We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place is bugged!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel to your Saves list
Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel
1.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   502/1 M.10 Soi 11, Pattaya 2nd Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 387 Pattaya B&B and Inns
Daytona Beach
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Place is bugged!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Bedbugs and no lifts, plus Indian tailors and 'massage girls' touting you makes your stay unpleasant.

Room Tip: Go south toward the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    41
    15
    20
See reviews for
5
10
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

very bad hotel rooms. there is a very bad smell in every room. there is no lift in the hotel so if the room is on higher floor it is very uncomfortable. the hotel staff is very rude and not cooperative.

Room Tip: not for indians
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is aterrible hotel , very misleading advertising on facilities , the staff were friendly and helpfull but that is the only good thing i can say about this hotel room was dirty and there was dead cockroach on the bathroom floor and the door would not close properly , i would not stay there again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

i was for 2 day stay in pattaya & i was looking for budget hotel so i search on line in agoda i book this hotel as it is near beach and all shopping mall , so when i checked in this hotel the staff was surprized and they even not ready my room so they took one hour to clean the room after i got room on 2th floor the room was very small and i called room servies so to ask for fresh towel they also provided me one free mineral water in break fast they only give egg and bread with tea again break fast so so one is the main reason to stay in this hotel is if u r looking for good location and easy reachable mike shopping center is near by royal garden palaza is also not so far so in this budget this is the place u can stay but i was unhappy from hotel service

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, Customer Service at Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Hi rickychandowk


Thank you for your review.We're appologized for lacked of service and manner of staffs . We
will take your review to be the example case to improvement
our service soonest.

Best Regards,
Customer service
Sawasdee Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

The hotel is within walking distance to the beach, to the mall, and the "entertainment" district is just down the road. We stayed two days. The room was large enough to accommodate our party - 5 people altogether. In all honesty, we were too many, however, the staff did not object and did not pay any additional fees.

The room is basic, AC, TV, fridge, hot/cold water, large bed, two chairs. It was clean.
Breakfast of acceptable quality was provided. The lobby is small, there is no elevator. There is internet available (WiFi). The guests were reasonably well behaved.

We would visit it again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Let me begin by saying i am not one of these people who just want to complain about everything - I like to think i give places a fair chance when judging them and try to see the good points as well as the bad. Unfortunately no amount of fairness changes the fact that this is one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in!

First Impressions:
When we first arrived we had enormously heavy luggage with us and we were on the 4th floor of a hotel with no lift. Now even in a no frills budget hotel i would expect at least for somebody to offer me some help but no! Instead they watched the two of us struggle to carry our luggage in 4 separate trips to our room!

The Room:
The room itself was about as nice as being poked in the eye with a sharp stick - It was really dusty and dirty, the bed felt like some kind of cheap camp bed made of washing sponges, my pillow case still had the mascara from last nights prostitute smeared across it and there were masses of gigantic ants patrolling the bathroom. The bathroom had some kind of huge sink/miniscule bath thing on the floor which looked as if somebody had been sick in it at some point, and was just generally unclean. Oh and did i mention there was no windows in the room just in case you wanted to peer out of the front to see the army of lady boys and prostitutes who inhabit the front of the building opposite.

The Food:
I know Thai people haven’t quite got the hang of the full English breakfast yet but still the offerings made by this particular hotel are without doubt the worst I have experienced in Thailand.

General Impressions:
The whole building is dirty inside and out with dirt, glass, dust, and all manner of nastiness in the stairwells but the most disgusting thing has to be the pool in one of the other Sawasdee hotels which you can obtain a pass for at reception. The pool water is literally Yellow - yes yellow like wee, and has flies, oil, sticks and many other foreign bodies floating on the surface. There is no way in a million years i would actually get in it let alone allow children near it.

Positives:
Reasonably good location as long as you don’t mind being harassed by the ladies of the night(and day) who work opposite.

Summary:
I know Sawasdee hotels are cheap but seriously if you have an ounce of sense you will go to one of the small privately owned guest houses which are often even cheaper and have much nicer rooms, better breakfast, much nicer staff, and don’t leave you feeling dirty and like you need to visit the doctor to make sure you haven't contracted some tropical disease.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

firstly to describe u the service i experienced, i would like to quote 1 incident on the day we checked in. we checked in and went for a stroll on the beach, night time when we went to sleep i felt something is biting. Initially i thought im just feeling it but later on i actually saw a lot of bed bugs in and around the bed. i took one of them and went to the reception. it was 23:00 hrs . Then after a long wait i got my room changed.
this room had no bed bugs but the condition of the room was not better. toilet door had no latch, forget the latch it was almost in tatters. The toilet looked like public toilet, even worse.
The room actually looked like an old unused store room.
The perfect word would be "PATHETIC".
I never even thought in my wildest of dreams that i would get such a bad experience in such a famous holiday destination (pattaya) that too on my honey moon.
Im thankful to god that i have a such a good life partner who is very understanding and whom i kno for the past 6 years. What if it was an arranged marriage? I wud be put to shame infront of my inlaws.
To top it more the hotel staff was even more rude, except for a few reception ladies. The worst was the waiters, what attitude.

I really feel from the bottom of my heart that somehow there should be some means to sue the hotel. I wud go for it outright.
If possible pls black list this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel

Address: 502/1 M.10 Soi 11, Pattaya 2nd Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 387 B&Bs / Inns in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee Sunshine makes it all possible among the exotic paradise by offering you the comfort, traquility and indulgence. From here you can discover a land with rich culture, steeped in tradition and full of surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Sunshine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.