We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“used to be good...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Au Bon Coin

Au Bon Coin
352/104 Moo 12 | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
+66 (0) 38 364 542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 594 Restaurants in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 stars 169 Reviews
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“used to be good...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

For several years I have been visiting this cosy restaurant well hidden behind the bigger roads.
(It is VERY difficult to find the restaurant - even if you been there before.)

However, this year I was disappointed with the service at the restaurant. It was not only bad - it was not pleasant. The girls working seemed to have bad days every night we went there. The patron himself is like before - nice and friendly. But he needs to exchange the staff very fast.

One of our favorite dishes (boeuf bourgeon) was 50% ok and 50% not cooked enough for two of my friends. Looks like the chef has been switched also?

Sorry to say, for the price paid you can find better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    30
    8
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Violently ill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have eaten at Au Bon Coin many times up until January this year 2014
We had a wonderful evening and both ate the duck......at 2am after the dinner we were both violently ill....and were very ill with gatro upset for 24 hours....even considered going to hospital.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stop by to eat at least once a month. Every dish is awesome. Be forewarned that the after dinner free dessert item is super strong with rum, so don't pop it into your mouth unless that is your thing.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great french cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Go regularly and always dependable delicious cuisine. Lovely atmosphere, good service and an interesting menu. Booking advised - they can get fully booked, especially at weekends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very French - not in the least the Chef himself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Located in a parc. Food truly gourmet bourgeois style. Nothing fancy but quality of product choice standard. Romantic ambiente, though a bit of narrow seating. Worth a re-visit and try something else.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Bon Coin also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Au Bon Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Bon Coin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.