We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite the Real Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485/1 Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Quite the Real Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am afraid this is not quite a five star hotel, but with a little more thought and staff training it could be. I stayed in one of the two storey suites; next time I won't bother, although I will return.

Pros:

Friendly, cheerful and helpful desk staff.

Large Pool with plenty of available sun loungers.

Spotlessly clean.

Great location.

Comfortable mattress and beds.

Large walk in shower.

Lots of toiletries and little free gifts. A nice touch.

In room Nespresso machine with limitless expresso pods on request. Great for coffee addicts.



Cons:

Food is always luke-warm by the time it gets to the roof top restaurant.

Room service staff English is poor so they don't understand simple requests.

Hot water availability variable.

No proper desk to work from in the two storey Suites.

You need a degree in electrical engineering to work out the lighting switches between the two levels.

Curved headboard means no bed side table. Very impracticable leaving drinks on the floor etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    139
    39
    16
    3
See reviews for
28
135
90
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Helpful and friendly staff.Very good breakfast.The odd thing about the room is that the wash basin is located in the sleeping area and not in the bathroom where it ought to be.Large pool when considering the overall small size of the hotel.I would come back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Location Location Location!!
I think it was located beautifully, just opposite the Marriott Hotel and Ripleys Museum.
It gave perfect access to the Pattaya night life (ie Walking Street) and also to the shopping areas, be it the Pattaya Night Bazaar, Central Festival Mall (Hilton).
The Hotel itself is modern/spartan with comfortable rooms and they serve a good breakfast.
Friendly and courteous staff always helps.

Room Tip: Try to get a room number between no. 1-8. Otherwise you start feeling the walk after a long night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This isn't a 5 star hotel. I would rate it a 3 1/2.
The good things. Friendly staff throughout offering very good service. A good breakfast to start the day. The bar on the roof served good tapas. The pool is very good. The room I had was good overall. It was clean. Sleep quality was good. The location was good.
The not so good. It's getting tired. The shower only had warm water. The shower heads were both not quite right. I am not a fan of wooden toilet seats. The airconditioning was too cold and couldn't be set higher. It defaulted to freezing every time. The seats in the dining room are worn. Overall the hotel needs a revamp.
Undecided if I would stay here again. Probably not.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Dusit D2 is very modern and presents in an unconventional minimalist-style. It will appeal to travellers who like a boutique hotel that is different to the routine chrome-and-glass international hotel chains. The pool is very nice and appealing, the staff are very attentive, and the guest rooms are spacious and interesting. Almost everything has been re-thought in this hotel and it reminds me of some of the modern hotels in Scandinavia, although with a clear Thai influence. It's location is very convenient for exploring Pattaya.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I had 2 nights here for our honeymoon booked via asia rooms.com. We got it a very good price and was happy at how "funky" it was looking at pics. When we arrived service was very good, welcome drinks nice but when we got to our room we thought "great" it looked just like the pics. Given a little time in the room we realised that it was very worn and we started to feel a bit disappointed. Shower water wasn't very hot. Hit or miss really!!! We bit said we wouldn't stop here again. Did think the see through bathroom was a cool idea though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Unfortunately our stay in this hotel turned from good to ugly very quickly. On arrival we delighted by the reception staff, the welcome drink, the hotel pool, and our room. Our room overlooked the pool, and although the room was getting 'a little tired' with bumps and scratches throughout, it still was a very cool room. However, it was a case of all-style and no-substance for this hotel as there was no hot water at 7pm in the evening! What then made this situation even worse was that the drain in the shower didn't empty anywhere near fast enough, resulting in the an overflow into the room. There was A LOT of water that overflowed, and we used up all of our towels to soak some of it up. We called for help, and a maintenance man and cleaner quickly attended. However quite unbelievably we were (politely!) accused of not closing the shower door properly…which was absolute rubbish as the door did nothing to stop the water at a certain level (see attached video!). We had booked tickets to see Tiffany's so had to leave, and as this had taken over an hour out of our evening, we had to eventually rush out the door unshowered after packing our belongings to be moved to another room. The room we were moved into was again nice aesthetically, however was at the front of the building. If you want to get to sleep before 3am, then you will have a very slim chance staying in a room at the front of the building due to the noise levels. Such a disappointing experience!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection

Address: 485/1 Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, a hip boutique hotel located in the heart of Thailand's bustling Pattaya City, is joining Accor's MGallery Collection of unique hotels. This hotel is dedicated to the lifestyle of modern travelers with a signature design of "modern nautical cool". Located on Pattaya's colorful 2nd Road, Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is a calm sanctuary with an easy access to the beach, shopping and entertainment centers. The facade and interior of the hotel reflects a devotion to bold and contemporary designs, while unique personalized services are provided to enhance each individual stay. Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is comprised of 72 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms and suites, each with a balcony overlooking the unique fish-like, blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.