We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Selection Pattaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Selection Pattaya to your Saves list
Hotel Selection Pattaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Moo 9, Pattaya Beach Road | Nongprue, Pattaya 20150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

As this was our complimentary stay from our fren for 1 night so we didn't had much to say in terms of the hotel,as we were going for party in his house and he was paying for all the guests.
Hotel is between soi 5 and 6 on the beach road. Entrance is very confusing as many local who comes to play water on the beach will park their cars in these soi (street). Once we told them that we are the hotel guests, the guide attended us right away and find the parking for us.
The check in was ok, they still do everything manually which didn't took more then 10 min. Its simple clean hotel. Our room was at the back side so no view beside the rooftop of some one house. Rooms has small balcony. The rooms are big compare for 3 stars standard. Basic amenities is provided which we never use as we carry our own toiletries. They have pool table near the lobby area. we didn't use any other facilities so can't say much. Their breakfast was ok...nothing to complain about. Basic stuffs are provided - coffee/tea, juices, bread, eggs, bacon , vegetarian dishes etc
One of the points which needs to be noted is doors of the rooms are very noisy and u can hear the door closing of nearly all the rooms close by as you need to close them properly or else it will keep beeping and to avoid that beeping , you need to close the door with bang.
Its not bad for people who are looking at 3 star hotel on the beach road.
For reference - Its a long walk to Central or Royal Garden approx. 20 min.as its at the starting of the beach road.. its some where near Holiday Inn Pattaya.

Room Tip: I think rooms in front will be better as you will get seaview rooms...and ofcourse higher floors too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
12
20
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked this hotel for five nights as a last minute panic booking when hotel we had booked was not open due to building works. when my wife and i arrived we were impressed with the reception area we were checked in very quickly considering we had only booked through Booking.com 30 mins earlier we were shown our room by the bell boy nice clean room of a good size and the view from the balcony was excellent with sea view and the hotel only being 50 yards from the beach could not ask for a better location thats the good part and it went down hill for the next 24 hours.
When we first entered our room there was a slight smell of drains which we put down to the room being shut up but with the balcony doors open it cleared we then went to the beach for a couple of beers appon our return the smell was back we had a sleep and when we awoke it was dark and i turned the lights on well the lights that worked that is six ceiling lights and only 2 worked so getting ready to go out was a bit dull my wife noticed there was no hair dryer but did not need it that night also although there was a room safe it was not fixed to the wall so while your valuables were locked away there was nothing stopping someone taking the whole safe so on our way out we told reception so they could get it sorted and were told we may have to change rooms (a little odd for 4 light bulbs and a hair dryer) we went out and returned 3-4 hours later opening the room door we were hit by a very strong smell of drains which was plainly coming from the bathroom at this point it became clear why both the sink and bath plugs were left in obviously to stop the smell so we replaced the plugs and closed the bathroom door and opened the balcony doors and retired for the night. we went to breakfast the first morning and greeted by a simple spread coffee/tea, one juice, water, cerials, toast, eggs and all kinds of Asian delights my wife got a fried egg from the hot plate and some toast when she got back to our table she found the egg was uncooked and stone cold and i mean cold at this point she lost it and went to reception to demand to see the manager only to be told she was in a meeting and would not be available till 9 o clock so we told the receptionist we would see the manager in our room i had to go back and ask where she was but she did come to our room as she entered her first words were phew what a smell we proceeded to tell her about the other problem (lights.hair dryer and safe) she said the safe was not connected as the hotel did not have enough screws for all of them i then demanded a full refund she said i could have this or go to a different room as we did not want to find another hotel again we agreed to have a look she showed us a suite with living room, nice big bed and most of all no smell, the lights worked,hair dryer but no safe (perhaps someone had stolen it) so we moved to this room taking our safe with us we were also told we could have food from the al a carte menu for our breakfast which would be freshly cooked from this point our stay was very good the staff were very friendly despite our complaning but i think we were justified to complain

Room Tip: Get a sea view room the view while sitting in bed is to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice hotel situated on Beach road and very conveneint to visit the nearby shopping malls, restaurants and night life on Walking street and other Soi’s which are close by and can be reached by TUK TUK's. As the hotel was full they upgraded me to a Deluxe room which was very spacious with a balcony. The room had also a separate hall with a sofa set and with a fridge. The bathroom was also spacious. The only dis-advantage was that it did not have a safe in the room which was a necessity. The breakfast buffet was good and had lot of items and the staff were friendly. For a family of four the deluxe suite would be an excellent choice to stay. Would definitely stay in the hotel on my next visit to Pattaya. Stayed in the hotel in Nov. 2013

Room Tip: Take the Deluxe Rooms if going with family as the Deluxe Rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel located in front of the beach, ATM, Money exchange, Subway, Massage Parlours, Restaurants, Pubs and Walking Street all is very close to hotel in walking distance, Even Alcazar show also very close to hotel.
I recommend this hotel for couples and families to enjoy everything in walking distance in a reasonable budget.

Room Tip: I suggest to travellers to book Sea view rooms which is very to view the SEA .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel located exacly in front of the beach, you can enjoy sunset here. Room itself have beach view. so if you don't want to go to the beach for sunset, you can enjoy it in your room. Big and very clean hotel. Friendly staff. "Subway" and minimarket in front of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The lobby is under heavy renovation. Strong smells of lacquer which gives me a headache.
I booked 3 rooms with seaview.
When everyone went up to the rooms, there were no seaview. So we confronted the front desk. And the explanation that they gave us was we need to add extra 500baht for the seaview. We told them we requested that before we booked n checked-in. They told us that the room is near the sea and doesn't have seaview. And if we want seaview, we need to pay 500baht extra per room. From what I see is that; the hotels are not fully occupied and with those heavy renovations around, I doubt many people choose the hotel. But to make things worse, the hotel chose to cheat their customers. What do you mean by telling the customers that the room that you booked is near the sea. Not seaview. This is outright cheating. And we cannot get a refund and stay in another hotel as we paid in cash when we checked-in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I chose the hotel selection in Pattaya just because it is one of the hotel on the seaside road and consider the most happening district in Pattaya. Being good in location, the hotel is easy to access all the main entertainment areas and beach with just reach there by walking.

The room decoration is also above average with good air-condition and lighting.

The only things that I felt that it shall improve are the breakfast. Even though everything is nice and excellent in the hotel, the breakfast seems to provide lesser varieties than it shall be. If there are wider choices for the breakfast, I believe that I will enjoy more for the hotel stay.

Another issue is the swimming pool. It may need more frequent cleaning as the water seems a bit dirty with many sands at the bottom of the pool.

Other than that, I am happy to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Selection Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selection Pattaya

Address: 225 Moo 9, Pattaya Beach Road | Nongprue, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selection Pattaya 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Selection Pattaya is located right on the beach road Soi 5; the reach of commuting around is just right at the entrance. In addition to that a fitness center and swimming pool ensure that guests never have to miss a workout when on holiday. The contemporary and the very conveniently located Hotel Selection Pattaya is sure to impress all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Selection Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Selection Pattaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.