We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax and do some work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Le Mar

Cafe Le Mar
251 Moo 12 Nongprue Banglamung | Jomtien Beach, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
0823801941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 586 Restaurants in Pattaya
Cuisines: Thai, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Ostermundigen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place to relax and do some work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I enjoy cafe le mar for several years now. After some sun bathing and swimming this restaurant is a good place to do some work. They offer WIFI access for free and it works most of the time, well we are in Thailand and if you see the sometimes adventurous cabling, no wonder if things fail sometimes.

The owner is really nice and the staff is friendly. The Thai food is very good for european taste (and if you ask you get the spicy food like "yam woonsen" really spicy) and the prices are fair. From time to time i switch to european food, mostly pizzas where the selection is quite big and the quality is also very good.

The atmosphere is relaxed. In the evening they start to play music videos on all the screens. I don't really need that visual distraction but as we know in Thailand TVs are there to be turned on. Therefore I am glad they only turn on those TVs in the later afternoon, and they do not show that boring football which is shown in many other places.

Compared to other places with free WIFI, you can work there for hours and are not constantly pushed to consume drinks/food.

This is not a gourmet temple but the perfect place for my lifestyle. I guess i will come back to Cafe le Mar for many years to come

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stay away from this place!! very bad palce !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

They advertise FREE WI-FI but WI-FI never work
The most high price and the very low quality ! The owner is from IRAN and have not idea about French food , Thai food and Italian Pizza ...
The service is poor and slow ,the quality is bad and to so very high prices !
The show FREE WI-FI baut WI-FI never work
Thei show FREE chers on the beach but service on the beach is close and when open you have to pay !
They show FREE service and free sitting on the beach but service on the beach is close and when open you have to pay chair ...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandweiler, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice location, but overpriced and not so friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Been to cafe del Mar in jomtien many tines as it is near where I have my holiday home.

But recently I been avoiding it. And judging by the lack of crowds so are others.

Reasons: overpriced for regular users. sometimes felt I was not welcome there.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrampianScotland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Romantic Beachfront Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Back at the Cafe Le Mar again and its still as good as ever. Friendly owner and staff who go out of thei way to welcome clients on return visits.
There is a choice of an indoors air-conditioned restaurant, or the outside terrace overlooking the beach and the sea.
Costs remain reasonable and the menu does not change as it covers both European and Thai food, plus pizzas from their new wood-fired pizza oven.
There is an outdoors cocktail bar at one end of the building with tv screens all around showing DVD's of top musical shows - a nice change from sports.
This is a romantic setting for a beachfront restaurant at the far end of Jomtien Beach, a long way from downtown Pattaya

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cafe Le Mar Jomtien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Located on the beach towards the south end of Jomtien, Cafe Le Mar is a very nice medium sized restaurant with both internal airconditioned seating and external fan cooled areas with pleasant views overlooking the sea.

A small intimate bar located in the outside area provides a great place for quiet, relaxing pre dinner drinks.

The menu offers a wide range of dishes both conventional western, including a good pizzeria and thai dishes.

Service is always extremely friendly both from the owner, who personally welcomes guests, and the attentive staff

We have eaten here many times and continue to do so regularly whenever we are in Jomtien since it always serves good food in a very pleasant atmosphere at a reasonable price.

Any visitor to Pattaya/ Jomtien would be well advised to dine at Cafe Le Mar at least once during their visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Le Mar also viewed

 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Cafe Le Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Le Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.