We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - given location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Notte Restaurant

La Notte Restaurant
220/2-4 Walking Street, Pattaya, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 594 Restaurants in Pattaya
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“OK - given location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

In the famous (infamous?) Walking Street in Pattaya. Did not bode well, when I had to persuade the owner to eject an illegal smoker from the air-conditioned restaurant on arrival, before we agreed to stay.

That settled, we had some nice cruditees to start and some reasonable food to follow. Could not really say it was very French - cruditees apart - but OK.

Thai King's birthday, so we had fireworks between courses - nice :-)

Given it's location, sandwiched between girly bars, gay clubs, McDonalds and other dodgy retail outlets, with all forms of human life passing by, this place really is not bad. Do not discount it simply because of location - it rises above it.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This restaurant is located at the end of the walking street. they serve typical french cuisine from chateaubriand steak to salmon tartare and other dishes from different French region. and a large choice of french wine.
the staff is great and polite and the owner Eugène is a nice and entertaining guy!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, very good service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

A nice salad dip was given for free, chicken pate as a starter was good, the grilled liver was very good ...but the saute potatoes were pre-cooked and oily and the vegetables quite basic.

Portion sizes are very large, and the menu has a good range of choices

Staff were very helpful and the owner checked everything.

La Notte is hard to find - its at the far end of walking street (ie closer to the Siam Bayshore hotel)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“1st class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

visited la notte twice in oct this restaurant is 1st class food great service 2nd to none and lovely decore im going back to pattaya in january and look forward to eating there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best by far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have just spent two weeks in Pattaya and visited this restaurant almost every night due to the fact the first night we were there we were introduced to the owners. They made us feel so welcome we felt we were part of the family.
We ate there on 2 occasions and the second time we took friends along and they were equally impressed with the place.
The presentation of the food was amazing, as was the taste. Our friend even tried the frogs legs and because they looked so good we all tried them. Not sure I could eat a full plate of them but there was nothing left when our friend had finished.
The staff (particularly the Manager Jimmy) were brilliant, they were attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will definitely go back if we are in Pattaya again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Notte Restaurant also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to La Notte Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Notte Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.