We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Village Pattaya

Elephant Village Pattaya
54 / 1 Moo 2 | Nong Prue, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
038 249 818
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from...
Ranked #8 of 42 Attractions in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 stars 533 Reviews
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We took about 1 hour elephant trekking and it was superb! The elephants were so lovely and adorable. Everyone was really friendly and the village was so peaceful.

First you can feed the elephants (cost a little more extra) and then you go to the ride. It was so exciting go through water with elephant:)

Right the beginning of the ride some guy took photos of us with the elephant (after the ride they sell those photos, I think the price was 400 baht).

The elephant trainer was nice. During the tour we stopped in the field for a while and he asked if wanted some pictures taken from us with the elephant with our camera. At first he didn't ask money from us for those pictures he took but in the end of our ride he showed 100 baht bill like he would have wanted us to give him that amount from the picture behind his boss back.

We felt that he was rude because we didn't ask him to take those photos. We thought that he just wanted to be friendly and that this was part of the ride.... But we gave him that 20 baht and that's it. He didn't say anything but we saw that he was angry.

After the ride we went to see how silk is made and after that they serve really good fresh fruits to us.

Elephant trekking is amazing once in a lifetime experience (for all ages). This was worth the money! :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    160
    61
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

the Elephant Village Pattaya is a fantastic day out for young and old the elephants are well trained and well looked after

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We booked a '1 hour elephant Trekking' tour from one of the tour operators in a side street off second street in pattaya. They said it was 1200 baht per person but managed to get it for 1000 baht each. This fee included pick up and drop off from our hotel and entry into the elephant village. An excellent price considering its 1200 pp to book online which doesnt include transport.
When you arrive they explain what will happen, you then get 10/15 mins to feed the elephants if you wish (100 baht for a bunch of bananas) you then get on the elephant and ride for 45-50 minutes through water (you dont get wet), dirt tracks and fields. In the field our elephant trainer stopped to swap our camera with another elephant trainer and got some photos of us on the elephant.
When the trek had finished our trainer let us stroke the elephant and get photos with it.
They then take you in a 4x4 to a little hut to show you how silk is made, then again in a 4x4 back to the beginning where they serve fresh fruit tea and coffee and show you the video of your trek which you can buy for 1000baht and a professional photo in a wooden frame 400baht.
Very much worth the money and a great experience up close and personal with elephants, great for all ages!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Mahant was extremely accommodating with where we sat on the Elephant for an extra 50B which led to a once in a lifetime experience (unless you ride elephants for a living). Amazing

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Elephants Large Elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you are animal fan, this is the place where you ought to visit. Beautiful scenery and really beautiful elephants. One can take elephant safari and can see elephant show. Very beautiful and elegant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village Pattaya also viewed

 
Bang Lamung, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Elephant Village Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Village Pattaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.