We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suite was nice but could have been cleaner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baraquda Pattaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Baraquda Pattaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485/1 Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 375 hotels in Pattaya
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“suite was nice but could have been cleaner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I have stayed in a few places around Pattaya and this was by far the most expensive room I have stayed in there. I had one of the suites. The room was huge with a living room and bedroom. There is a small powder room just inside the front door. there are two sinks in the bedroom/bathroom area. There is a safe and tons of storage space.

At check in things went fairly smoothly. For some odd reason though the guy who was showing me to my room didn't know where it was. The suites are in their own little pod on the front of the building while the majority of rooms go down the side. Once we got all the way to the end of the side he realized that I was in a suite which is basically right next to the elevator. My luggage arrived at the room before we did.

The bedroom has an enormous jacuzzi tub right behind the round bed. So, everything is a little over-designed but I guess that is the point of this place. The shower was big enough for at least two with a couple of big rain shower heads. Unfortunately there was quite a bit of mold in the shower as well. I am fairly sensitive to mold so this was an issue for me.

There are about 100 little switches all over the room and I never really did figure out which switch controlled which lights or other functions. The air conditioning in the bedroom did not shut off no matter where you set the thermostat. So I had to turn it off altogether. So there were certainly some maintenance issues.

My rate included breakfast which was quite good and was served until fairly late.

The service was generally friendly but not everyone had much command of English.

The pool is very large but I do not spend time at pools so I can't comment beyond that.

It is a very loud location, there's no denying that. The shopping center next door hosts concerts most nights so there is loud music until late at night. But it is also quite convenient right on 2nd road. The Royal Garden Plaza is a very short walk away. And the new Central mall is a bit farther walk. Beach road is not far. You can easily walk around to entertainment and places to eat.

Was it worth the money? Not really, but I was looking for a splurge. If the room had been better-maintained I would have rated it higher. I will likely stay there again in one of the regular rooms rather than a suite if I can get a decent rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    116
    33
    15
    3
See reviews for
24
109
70
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I stayed at suite 5115 on the 5th. floor (D2 Duplex Suite facing 2cd Road) from June 04-19.2010 The D2 has a total of 4x D Suites on the 5th floor with 2 facing second road and 2 facing the courtyard and pool area.

What I disliked: Very noisy at night because of the disco below and the bars across the street, no smoking policy in rooms, no writing/computer desk, not very clean (in the beginning) either but the housekeeper took care immediately of everything after complaining. I highly recommend booking the two D2 suites facing the pool area.

I liked: no joiner fees, great location, efficient room service, extremely friendly and efficient front desk staff !!, very reliable and fast internet access, excellent and quick laundry service, in-room Nespresso machines and plenty of coffees to choose from, complimentary bottled water, luxurious spa with discounts for clients staying at a suite, tight security - "friends" can't leave the hotel without getting a phone confirmation that everything is well, great breakfast - and again the staff at the food outlets are among the best in Pattaya: Daily average rate (Dusit Take-2 Special) was 7700.00 THB including taxes (US$265.00). Regular rates are steep 10.700.00 THB including taxes (US$355.00) Thus the hotel offers lots of specials.... The next time I would probably book one of their regular suites (separate Living/Bedroom) on one floor because it seems to be more convenient and you do not have to run always up and down. The room size is just about the same and the rate is roughly 2000.00 THB lower too. Regular rooms have just a basic size.

This was the next time:
Unfortunately I found out that not every suite has a desk or at least a chair etc.. - very basic. I stayed again at D2 from Nov 05-09 & 16-20 and paid THB 8000.00 including tax (US$265.00) per day for a junior suite on the 4th floor facing Second Rd.

Conclusion: extremely noisy, the ice cold air-condition blows you almost out of the room, the room was not clean at all (this seems to be a soft spot at this hotel), the bedroom sliding door mirror had some unidentified "lotion" on it :-), lots of wearing & tearing signs etc. Despite its great location and my Dusit Gold Membership this hotel lost its touch to me and I do not consider it very special anymore after staying here again. I think its a bit over-prized in the meantime (with a few room/location exceptions) The next time I simply pay a bit more and consider to stay in a nice suite at the new Hilton on Beachroad.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Honestly, the D2 is a 3-star to 3.5-star boutique hotel at best, but it is advertised as 5-star. The rooms are nice enough, but there is construction noise in buildings next to the hotel and bar (loud music) noise. The staff is mostly untrained by international hotel standards, and they are "nice" but not really 5 star professionals. Upon check-in, the hotel staff asked me my name numerous times, as is her mind was daydreaming 1000 miles (or 1600 kilometers) away. When we checked-out, it took three disoriented people, and 15 minutes to simply get three small bags to my car, so I ended up taking one bag myself. Breakfast was not very good (and I was the only person there), so I skipped it the second day I was there. I was very disappointed and would only stay again if the price was under $100 USD per night for the larger suite, off season, and then again maybe not even then. The Internet was free and fast, at least they got that right.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Before chosing a place to stay we read some reviews and booked D2 for the location and service...apart from the indeed good location we found the service & cleanliness below our expecaction. After the inital challenges we had upon arrival - which was far away from being warm and friendly - we struggled to settle. We had challenges in our room and really didnt get through to the staff; we also struggled to get hold of of the Manager which seems to be unavailable rather often.
All in all a disappointing stay - be careful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear EdinburghNik,
Many thanks for your feedback via Tripadvisor and please accept my sincere apologies that you didn't experience at d2 what the other 92% of tripadvisor guests positively comment about us. I wish to personally get in touch with you since I wish to investigate this matter and to rectify shortcomings in order to constantly improve our services..
Especially the remark that you were not able to reach the manager surprises me - we do have 24/7 Duty Managers and I am personally always available either in person on property but at least by phone if a challenge needs to be resolved.
Can you kindly contact me on my company mail michael@dusit.com that I can discuss your previous stay.
Kind regards & merry Christmas,
Michael Ganster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattaya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

totally awesome with fantastic service efficent friendly staff,superb bulding with the best rooms.The pool is wonderfull and the DEEP bar and sunset lounge are without doubt among the best in thailand.We stayed before at amari nova never again this is better and cheaper.oh yes and the S.E.A restaurant is better than mantra .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear IBMthai,
Delightful greetings from dusitD2 and many thanks for your review. I am glad that you have been able to enjoy your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Michael Ganster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 9 days in November 2010. I first noticed it on a stay in Pattaya 8 months earlier and the reception staff kindly showed me around.
The hotel is ultra modern and has a certain "wow factor" about it. The reception area is spacious, the staff are friendly, and the rooms are well fitted out. It offered great value for money and I will definetelly go back.
I guess however that you only find out how good a hotel is when you encounter a problem. A colleague I was travelling with became seriously ill at the end of our stay. As soon as I brought the problem to the attention of the hotel they managed to get a doctor and an ambulance to the hotel within 10 minutes. My colleague was hospitalised for 5 days and made a full recovery. The hotel allowed me to extend my stay for 1 night and went out of their way to help me in any way they could. I made what some might condider unreasonable requests for help, and on each occasion the staff obliged.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear Timw78,
It's always a pleasure for me to respond to such a beautiful review on tripadvisor. Many thanks for your kind words and I am happy that my team was able to exceed your expecations.
We hope to be able to welcome you and your friend back again soon,
Kind personal regards,
Michael Ganster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed at Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel for the first time this past October 2010. I went with a group of friends on a golf trip. I would really recommend this hotel. The lobby as you enter was laid out beautifully. The front desk people were very helpful, and we were checked in within minutes. I really appreciated the free Wi-Fi which enabled me to stay in contact with my friends and family back home. The room was great and it had a king size bed. The hotel is centrally located, and within walking distance from the beach and Walking Street. The staff is excellant; they were very accommodating if you needed anything. Because we were traveling in a group, we would meet in the lobby after golf before going to dinner. On one half of the lobby is a lounge/bar area, where we had drinks while waiting for everyone to arrive. While we did order drinks from the bar, we also bought in wine that we purchased elsewhere, and they were more than helpful to open the bottles for us, and provide the wine glasses. They even provided us with plates for the cheese, crackers and snacks we bought to munch on.
What really “WOWED” me was, we left Pattaya, to go to Bangkok to continue our golf trip. The next day after I left, I received an email from Orathai Thong-Ngam aka “Poo” the Desk Whiz, saying that upon my departure, housekeeping checked my safe in the room, and they found 8,000 Yen in the safe, and wanted to know what I would like to do. I gave Poo my mailing address, instructed them to deduct the cost of postage from the 8,000 yen, and send it to me, which I received less than a week later. What really “WOWED” me about this experience is the integrity & honesty of the staff of Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel. Unfortunately, if the same thing happened elsewhere in the world, that money may never have been reported, and returned. While the looks of the facilities are important, the way the staff conducted themselves will be a memory that will outlast the building itself. It is the staff that will keep people coming back to stay at Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear AlohaMaui2010,
Delightful greetings from dusitD2 and many thanks for your kind review. It's indeed true that the integrity of all our employees is unbeatable. All the rest of your review speaks for itself and will for sure be a great help for tripadvisor users to make their hotel decision in Pattaya.
We hope that you and many of your friends will visit us soon again,
Kind personal regards,
Michael Ganster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baraquda Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baraquda Pattaya

Address: 485/1 Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 375 hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Baraquda Pattaya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created with the new generation of discerning business and leisure traveler in mind, the DusitD2 Baraquda Pattaya is an urbane fusion of contemporary Thai style and dynamic global chic, ensuring its young and successful guests remain cool and connected throughout their stay in this lively Thai resort town. Inspired by the brilliant blue-jeweled hues of the sea, the imaginative international design team from dwp Thailand has accentuated DusitD2 Baraquda Pattaya with clean, cool lines that flow through appealing shapes and textures, highlighting the refreshing themes of crystal clear water, sea breeze and sparkling sunlight – a thoughtful, uplifting and relaxing natural ambiance that imbues this desirable new destination with a dynamic sense of serenity and boldness. With only 72 rooms and suites, guests are guaranteed that personal touch. State-of-the-art accommodation ensures complete privacy but with a window on the world – should it be required: panoramic flat screen television, cable TV, CD, DVD and that essential iPod dock come as standard in all rooms. Complete connectivity is also assured with dual phone lines with voice mail, a data port connection and both high-speed broadband and wireless Internet access. More than just a hotel in the center of town, the DusitD2 Baraquda Pattaya is the center of town – the hip place to be. Just 90 minutes drive from Bangkok, DusitD2 Baraquda Pattaya is located on Pattaya 2 Road in the heart of this lively 24/7 city, with easy access to the beach, entertainment district, department stores and the cafe scene – for those able to drag themselves away from the happening hospitality at Pattaya’s funkiest kid on the block. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Baraquda Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.