We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy and Damp from Cut Corners” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mike Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mike Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mike Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/7 Moo 9 Soi 4 Pattaya Beach Rd, Pattaya 20260, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 377 Hotels in Pattaya
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Moldy and Damp from Cut Corners”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

In the future I will ALWAYS do research into lodging ahead of time, even if I'm not sure I'm going to a city. This place has guaranteed it.
We stayed there (and paid in advance for 2 nights, so didn't want to lose our money for the second night, although we concidered leaving with how bad it was) by booking through the travel agent near the long-distance air-conditioned bus station.
The room was constantly damp, musty, mildewy, and moldy. EVERYTHING left in the room was damp whenever we'd return, wherever we left it, and whatever setting we put the "air conditioner" on. Corners were obviously cut everywhere. (There would be less mold if there was air ventilation in the bathroom!) Things haven't been updated since whenever it opened (except in the lobby) and are shabby and seem to be full of mold. The sheets are very stained, although washed. I wore my flipflops everywhere in the room.
It seemed to be populated by tour groups (from Japan and China), which must be how they stay open since I wouldn't recommend it.
The location isn't bad, on Soi 4 midway between the beach and the Alcarez Cabaret show, but there has got to be better quality for equal or less money.
The only good thing was breakfast. The buffet was a nice spread, with many great choices (although, you must make it before 10 am, even though it is out until 11:30 am, or you'll be charged for it a 2nd time).
So, I hope you are doing your research ahead of time (unlike me) and don't get stuck here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Closer to Sea Beach, Al Cazar show centre, Walking st., Malls, KFC, SevenEleven 24hrs. open stores & lots of Indian resturants. All these places are in walking distances. So overall location wise very good & price is also low in comparison to the other hotels next to it, which is Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Booking in 1 month advance is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I have stayed at Mike Beach several times i always get the same room a huge three bedroom two bath suite facing the ocean. I have nothing to complain about the staff is always friendly my room is always clean and its a great value. I have never eaten in the resturant but i met the owner there once and he was a delightful man who spoke very good English Mr. Sulat. It's right next to the beach and close to everything! I don't think you can go wrong.

Fred Lucero

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and found it to be quite acceptable. A little pricey at 5400 baht (they wanted 6600 but I haggled with them a bit) but we did walk in off the street to book so you will generally always pay premium price this way. The room was spacious and clean and the decor quite refreshing. The furniture and fittings appeared relatively new. The hotel has a very nice pool and has a litlle bar nearby serving refreshments. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a poor standard, I have found this to be the case with many mid-range hotels in Thailand. The hotel is only a two minute walk to the beach and about a fifteen minute walk down to the main night life area - Walking Street - or a two minute ride in one of the tuk tuks that frequent the beach road. All in all a pleasant stay but for the price you can get a better quality hotel if you book ahead.

  • Liked — Location - close to beach.
  • Disliked — Breakfast - give a miss.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mike Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Beach Resort

Address: 124/7 Moo 9 Soi 4 Pattaya Beach Rd, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 377 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mike Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike Beach Hotel Pattaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.