We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai restaurant in Pattaya!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larn Thong & Terrace

Larn Thong & Terrace
353 Phra Tamnuk Road | (part of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group), Pattaya 20150, Thailand
+66 38 250 421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 585 Restaurants in Pattaya
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Discover the real taste of Thailand at Larn Thong, where a superb menu offers a fine selection of exotic and authentic Thai cuisine in a very Thai setting. In addition the restaurant serves the ever popular Saturday night Grand BBQ buffet which offers delicious BBQ meats as well as a variety of international dishes.
1 review
“Excellent Thai restaurant in Pattaya!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My family & I stayed at Royal Cliff Beach Hotel during the long weekend. We had lunch in this Lan Thong restaurant, located at The Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, just after checked out. We ordered some chicken & seafood dishes and some vegetarian foods too. We were so excited after the food came out because the dishes were decorated very nicely, and all dishes were so delicious!!! The waiters & waitress was very kind and serve with smile. I felt like i'm a VIP! :) So I can assure that this is a place worth dining, indeed!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“How do you choose to pick the right restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

You have to pick. This is done by writing all the restuarant names down putting them in a bag and pulling one out.
Larn Thong won.
We had a lovely meal with all the staff being very helpful and attentif.The surroundings help to make it a very relaxing place and one where to are not hurried to finish your meal.
This applies to all the restuarants in the hotel and make it hard to put one in front of others.
What my wife and I have found over the years is that the quality, service,and overall friendleness
of the staff cannot be beaten and when we visit we have no intention of looking outside the hotel for eating places because we have never found any to compare

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very good place to dine. Food is very delicious. Service is excellent. Beautiful views.
Recommend seafood buffet at the Larn Thong and Terrace on Saturday. Very perfect.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The restaurant is inside the Royal Cliff hotel and is tucked away in the last building of this substantial property. We went there for a family lunch.

We were the only people in the restaurant. Service was good. Views are nice. It has outside seating that overlooks the ocean - and that may be fun in the evening. But too hot for a summer afternoon.

We ordered a la carte.

The food was nice - but none of the flavors stood out. It was average fare at an expensive price for Pattaya.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Pretty good seafood, appalling service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Royal Cliff Hotel and Resort has a pretty good reputation for service and quality restaurant outlets. In my experience, the ones I have visited live up to this reputation. The one that doesn’t, however is the seafood buffet at the Larn Thong and Terrace
I recently went there with a couple of friends. We were very enthusiastic about the promise of seafood at a very reasonable price of Baht 895++. At first look, everything looked great: we did a lap around the food offerings in order to plan our attack. After all, a buffet is nothing if not a personal challenge!
Before committing to the food, we ordered a bottle of the house sauvignon blanc. When we got back to the table with our first plates of food, the wine was nowhere to be seen. We ended up waiting for over 20 minutes for the wine, and when it arrived it was at room temperature. An ice bucket took another five minutes to arrive, and then we had to wait another ten minutes before the wine was at a drinkable temperature. The Royal Cliff trades on its wine menu and service, so it was very disappointing. The wine we ordered was one of their standard house-labeled wines, it was not a rare vintage. It was inexcusable for it to be served at room temperature and to be stored in a different outlet.
Despite the wine, our food was pretty good. There was a full array of seafood, Thai dishes and western faves. My only complaint about the food was that the teppanyaki cook had no idea that in a mixed teppanyaki dish, cooking time varies for different ingredients. The cook put the chicken, prawns and scallops on the griddle at the same time – meaning that by the time the chicken was cooked, the scallops were mush and the prawns tough and a little too chewy!
Our biggest complaint of the evening was the service. We had to ask waiters to clear out plates, and our humble request seemed to annoy them! Wait staff were yelling over tables, much to our discomfort. One staff member had a voice so loud, so shrill that I thought my ears would bleed!
The restaurant advertises that the buffet goes until 10.30 pm, but at 9.40 pm while we were still eating, the staff began to clear all the food away. As it happens, our “personal challenge” was near its end, but it annoyed us no end that they were clearing so early without any regard for the customers. And the clearing was in no way a silent process – more yelling and screaming across tables, more shrill voices, and more worries that blood would rain forth from my ear canals!
This was my first and last visit to the Royal Cliff’s seafood buffet.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larn Thong & Terrace also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Larn Thong & Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larn Thong & Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.