We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Restaurant & Bar

Mantra Restaurant & Bar
Pattaya Beach Road, Pattaya, Thailand
+66 (0) 38429591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 646 Restaurants in Pattaya
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

After reading various reviews for Mantra, we decided to go for my birthday. My friends and I were so impressed. How lovely to walk into a restaurant where you immediately feel relaxed, the restaurant has a lovely ambiance. The staff were amazing, attentive and knowledgeable. They even give me a free dessert for my birthday.

Thanks Mantra

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    130
    33
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply the best!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was visiting pattaya with a friend, we came across mantara on our second night, and ate here at least another 6 times in our two week stay. From the door staff (Tik) to the the bar staff (Tam, Noh & Bee) to the restaurant staff (Cherry) I could not speak highly enough of these people. Tams cocktails are the best. The food was outstanding night after night, with plenty of choice. Will be back!!! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tries Too Hard....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

With The Prices They Charge..(Which I Really Don't Care about That) You Would Think The Food Would Have Been Better. They (In My Opinion) are Getting By On Location And Ambience.(Which Was Beautiful But Way TOO Bright)...They Need To Dim the Lights And Upgrade The Food....:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonard_faust, Executive Chef at Mantra Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Lance R


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

I was quite disappointed to hear that your dining experience at Mantra was not up to your expectations.

At Mantra we quite often cater for intimate couples and small groups, the ambiance is chic, lavish and intimate and the light settings are low. We do provide reading torches for those whom may have trouble seeing the menu. We also pride ourselves on acquiring and serving premium quality imported meats and seafood from all corners of the globe.

If I may ask, could you please elaborate on where in the restaurant you found it too bright and what exactly you did not enjoy about your meal?

I can be contacted at leonard.faust@amari.com and would be more than happy to get more detail personally.

Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to your future patronage.


Kind Regards


Leonard Faust
Executive Chef - Amari Pattaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have been living in Thailand for 2.5 years but this was our first stay. It is a beautiful restaurant and Bar.

Not a lot of choice for vegans but vegetarians are very well catered for. We have two children aged 4 and 11. One is a vegetarian, one is very fussy but both ate well.

The setting is amazing, dim lighting (perfect for couples) A lot of seating in different areas, including outdoors which would be perfect if you purchase from the cigar menu.

The menu is extensive and diverse and includes a cigar menu if you wish to sit in the outdoor area upstairs.

Our only disappointment is that we called ahead to ask for an early time to start our meal as we have children, in particular one who is young. We were told the kitchen would be open at 5.30pm, however when we arrived the staff said the kitchen does not open until after 6pm and we are expected to sit in the bar area and have a drink first. It is a lovely bar and we would have enjoyed it if we were alone, however we don't like to take our young children to drinking establishments and we felt that when we specified children at our reservation the option should have been given to us then.

The door/bar staff are not very friendly, particularly the door staff however the restaurant staff make up for that. They were happy, attentive and friendly.

Our food was perfect, at our table we ordered pizza, tofu, fried rice, lamb shanks and all these dishes were cooked beautifully, presentation was amazing and the flavors were wonderful.

We were very happy with the price considering the standard of food and the drinks we also bought.

We will certainly be back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Why we have never tried here on our first visit to Pattaya. This restaurant is just divine from the moment you walk in . Very impressive I liked it very much.
We where seated upstairs 4ppl.
I had steak & chips boring but was very nice. & the other 3 got the tester menu priced at 1.600baht. Well worth every penny
3 starters asparagus cappuccino soup was heaven in a cup
Peking duck rolls
Beef in oyster sauce ?.
And lots more.
Dessert & tea/coffee
The service in this restaurant is excellent the atmosphere here is amazing obviously our company helped. But would return here on our next trip in Nov. just delicious

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantra Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Mantra Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.