We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously a great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Souy Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Souy Resort to your Saves list
Baan Souy Resort
3.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   308/3 Moo 10, Thap Praya 15 Alley | Nongprue Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 287 Specialty Lodging in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seriously a great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ok we arrived at Baan Souy and realised it was nowhere near the beach. In fact it takes about a 10 minute drive to the beach.(More about that later..)
Having read the rave reviews of Baan Souy I was sceptical as maybe they were from friends etc. But as a seasoned traveller let me tell you, it is all they write and more. From the beginning with a friendly welcome package and drink, to the spacious rooms with walk-in closet and stunning bathrooms, the stay was fantastic.
The room with up to date facilities and the quiet nature of the resort is ideal for couples. The resort is not for families with young children, as the peace would be totally ruined. There is no buffet breakfast here, which is actually ok, the set breakfast fills you up and its a nice break from all the huge breakfasts where you can't move afterwards.
The welcome drink is nice, and the owner goes out of his way to great you and make you feel welcome. The pool and fitness room is wonderful and the whole place has a feel of space.
As I said the resort is not near the beach, but to be honest we didn't want sand everywhere, so being here was better. Walk to the end of the road and get any van going to both local beaches for 20baht, or for 50baht the friendly staff will drive you into town.
Overall the 2 nights here were restful, relaxing and the speed of service was excellent. For those who read my other reviews, I am normally scathing where there is room to be so, but here I can not find 1 thing wrong. It feels like home (without the mess.)

Well done guys

Room Tip: Second floor gives you a nice distance, if you don't need to right next to the pool. The rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    37
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
92
114
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned home from a 14 day visit to Pattaya and am so happy I chose to stay at Baan Souy. Originally I had planned for a few days there and then another few days at another hotel, but after just a couple of days at Baan Souy, I knew I didn't want to move. It was so relaxing and the entire hotel team was so friendly and welcoming. I loved the pool! And the meals at the hotel restaurant were so delicious. My room was so large and comfortable...I never felt like I was staying at a hotel. I can't say enough about how wonderful Jim and Gordon were during my stay...always so kind and helpful and friendly. Oh, and the ice breaker party Jim hosts on Friday evenings are so nice...lovey food and drinks and the chance to meet other guests. What a nice touch and so hospitable! I cannot wait to return to Baan Souy. Pattaya can be such a frenetic place; I feel happy to have found a great hotel that is truly relaxing and offers great value.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine that there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at Baan Souy for ten days from late August. I was really looking forward to my stay and wasn't disappointed. Owner Jim Lumsden has done a fantastic job in creating a truly delightful resort. His keen eye for detail across every area in the hotel must be commended. He is very fortunate to have an excellent and very capable team of staff on board at Baan Souy which of course is a key factor in running a great resort. Location is perfect so easy to get into the heart of Pattaya or down to Dongtan Beach.

I'l certainly be returning in the future and can't praise the resort enough!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms may be a better choice for some however I'm sure all rooms will be a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My stay at the Baan Souy Resort was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms large and clean. The pool nice and pleasant. The food is very good and cheap.
The location is between South Pattaya and Jomtien and is quiet.
No joiner fee. Baan Souy is a good choice. Thank you to Baan Souy Resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the moment I was greeted by the efficient , professional,reception staff and was introduced to Gordon the manager assistant, I felt comfortable and mde to feel welcome. My room was spacious and comfortable with the best bathroom/shower area ( I have stayed in many hotels during my six visits to Tahiland and by far Baan Souy wins hands down). Ever helpful, friendly staff makes this place shine. It is between Jontien and Central Pattaya, with a short baht bus ride to either. How wonderful it was to come back from a day at the beach or a night out to this relaxing, peaceful oasis. I highly recommend this excelent hotel. A big thank you to Jim and Gordon for their excellent hospitality. A big thank you to the all the staff for their welcome and chats. Nothing seemed to big for them. See you all in January. HIghly recommended

Room Tip: I had a studion room on the first floer around the pool area. It was quiet and very comfotable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had reservations about returning to Pattaya and my impression of the city haven't changed, however I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Baan Souy. The hotel is new, with very nice facilities and the staff were very helpful and very friendly. My room was steps away from the pool, which was perfect for lounging and escaping the heat. The staff were very helpful and tried their best even when things were clearly lost in translation. As a solo traveler I felt very welcomed and was thrilled to be invited out with some other guests and watch a rousing performance by Jim. The only draw back for some may be the location. It is between Jomtien and Pattaya and so for many it was too far to walk to the beaches but still a fairly quick tuk-tuk or motorbike ride. I didn't mind the 20 - 30 mins walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A brilliant place to stay. A walk through the lobby and it all opens up with all the comforts, the pool was literally next to my room, which was clean and very comfortable. Great and friendly staff, including management who always made one feel welcome and fun chats. The gym was good also for a workout if you had ample energy.

The hotel is also ideally located and equally short distanced whether you turn right or left at the end of the road, for the beach or the night life, also with access to the baht buses.

Overall, a great stay, reasonably priced, ideal location and looking forward to another trip

Room Tip: Poolside rooms - great, one step away from a dip in the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Souy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Souy Resort

Address: 308/3 Moo 10, Thap Praya 15 Alley | Nongprue Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 287 Specialty Lodging in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Souy Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Souy Hotel offers luxury Suites and Apartments designed for the discerning traveller who wants to rejuvenate body and soul.Our Luxury Accommodation features Stylish Thai Décor with the comforts of International Standards in a Lush Tropical Garden Setting.Whether you are looking for relaxation, action, sightseeing or adventure we can help you find the experience you want.With plenty of action and friends to be found, Pattaya is a popular place for those seeking fun in the sun.Baan Souy Hotel is a Perfect Tranquil Exotic Hideaway where our discreet staff is encouraged to ensure expectations are satisfied and always with a smile: no request is too small or large.The Only Place to Stay and Play.Jim and the Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Baan Souy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Souy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.