We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic Location in Pattaya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   218 M.10 Beach Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 377 Hotels in Pattaya
California City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Strategic Location in Pattaya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed for three days and three nights. Staff were friendly and attentive. Free WiFi access in the hotel lobby and the signal is strong enough and can be used even if you are near the pool area. The breakfast buffet is great - combination of Thai, Indian Vegetarian (limited), and continental. Daily turnover service. Staff in the Elephant Bar were very nice as well. Nice view of the bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    234
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
91
170
95
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was going to write this review once my trip was completed, currently half way through my stay here. I am executive platinum level with Marriott and have been for several years now.

I agree with many other contributors on this site who say this is a "tired" hotel in need of some touch-ups, particularly the rooms. Trying to gain entry into the bathtub/shower is a chore. I have a high level jetted tub at home and this height is about the same. It's not an easy walkin in for showering. The drainage system applied for this shower/bath is interesting as it allows access water to flow off the "tub top shelve" and channels the water onto the floor towards the drainage. Interesting concept, but having a towel hook by the tub and shelf causes unncessary "wet towel" before even being used. The caulking around the sink basin needs to be re-applied. Should not be seeing mildew/soap scum buildup on caulk that has aged and served its initial useful purpose. The sink has served its purpose, but seeing small chips and soap/scum buildup into the small crevices is not what I expect from a Marriott. The toilet plumbing needs work, as at times the force of a water flush is poor causing multiple flushes and causing water waste.

The room, reminds me of the rooms at all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean - serviceable. Good number of pillows and the bedding is clean and smells clean too. The room's tea/coffee is well ... seems lacking for a Marriott. Freeze dried coffee in small little packages (similar size to sugar packet) at a Marriott in 2013? Maybe for a Holiday Inn or one of the local B&Bs, but below expectations for a Marriott stay. I'll take my coffee from the Club Lounge from hereon.

From the balcony, looking down (6th floor) it looks like the prooperty grounds could use regular upkeep. Too many dead branches on the trees that have not been pruned (3 days and counting) yet.

The sculpted design of the pool is nice, but seeing a small patio table with ashtray and smokers near the outdoor massage hut and within 25-30 ft of a tiered pool patio is not enduring. When the wind was not blowing I could smell stale water (sewage buildup?) from under the wood patio, otherwise when the wind was blowing the smoke from cigarette use was received. I could move, and I did, but the direction of the sun and moving to different locations did not serve a better purpose.

Yesterday and this morning, I'm inside the room and I get to smell cigarette smoke from those on other balconies and the outdoor hallway. Shows poor air circulation outside but also poor structural framing (see considerable amount of outdoor light under and on the sides of the door frame).

The gym is fantastic - big, wide variety and smells clean.

The staff is very friendly and attentive. Called me by my first name less than 24 hrs later, that is knowing your customer. The club lounge, having free access as an executive platinum member, is very good. Not at a "Conrad (Hilton) or a JW Marriott level", but that was not my expectation. Great service, good attentive and responsive staff.

I had never been to Pattaya until this week, and again have to agree with many others of their viewpoint of this city. Dirtier than Phucket, various locations on Koh Samui, and Bangkok. It's an "interesting place" and I could say far worse words, but almost all places ought to be visited at least once in the lifetime. Twice if great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really don't like Pattaya very much, but I've been there several times now, and each time have stayed at the Marriott Pattaya. It's a very comfortable western style hotel, well located, within an easy walk of all the action, but a quiet and peaceful retreat from the noise of the Walking Street and the hawkers on the beach. The spa and fitness center are great, and I've never had a bad meal there. I've had no trouble booking the hotel to use up some Marriott Award points. I've taken friends and family there who want to see some of 'that side' of Thailand, and we've always had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

A great experience, from check-in to check-out.
The staff is always super friendly and will do everything they can to accommodate your needs. I've stayed at many hotels in SE Asia (Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok, Phnom Penh, Saigon, Vung Tau, Hanoi...) and this place has the best breakfast I've had anywhere. A great way to start the day.
Pool area is beautiful and you can swim laps if that's what you like to do for exercise. The gym is also very nice.
Central location puts everything in Pattaya within walking distance. There's an attached mall with anything you need.
The lounge has cold-cuts, cheese and bread for breakfast and good finger food for dinner. Happy hour is roughly 1730 - 2030. Free drinks in the lounge if you rate access.
Rooms are very nice. I've stayed on high floors that overlook the pool and in the poolside rooms. Beds are comfortable and I've never had a complaint with the service. Although I don't break into the mini-bar in hotel rooms, the one in these rooms is very good. Large bottles of booze and beer/soda/candy bars in fridge.
Fantastic place to stay and get away from the stinking raunch of Pattaya when you're here.
Did I mention how very nice the staff has been?? Wonderful people.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am not keen on Pattaya, but after a lot of flights on this trip taking a cab from Bangkok seemed a good option!!

A smooth check-in at the Marriott, the room was usual standard with a balcony overlooking the pool. Lovely pool area with swim up bar. The hotel adjoins a shopping mall, which was actually had some great retail outlets, spas and US food outlets including Benihana. All in this was in a great location, just a stones throw from all the entertainment!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newdelhi
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a lovely location and designing . From one side you can go to the city , the shops , the malls , the theater . the offices etc . On the other side you walk out to the beach road and enjoy coffee , burgers , tinker shops , the oceon , the walk , the little dip [ watch out , oceon is choppy ] , the street hawkers and the street food .... very convenient . And one more exit right into the adjoining mall with shopping points , eateries ... great ! Rest is the usual marriott hospitality which is always one of the best [ i overate at the breakfast buffet ] !!!

Room Tip: sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I travel more than 50% of the time, have stayed at the Pattaya Marriot several times and consider it as one of my favorite hotels. The front desk staff is very helpful and the executive lounge team makes you feel as if you are coming home and are genuinely happy to see you return. The grounds and pool area are outstanding and it is located right across the road from the shore. I give the Pattaya Marriott my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building up high with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 218 M.10 Beach Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pattaya
#3 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#12 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#15 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#18 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#22 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa is a tropical oasis in the heart of action. This luxury resort in Pattaya city center faces the sea with the beach just a few steps away. The resort is next to the Royal Garden Plaza with its arrays of shops and restaurants.Located in Pattaya city center, Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa overlooks the beach and the Gulf of Siam. It is 150 kilometers south east of Bangkok and a 90-minute drive from Bangkok International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pattaya Hotel Pattaya
Marriott Pattaya Resort And Spa
Pattaya Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.