We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Restaurant in Pattaya, Period.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Restaurant & Bar

Mantra Restaurant & Bar
Pattaya Beach Road, Pattaya, Thailand
+66 (0) 38429591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 619 Restaurants in Pattaya
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Pattaya, Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Let me start off by saying I'm from L.A. and that I regularly travel on business or pleasure to San Francisco, New York, and elsewhere. So I've been to few good restaurants, including trendy ones that try to put out a cool vibe in nicely designed surroundings. Mantra is all of the above. That's not easy to say in Thailand, which may have some of the best food (and people) in the world, but which also has its fair share of strange formica/linoleum/ceiling fan spaces and other decidely low budget looking joints. Mantra is an absolutely cool looking place: Huge, two stories, modern design, with great valet parking, and a nice greeting from at least two or three beautiful ladies at the front door. But enough about the atmospherics. You're also here for food. The food is excellent, as good as you find anywhere, and that includes L.A. I had a mixed grill (duck, pork belly, steak) that was out of this world. Killer sushi. Amazing well done Indian food (Chicken Tikka Masala), and of course, they do a pretty good job on Thai food. Whether for a date, for a big gathering, or just eating by one's self because you're hungry, I think it's the best restaurant in Pattaya.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    130
    33
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great restaurant to enjoy that special evening.
Food and wine selection is endless and everything we tried was excellent.
Highly Recommended

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a Great Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have been going to Mantra for several years. It remains our "go-to" restaurant for our special occasion dinners and such an impressive Sunday Brunch (make reservations)! It is nice to have an up-scale restaurant with a dress code in Pattaya.

The service staff are very attentive, the food is always excellent and cooked to perfection. Hint: the more you visit Mantra the better the staff get to know you, and they always make a special effort to make your dining experience great.

If Executive Chef Leonard is around, be sure to ask for his dining and/or wine recommendations. Every recommendation has been outstanding for us!

If you are celebrating a birthday or anniversary tell the person when you make reservations. You will be rewarded with something special after the meal!

This is also a great restaurant to have a group get together for dinner. Plenty of room and enough staff to take special care of your group.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big Menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My friends told me to try Mantra, and i did. The restaurant is on two floors and is massive, we felt lonely at 6 pm; maybe a bit early to dine out. The hostess escort us to the table and presented a fantastic international menu, so much to choose from. I has the "special lobster", well cooked and juicy. My friends had steaks and they were happy. The view from the window is wonderful, watching the beach. We left happy and we will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Goo restaurant for groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I went to Mantra with a group of friends. The restaurant is big on two levels, so it is perfect if you are a group of people. The menu is huge, with dishes for any taste. The service was good and they look after us.
They have a smoking area upstairs and outside.

Will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantra Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Mantra Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.