We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well appointed great value and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Souy Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Souy Resort to your Saves list
Baan Souy Resort
3.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   308/3 Moo 10, Thap Praya 15 Alley | Nongprue Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 288 Specialty Lodging in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“well appointed great value and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

large comfortable rooms, soft beds and pillows, hot strong showers make staying here very comfortable, the large pool is ideal for afternoon / early evening drinks before exploring all the night life that this part of the world attracts so many of us too. have stayed in many hotels in Pattaya, and Baan Souy Resort ticks all the boxes with a little bit more and i am sure to return on my next visit.
value, comfort, friendly& welcoming, well positioned all come to mind to describe Baan Souy resort

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    37
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
92
114
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This my second stay at Baan Souy in six months. Pattaya is a frenetic place, packed with tourists, but Baan Souy, located above it all on the hill between Pattaya and Jomtien, is an oasis. The resort is well appointed, comfortable and quiet-no kids and their annoying parents squawking poolside. The staff are terrific- friendly, welcoming and go out of their way to make sure you're having a fine time. My last two visits have been to work on a couple of projects in the peace and Baan Souy was ideal. It's close to the beach, the nightlife and good dining, but far enough away to allow you to enjoy a cold glass of wine on the terrace and catch the afternoon breeze.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and have excellent wifi (if you you're working). The rooms with bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Rooms were great - clean and comfortable. Staff were good esp reception however breakfast staff in restaurant NEVER smiled. Great start t the day NOT! Breakfast were good. Pool area nice too and gym very good. I am not sure what happened to the tuk tuk service from the hotel - never saw it in action. TV poor - all Thai most of the time and poor picture quality. Bar pretty quiet and not a feature which I think it should have been. Baan Souy seemed like a place that is open and running but lacking any sort of life of its own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

One week at Baan Souy was "just what the doctor ordered". This beautiful resort is located a few metres off a major road between Pattaya Center and Jomtien. The location is not a problem, it is a big plus. Baht-buses will take you in both directions from the main road near the resort.
Once you enter Baan Souy you can relax, kick-back and let the staff take care of you for the duration of your stay. Jim and his employees really want you to have a first-class experience. My accommodation was VERY comfortable, very large and very clean. You could order your in the restaurant or have it delivered poolside...perfect.
And speaking of pools....this one is a winner. Great swims all week long. Comfortable deck chairs/chaises longues. Pool maintenance and the yard maintenance were A-1.
I didn't hear a peep from my neighbours...pretty good sound-proofing, and I slept well on the comfortable king bed.
Thanks for organizing the poolside ice-breaker, Jim. It was well attended and a lot of fun to meet the guests from around the world, gay and straight and in-between :-)

Room Tip: The poolside balcony rooms, upper-floor and in the low-rise buildings were quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was not aware this was a Gay Resort i saw NO children, So yes i booked.My husband mum and myself stayed for 1mth.And we had the best time ever.Met some great people.Love the Friday Night Ice Breaker party.Jim is such a great person.All the staff make you feel welcome.Its a resort you can chill out.And love Jim's shows .My husband and i have been going to Thailand for 8yrs now, i have never been in a pool.Untill i stayed at Baan Souy. It was so nice and relaxing. Love that place and the staff are great.Felt so welcome.Thanks Jim.We will be back and yes we are straight but everyone treats you the same.

Room Tip: Ask for 604 large and very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronten Holland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We couldn't have made a better chose.
Excellent rooms, big and clean.
Very pleasent service, although it would be nice when waiters speak better English.
Baan Souy resort is a place to make easy contact with orher guest.
Johan and Aat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

First time I have taken to writing a review. I am used to staying in luxury resorts and was visiting Pattaya to meet some friends who were there on an extended stay. I was very wary about going to Pattaya having seen some TV documentaries but fortunately my friends knew Jim Lumsden and recommended the Baan Souy (translated is House Beautiful which it is) A lot of thought has gone into the detail and my one bedroom suite was amazing as was the resort as a whole. Yes I also found the language a problem at times but I took the trouble to learn some basic Thai words which the staff really appreciated.
Spending time around the pool during the day I felt I was enjoying the facilities of an exclusive private club and prices were extremely good compared to what one would find in a 5 star resort. I was already booked for a trip to Phuket later in the year but I am now looking at changing my destination primarily because of the Baan Souy. Pattaya is not a destination to everyone's tastes but being able to find somewhere as tranquil as this resort knowing there is plenty night life just down the road if you want it surprised me and I cannot wait for my next visit. Guys, thanks again for an amazing time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Souy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Souy Resort

Address: 308/3 Moo 10, Thap Praya 15 Alley | Nongprue Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 288 Specialty Lodging in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Souy Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Souy Hotel offers luxury Suites and Apartments designed for the discerning traveller who wants to rejuvenate body and soul.Our Luxury Accommodation features Stylish Thai Décor with the comforts of International Standards in a Lush Tropical Garden Setting.Whether you are looking for relaxation, action, sightseeing or adventure we can help you find the experience you want.With plenty of action and friends to be found, Pattaya is a popular place for those seeking fun in the sun.Baan Souy Hotel is a Perfect Tranquil Exotic Hideaway where our discreet staff is encouraged to ensure expectations are satisfied and always with a smile: no request is too small or large.The Only Place to Stay and Play.Jim and the Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Baan Souy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Souy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.