bothering me at night, was old and needed to be changed. Rooms are clean, bathroom acceptable. B'fast not great but sufficed. At least their eggs are freshly made when you ask the chef on balcony. After a couple of days I ended up just with getting 4 halves of French Toast, some fruit following and coffee. The pool is always a great place to lounge by in. Not suitable for family and kids, find a resort style. Close to many bars which after a while can be a pain with 'Welcuuum how aryuuuu'. But if you going to stay in Patts. and want something reasonably priced with good service then I dont think you can go past this one. So I dont really bother looking elsewhere and just stay here. Oh a tip, this time I found a great eating place just around the corner. Turn right exiting hotel towards Second Road, half way up turn left sign post says to Pig and Whistle (english pub I think). and on corner is small open eatery called OohLaLa I think. They have a fabulous 'Weiner Shnitzel' (of chick not veal) its always tender and very reasonably priced at 179 baht ($6). Choose chips or mash. Also theyre Pancake (2) with jam and coffee for 110 baht ($4) is to die for, wonderful. Just go in the evenings, day chef stuffed up making pancakes. What more can I say, hope you have found this review helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at the Flipper Lodge on soi 8 on a recommendation from a friend who had only heard about this hotel and never stayed here
Called earlier about should i make reservations or could i just walk in and see for myself. Friendly lady said i could do both but if a walk in rooms would be subject to availability. No problem so we decided on going to see the hotel in person.

They had a low season promotion which i checked on their website which was 20% off for 1-3 nights. Took i think a higher priced room in building B because that was the only one available in that section - i think $1600 bht per nite or so after the discount. Wanted to stay there on reading advice from another reviewer that said it would be more quiet. It was...

I found the room to be very nicely furnished with a king size bed, flat screen tv, strong shower, fridge stocked mini bar, etc, and mostly a good view of the ocean and could also see Central Festival shopping center next door. Walking out the hotel and turning left the beach was only a stone's throw away.

Buffet breakfast was ok but my only gripe was that it was only for 1 person. So if u were a couple you had to pay an extra 159 bht for them

Many beer bars and the such on this soi but i guess that is typical for this area.

Overall i would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the loud music but it might cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was ok clean and big. aircon takes a while to kick in and window very difficult to lock. Pool was nice on the roof top though food and drinks a little pricey. Very noisy at night as in the middle of pubs that like to play music until about 2.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights only. Since we are three persons, we need an extra bed. We paid around 1000-1500 baht including the extra bed. We didnt book this hotel, we just walked in there.
Is centrally located in Pattaya if could say, walking distance to Central Walk where all the nights scene happening, yet the place is still quite. Close to the beach.
It was okay and the breakfast was excellent!
Cant write it that much here since we left this hotel after breakfast to go to Ko Samed.
Will come back and stay here again if necessary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Room was fine and averagely priced for the area. As it's a big hotel, staff service isn't as personal but no major probs. Breakfast staff were particularly helpful. Location is the best thing about the hotel. Wouldn't especially recommend it but not bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flipper Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flipper Lodge Hotel

Address: 520/1 Soi 8 Pattaya Beach Road, Pattaya, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Pattaya
#38 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flipper Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Flipper Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flipper Hotel Pattaya
Flipper Lodge Pattaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flipper Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.