We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cafe Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Cafe Royale to your Saves list
La Cafe Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 / 102 - 109 Pattayaland Soi 3, Pattaya 20260, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed for two weeks at Cafe Royal and I must say that the accommodation was clean and reasonable in price. The staff were very nice all of the time and the atmosphere was great, in the evening times I listening to live entertainment and was taken back by watching the world go past. My warmest wishes to David and Tom and all of the staff there and a big Thank you for making my stay special over my birthday. I will be back soon to see you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    11
    0
    6
See reviews for
1
6
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Over the last 18 months I have stayed at Le Cafe Royale a number of times, mostly because of the location and at the request of friends who are regulars at this establishment. Out of courtesy to them, I have been restrained in making comments in the past. Not this time. Yes it has a very good location and the staff are good (they try very hard with a substandard product ... I cannot fault the staff), but that is where it ends.

The rates seem very good but compare them to The Ambience (directly opposite) which is slightly more expensive ... Ambience wins hands down just on presentation of rooms and the skilled management. If you pay cash at the Ambience you get a discount with brings the room rates into parity with Royale.

Royale has thread bare sheets and towels, everytime I have stayed here the sheets have had small rips and are stained. Towels are very old, likely bought at the time the hotel was built. I have never had a room that has been cleaned thoroughly in all of the times I have stayed. Order room service for lunch one day and you can be guaranteed that the tray is still sitting outside your room door at lunch the next day, come back in the evening and you can see the cockroaches enjoying your left overs.

Each time I have stayed I have bought or brought my own cockroach spray. I am not a clean freak at all but waking up to cockroaches walking across my face is disgusting. This has been brought up with staff in the past and they have promised to change exterminators. If they have done this then the new exterminator has been just as unsuccessful as the last. BIG FAIL!

This is a fully smoking establishment. In the small dining room there is no smoking, although with doors open to the club area and the balcony, the dining room is wretched with smoke. There is no safe haven for non-smokers at Le Cafe Royale. When there is a number of people in the common ares of the hotel the place stinks like and ashtray. if you are a non-smoker my advice is give this place a miss you will only be unhappy, staff will apologise but they can do nothing. Management are smokers you cannot expect any support.

The majority the customer base are old men who are mostly grumpy, cannot respond politely when they are offered a hello or a good morning, some are pleasant enough but the majority in my experience are unpleasant. Sitting with friends on Friday evening trying to enjoy a drink together was depressing at this place; so many old men with stern looks on their faces and chain smoking cigarettes was just so unpleasant and unwelcoming. Then the same depressive crowd at breakfast again unpleasant.

I cannot justify staying in this place again, particularly when there are much better appointed, better managed and newer hotels in the area and similarly priced. I have given the Le Cafe Royale too many opportunities to lift their game and they have failed dismally.

Room Tip: All rooms are old and in need of some love and attention. If you must stay here get a room on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Cafe Royale is a hotel with a cafe attached. It is located in the gay section of the entertainment district in Pattaya. Also two minutes from the beach. I thought prices are very reasonable. I stayed in a penthouse room with terrace. It is very similar to the Ambiance hotel across the street (which I also review): same height, same size rooms, even same granite all over the floors and walls. Two differences. 1. Cafe Royale has an elevator (lift) and the Ambiance does not. 2. Sound insulation is better in Ambiance, in Cafe Royale you can sometimes hear the neighbours. Do not eat in the cafe because you can get much better food at many restaurants in the area. Cafe Royale needs some refurbishment and better maintenance before it can get 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Have stayed here before and it was fine. But lack of professional management and lack of investment has taken it's toll. The rooms are old and outdated, rooms are cleaned very poorly and the place is crawling with cockroaches. A Pity, some investment and a professional manager could turn the place around... Tip: Check your bill very carefully when checking out.
Staff are more interested in their smart phones than the geusts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The place needs a good makeover and upgrading. Staff and service are very good. Although the place seem like a ship with no Captain.The high season is now until May 1st!! Think there dreaming.!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Been coming here for the last 3 years - and its always a pleasure. Locations fantastic, room (executive) nicely furnished and clean. The terrace is a nice place to mooch around, with great food. Staff - the manager Tom, waiters to the cleaners are all terrific.

Only constructive criticism - IMO they should update their prices to include the government tax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Pros:
1. inexpensive
2. location
3. limo service (excellent alert drivers)
4. friendly staff
5. management is helpful with suggestions

Cons:
1. no security/and door locks need updating
2. bed bug infestation among others
3.temp control problems
4. palm oil (omega 6) is used in cooking unless otherwise requested
5. overpriced menu
6. Some rooms could use a renovation
7. Sound density concerns between rooms.

Suggestion:
Keep a flashlight nearby for sudden power outages on your floor.

Room Tip: I would consider staying there again, but I would also do comparison shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cafe Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cafe Royale

Address: 325 / 102 - 109 Pattayaland Soi 3, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cafe Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Cafe Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cafe Royale Hotel Pattaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cafe Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.