We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Areca Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Areca Lodge to your Saves list
Areca Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   198/21, 198/23 Moo 9, Soi Diana Inn, Pattaya Sai Song Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 377 Hotels in Pattaya
Reading, Berkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Resort in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wish we had tried this hotel a long time ago. It has a resort feel despite being in the middle of the city. There are two good sized pools. Its a large complex with three hotels of different standard of rooms. We stayed in a deluxe room which is in the Evergreen hotel at the back in the quieter part away from the busy Soi's. The rooms are big clean, a little dated but the mattress and pillows were too hard for me. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was in a nice room and they topped things up as they ran out. Not a huge choice but well cooked and the tea was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor 5 0r 6 rooms 1-7 t be away from the new construction. Even though we were next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    310
    73
    15
    15
See reviews for
43
111
172
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at the Areca Lodge in early June. This is a fantastic hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean, tidy and well kept.
The buffet breakfast was of a good standard with good choice and a cooking station for eggs, omelettes etc. There are two restaurants for breakfast. The one nearer the reception is open from 0630 to 0930 and the restaurant at the rear of the hotel is open from 0730 to 1030.
The hotel has two nice swimming pools and beach towels are provided.
I had a deluxe room which was of a very good standard. The room itself is spacious, had a nice bathroom, an LCD TV in the room, a fridge with minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. The main differences between the standard room and a deluxe room seems to be tea & coffee making facilities are provided in deluxe rooms and they have a pool view.
The location of the Areca Lodge is very convenient. It's located in Soi Diana and only a few minutes walk from the beach. There's plenty of bars and clubs nearby and if you're going a bit further, its easy to take a Baht bus.
Overall the Areca Lodge was great value for money and a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khorat thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only stay one nihgt,Everything was great,10 minut too beach and shopping center
100 % satsisfaiad.Next time i stay Areca again Sture strand fron Sweden but live in Khorat.
\And beakfust was amazing.And inkl. in price

Room Tip: i stay in room e 2 big room and fantastic vy over pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights June 14 in the Evergreen wing, the room was great and very comfortable, staff were very friendly and the food we ate at the hotel was good, the pool was great all day with enough shade, looking forward to returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great location with full of great night life..but surprisingly the hotel is quiet..so no problem for couple or for friends..but not that suitable for family with children. Te hotel staffs is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is OK. Overall, great location with good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Arrived and front office staff were as usual very attentative to get you checked in as quickly as possible with no fuss, Concierge showed me to the room the newer part of the hotel wing Corona, and he showed me how everything works, safe and air con etc. The room was spotless . The only downside was the building noise I knew before hand that this was taking place, but hey I wasn't going to be in it for long . I don't know why people moan about the breakfast buffet it was very suffice , soups ,Thai food good display of fruits, cereals ,bread for toast, bacon,sausage,baked beans ,mushrooms and an egg station the ommlettes were superb and fried eggs how you like them and shes fast at cooking them too. Pancakes Danish pastries ,croissants and a few more items to mention. Staff from front of office to the cleaners are always happy to talk and acknowledge you.House keeping clean your room everyday It took just 2 nights for the front office staff to remember my room number. I will go back to this hotel again I now know why people have been coming back year after year this was my 2nd time looking forward to my 3rd.

Room Tip: Evergreen deluxe room has a view of the pool and of the Soi Diane road not noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Lodge is in a very good location, accessible to food, entertainment and malls. However, with the bars just across the road, it can be noisy at night. Thanks to a tip from another reviewer, we asked for a pool-facing room and that saved us from the noise of the bars and the construction!

The front desk staff came across snooty and not very helpful, but housekeeping service was excellent. The main lobby and the restaurant for breakfast is not air-conditioned, which makes for warm dining. However, if you make your way to the other wing, you'll find an air-conditioned restaurant! Breakfast menu was the same every day, so that could be improved on.

The pool looked inviting enough but we didn't get a chance to take a swim.

We only wish that they would be more flexible with charging for late check-out, afterall, we were there during the curfew in May and the hotel wasn't running full.

All in all, it was a good stay, definitely will stay there next round!

Room Tip: As construction is going on, ask for the pool-facing room, or the rooms in the other wing, to the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Areca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Lodge

Address: 198/21, 198/23 Moo 9, Soi Diana Inn, Pattaya Sai Song Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 377 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Areca Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Areca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Hotel Pattaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Areca Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.