We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach with 100's of umbrellas to lie under !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pattaya Beach

Pattaya Beach
Pattaya, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 42 Attractions in Pattaya
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice beach with 100's of umbrellas to lie under !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a very busy part of the town with many street vendors along
the beach front selling fruit and THAI food. On the other side of the
street are stalls selling everything from leather bags to screw drivers.
There are many bars and restuarants all the way along the street also
a huge shopping centre with restaurants of all types to choose from.8 floors high.
The beach it self has pleasure boats, deck chairs and umbrellas to relax
but they are very close together so not much sun unless you take a towel and lie on the beach.
I found the beach side a great place to people watch ! so many strange
people about dressed in amazing gear. There are areas made in tiles to just sit and watch the world go by. Many retired folk sitting around and they spend at least three months there to miss the winter in their country.
Wish I could do the same, it's back to the rain for me after a great trip to Pattaya.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    216
    287
    210
    140
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Amazing beach!!!...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Staying in Pattaya for 2 days on a getaway from Bangkok, to try Pattaya beach, just in front of the hotel, is a must see.
Beach is beautiful, as all the beaches in Thailand are, fluffy, thiny and warm sand, pristine, warm and very clear water, heavenly scenery of Pattaya bay.
We had to hire a chair and join the countless beach chairs under the umbrellas and the trees, as for me the only "but" is precisely being always hugely crowded at any time of the day!!!...
The seaside street is flanked with countless shops, stalls and restaurants, including the amazing Mall Royal Garden Plaza with the "Ripley's Believe it or Not Museum" and the Tussaud's Wax Museum, that really worth a visit by evening.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

When I first got there, the sand was really warm and soft. The water was really clean and I was a little surprised that it wasn't contaminated. When you get there, you have to rent a beach chair about 30 Baht per chair. The sunset view by the beach was really beautiful and the view is very worth it. However, when the night comes, there is no breeze from the sea and its pretty warm when you walk right next to it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not recomended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

not worth to go there. dirty, very annoying. in Bali, Indonesia, we have so many beautiful beaches, likes, padang padang, seminyak, dreamland.. Bali beaches are far better.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“This is No attraction in Pattaya”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I like almost everything in Pattaya except the Pattaya beach. Too many umbrellas and chairs. Too crowded. Very dirty. In the night there are lot of shops selling cheap goods, I don't know why they are given this place to put up their temporary stalls. In the day time there are lot of water sports like speed boats and jet skiing. Many of the activities are controlled by mafia type guys who are always trying to rip the tourists in all possible ways.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pattaya Beach also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Pattaya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pattaya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.