We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gems Gallery Pattaya

Gems Gallery Pattaya
555 Mo 6, North Pattaya Road, Pattaya, Thailand
+66 38 371 222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Museums in Pattaya
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gems Gallery Pattaya is an affiliate to the GEMS GALLERY Group of companies, one of the top local jeweler with expertise in the jewelry industry since 1987.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Gems Factory Shop, Museum and Tour in Pattaya provided us with a mixed experience. The initial tour on a toy train and describing the process of excavating and cutting gems was good. The shop has a very large hall displaying various gems. They are good surely but much more expensive than the same thing that is available in India. For people from the west, it might look attractive but I can assure you, India has gems of the same, if not better quality, at a much better price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    89
    73
    38
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great place to visit this place to see the museum and can do shopping for various genuine gem stones at a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Ended up buying a Yellow Sapphire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went to see this store, which also has a large museum and an underground interactive factory visit which is like a Sound n Light Show. A forty five minute tour that explains the journey of a gem from the raw material to the finished product stage. Interesting, must say!

Then walked around the large showroom which displayed various gems, and for the ones who believe in astrology and the effects of stars and planets on your destiny through gemstones, they also had a chart explaining your birthstone and how the presence or absence of these gems can affect your life.

I found out that Yellow Sapphire is my birthstone, so ended buying a ring which also came with a certificate of authenticity.

They have a nice restaurant which serves lovely coffee....try it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“good tour, said to be biggest shop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The tour as such was ok ok ... not much as i had expected something more from it ... The Shop / showroom is said to be biggest (i dont remm if it was biggest in Pattaya or THailand or what) ... Dont know abt the gems so cant comment but ppl with me bought a lot of gold and gems for the finger rings.... I enjoyed the fish aquarium . I am sure that the tour guides have a cut in here.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Pattaya Gems Factory Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Visited the famous Pattaya Gems factory as part of an orientation tour of Pattaya organized by our tour operator, D.S.Travels. The factory visit provided an insight to the process of acquiring, shaping, cutting & polishing of precious gems. The 20-25 minute toy train / tram ride provided to visitors during the orientation tour makes the visit particularly interesting. The sales/service personnel were quite attentive and friendly and almost always accompanied each individual / group whether visiting the workshop or display shop or souvenir shop. The huge and various collections of jewellery were mostly in the expensive price category range.
Complimentary tea / coffee were served at the adjacent cafeteria after complete tour to the visitors. We were even dropped off to our next destination, the Tiffany show, by the gems factory transport, along with another group of similar people after the factory visit which we understood as another measure taken by the company to woo more visitors. Overall, would rate as a pleasant experience, especially if you are visiting such type of gems factory for the first time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gems Gallery Pattaya also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Gems Gallery Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gems Gallery Pattaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.