We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Setting with Potential” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rim Talay Seafood & Steak

Rim Talay Seafood & Steak
Soi 18, Naklua Road | Naklua, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
6638426375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 586 Restaurants in Pattaya
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beachfront Setting with Potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The restaurant is well situated. We were to celebrate a 40th birthday at the restaurant and with their birthday celebration packet we hoped for a memorable experience. Therefore we booked a table by the beach the day before telling them it was for a birthday celebration. We were met by eager staff and got a beachfront table with a tablecloth. Did notice our table was more decorated than others. Asking about the set menues advertised on their website we were told that didn't apply and we needed to order single courses from the menu. Menu looks good so that was not a big deal. Ordered 2 sets of lobster, fish, prawns, vegetables, curry and drinks. One waiter was taking especially care of us all the time and made sure our glasses were filled.

To make it short we did only get 1 set of lobster which was pretty tasteless so didn't make a point out of it. Vegetables was overcooked and uninteresting. Fish was very good on the other hand. The fact it was a birthdayparty was ignored, but that didn't matter much as cake was not on our mind any longer.

We decided to pay up and our waiter started to ask if we could give extra tip to her as she had made such an effort. This is not a way to behave, tip is based on service and we're more than happy to tip generously when there is a reason for it.

All in all the place could be a good, romantic setting and perfect for seafood. But the fact that there is a football match on bigscreen for the beach tables and live music on the terrace of the restaurant makes the atmosphere suffer. The mess up with reservation and orders we could live with. The behaviour by some of the staff not a good thing. Hopefully the place will improve, but doubt we would take the chance on finding out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimTalay, Manager at Rim Talay Seafood & Steak, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very glad to receive your comments and we would like to thank you for taking time to post your review. Your constructive feedback is very important to us.

We apologize for the inconvenience cause during your dinner experience. We are in particular concerned about your comments regarding foods and staff. We have discussed your comments along management and we will certainly do our best to improve. Please do visit us again in order for us to show you that we can improve on our guest's comments and overall perform better. Once again, thank you for your review and patronage.

Hospitably yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nothing really positive about this place except the view and the strength of their drinks. Dogs, flies, untrained staff and overcooked tasteless pork medallions. I never tried the Thai food but spending more for Thai food usually is a waste of money and may even get you less authentic and tasteless food. An inverse correlation if you will. It wasn't cheap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimTalay, Manager at Rim Talay Seafood & Steak, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to receive your valuable comments and we would like to thank you for taking time to post your review. Your constructive feedback is very important to us.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your dinner experience. Management is in the process of investigating your concern and thereafter steps will be implemented to ratify them.

We guarantee to continue work hard in our efforts to please every guest and certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice & Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very good Lobster, very fresh and tasty. The Prawns and fish are also highly recommended. Food served, both Thai & continental styles. Nice clean and friendly staff. woth visiting. Dinner preferable!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimTalay, Manager at Rim Talay Seafood & Steak, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant. We are pleased that our service and seafoods enabled you to enjoy your dining. Your positive comments will spur us to maintain our levels of foods and service.

Once again thank you for your positive review and we do look forward to welcoming you again.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rim Talay Seafood, the most elaborately beachfront restaurant in pattaya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Rim Talay Seafood is an exceptional restaurant in Pattaya, the location of the restaurant gives a splendid atmosphere for breathtaking, relaxing and cozy while enjoying the scenic view of sunset during dinner. I visited a few time since the grand opening of the restaurant, each visit I find it a significant improvement from both “Hard Ware & Soft Ware” especially the service form all staff are excellent including the band and music that make it very entertaining place recommended for family’ dining out. Foods serve at the restaurant are at its best taste, big portion and value for money cleverly prepared by experienced chef focusing on seafood making my visit the most enjoyable experience and memorable meal every time I visit this restaurant, I surely recommend to all our friend too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimTalay, Manager at Rim Talay Seafood & Steak, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and we are glad you enjoyed your overall dining experience with us. Please rest assured that we will continue to do our outmost best to provide all guests with memorable dining experience and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you once agaian for your positive review.

Hospitably yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“We have been back umerous times and always have a "ball of a good time" at this beautiful Pattaya seaside restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We love this place! My husband and myself and our two teens make it a "must visit" to Rim Talay whenever we visit Pattaya and this is quite frequently. We never had a "let down" at this restaurant altrough during the high season theyre so busy and the witing time for the food can a little lon...but we understand as Pattaya is "jammed" with tourists, locals and tons of diners! Try the coboy steak which is a great imported steak which is good for two. What we always do is order a few items and share them...sort of "Thai style" set menu i the middle of the table and all four of us "digg-in". We also lve the panfried seabass and the Shrimp with glass noodles/Thai style. the place has an arwsome bech-front panoramic location with many different seating areas but we (because of our teens) prefer to sit next to the sea on the sand so the kids can wonder around.

To our positive surprise they added a live band around the bar level and they indeed lighten up the place wondefuly with tunes from the "old times" gone by. The service is always very friendly and attentive and they never lose the famous "Thai smiles". Thanks and we will be back and certainly can recommend to other diners who like a great meal in a fantastic seaside location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimTalay, Manager at Rim Talay Seafood & Steak, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positve review and we are glad you enjoyed your overall dining experience with us. Please rest assured that we will continue to do our outmost best to provide all guests with memorable dining experience and we do look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Once again thank you for your review and patronage.

With warm regards,
Manager Rim Talay Seafood & Steak Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Talay Seafood & Steak also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Rim Talay Seafood & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rim Talay Seafood & Steak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.