We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks good, but not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   429 Moo 9, Pattaya Beach Road | Cholburi, Pattaya 20150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 377 Hotels in Pattaya
Bucharest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“looks good, but not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel looks generally good, and the pool is awesome.
However, the staff was very rude, the Internet was crashing every 2 minutes, rooms were a bit smelly and most rooms were smoking rooms.
We came in with some girls and the hotel staff tried to rip us off to pay 1500baht per person, although they were not remaining over-night, and room price was 3000baht per night...
Hotel facilities were extremely expensive in general.

The location is not very good, although it's near the beach, it's extremely far from the walking street where all the action goes on.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for non-smoking rooms when you book, they tend to give out smoking ones by default
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Dilvish5,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for liking the good looks of the property, and awesome pool. Please note that we do charge for joiners, and this is to cover the cost of breakfast among other things, unless you are a repeat visitor or a corporate client that uses us habitually. Note that we do seek registration of all persons staying in the room, for safety and security reasons. Our distance is some 15-20min by foot to walking street, or 5min to the largest shopping complex on our Beach Rd, but our location is one of the strengths, as we are a little away from the noise and confusion, so that we enjoy the best of both worlds. We do price ourselves very reasonably I believe, if not a touch lower than our comparative hotels. Thank you also for your comment about smoking rooms; we are in the process of converting one more floor to non-smoking, and towards the end of the year, will review the need for yet another floor.

Best regards,
Jorge
Jorge C Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    306
    87
    21
    17
See reviews for
203
236
61
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent only 1 night over our weekend here which we think it is quite short stay but we experienced hotel's facilities i.e. pool and restaurant. The hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. The foam party was awesome ! There are variety kind of activities which I'd like to join rather than spend my time out of the hotel.

There are many kinds of food served here and really tasty.

I really had an enjoyable stay and promise that I will be back there soon !

Room Tip: You should book the Deluxe Sea View room as city view is located back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear PiggyBuff,

I hope you will have the time to stay for more than 1 night next time ! Thank you for the nice feedback and keep well.

Best regards,
Jorge
Jorge C Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed for business – first time in Thailand. Hotel was perfect – little cheaper than the Holiday Inn down the street. I’d call it an upper scale from what I’m use to in the USA. Breakfast was awesome – something for everyone. I really don’t like Thai food however there are many western world options. Room was clean, comfortable, and hotel services are top notch. Only complaint would be the air didn't seem to change regardless of where I set, seemed almost too cold. Word of warning this area (surrounding hotel) is R rated (not a place I’d take children). Kind of a party / drinking atmosphere however I did feel safe everywhere I went. All in all hotel was great and I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear tony r,

Thank you for great comments and I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel and the cuisine. I shall look into your a/c control; thanks for letting us know. In Pattaya, adult entertainment is usually designated to certain streets and zones, but in terms of family friendliness, Pattaya has an ever growing list of attractions (aquariums, art centre, spiritual centre, go-karting etc) and events that are built and designed for families. We see every year more international events taking place in town and in the surrounding areas; world class internationally sanctioned tennis and golf tournaments, motor-cross, wind-surfing and beach volleyball, worldwide congresses and international music festivals. It certainly is not the same Pattaya as a decade ago, and we are happy to be part of that evolution. Please don’t hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit, and please do let me know if there is anything I can do in advance.

Many thanks,
Jorge
Jorge C Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Hard Rock Hotel in Pattaya has a beautiful pool, stylish rooms and great location. What it lacks is communication skills, intelligence and people skills.

We booked our room for the weekend (Friday and Saturday night). We are a family with 2 young kids, so the pool and kids club house were essential and part of our stay. Our hotel package included a few hours of kids club. The kids club never opened over the weekend. The reason we were told was because it was Valentines Day on Friday and because of the concert that didn't start until the evening on Saturday. Of course, this was never advertised when we book our rooms that stated we would have this.

The pool is great, but you are constantly harassed to buy food and drinks from the staff. We had just arrived and our room wasn't ready, so we camped out at the pool. We still had several of our things and several staff stared at us because we had the cooler with us that we used in the car. My friends kid wasn't feeling good the next morning so he got her some waters from the seven eleven and he got a lecture from a staff member about not bringing in outside drinks. Really? The child wasn't feeling well.

The life guard all wear shoes and socks while on the life guard stand. I've never known a life guard that thought shoes and socks made them better swimmers when rescuing children from drowning. They have whistles and blow them across the pool to the people who mistakenly think that the rafts are for use for everyone. It is humiliating and rude. Put someone there to inform people, but don't blow a whistle at them. Although, what were those people thinking. Nothing is free at the Hard Rock.

Big thumbs down. I am going to write their headquarters also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Derek D,

Thank you for your feedback and while I appreciate your nice comments about the beautiful pool, stylish rooms and great location, I am naturally concerned with the other points raised.

Indeed Lil’Rock was closed as we were setting up a temporary stage for a live concert in that vicinity. However, we had moved our Lil’ Rock operation to the Tabu Family Centre, but If this wasn’t clearly communicated to you, please accept my apologies and we shall endeavour to be clearer in the future. As regards drinks around the pool, we do not allow drinks and food bought from the outside to be consumed in the hotel outlets and public areas, as this is our business, and I am sure you will appreciate. Please do forgive us if any of colleagues seemed overzealous in the pursuit of you orders; it is not normal for guests to bring their coolers to a hotel.

As regards the lifeguards wearing socks and trainers, please allow me to assure you this would not deter any one of them in jumping into the pool if and when needed. They do rotate with other colleagues in other sections where normal footwear is required, and this job rotation is done for operational needs, job interest and variety. But I have noted your point on the usage of floating rafts, and we will be clearer in showing the charges. We shall do some retraining on communication as this is clearly needed.

Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations here at Hard Rock Pattaya. I’d like to thank you for your feedback, as this helps us to continually improve and evolve. If you do plan to return to Pattaya, please do not hesitate to drop us a line or an email, and we shall do our best to make up for some of the confidence you may have lost in us.

With the best regards,
Jorge
Jorge C Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spend 5 days in this hotel. The check in is fast and effective. The front office staff Bew, Ralph, Ann, Suni, Summer, Fa, all of them are nice and helpful. The room is clean, tidy with trendy decoration. The facilities of the swimming pool are suitable for children and adult. There are many activities everyday. We enjoy staying in the pool, chating with the staff Quest, Villy, Sek, Tiger, Quito. I also enjoy the breakfast in Starz Dining every morning, Kings' Club gathering and the SPA. I really want to stay longer on our next trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear moonjudy,

Thank you for your excellent review. We'll definitely pass on your comments to our front office staff and Beach Club agents. I'm sure they will be happy that they were able to make your stay so enjoyable. Hope you come back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Patrick Ng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

There is a lounge running from 07:00 to 20:00 hrs, where we can enjoy beverage & snack all the time facing the beautiful scene of Pattaya Beach , the highlight everyday is the cocktail time from 18:00-19:30hrs.

Further more, many other special offers to King's club guest!

Enjoyed the stay this time very much as all the staffs giving us a sincere treatment! Love all Serve all !

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Noreen L,

Thank you for your kind review! We take pride in providing our guests with the best experience possible. We hope you come back soon.

Best regards,
Patrick Ng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Love this hotel whenever we're off to Thailand for family getaway.....

Going again soon with our baby who's now 3yo...(the prev time she followed us was when 8mo)
We had the Composer Suite (access to Kings Club Lounge) & the interior was awesome and service was impeccable.....friendly staff greets us every day we are there!

So exciting....!!! Cant wait for our next visit soon...

Room Tip: Composer Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear PhoedzMudnoe

Thanks for your post, and so glad you are planning your return trip !
Please let us know if there’s anything we can prepare in advance. We’ll show you our Kids Suite when you are here !!

All the best,
Jorge
Jorge C Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya

Address: 429 Moo 9, Pattaya Beach Road | Cholburi, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pattaya
#10 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#18 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#21 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour and a half drive from Bangkok, for work, play, meetings or parties, there is something for everyone and everything that rockers would wish. The 323 rooms & suites include exceptional Rock Star Suites, new accommodation for families with kids, luxurious digs for Composers and Executives, and Sea & City view Deluxe rooms for those on a break, to chill or to work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Pattaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.