We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Save Saved
You added Sandalwood Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211/7 Moo 4 Tambon Maret | Surrat Thani, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Massages and Meals!
Ranked #2 of 309 hotels in Ko Samui
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sandalwood from March 17th to the 23rd and I will say Sandalwood was the perfect place in every way you can think of. The first thing you notice when you get to Sandalwood was the friendly staff. I think the staff was the best part of Sandalwood!! Yes, the views, the room, the food, and pool were great, but I have seen "At Different Resorts" where the hotel staff ruined your whole vacation because of their service. I would recommend Sandalwood to anyone wanting to have a relaxing vacation with one of the Best Hotel/Villa/Resort I have ever stayed. Thanks Sandalwood for the great times!!

Mr. and Mrs. Hugh White III

Room Tip: I stayed in the Jumpee and it was great room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    615
    66
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
113
460
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shirley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and fell in live with the place. Rooms were nicer in person than online very large spacious and private. The staff was amazing and so helpful. Our villa had the most amazing view (we stayed in the Malee) food was excellent!! Couldn't be happier than we were it well exceeded our expectations!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family of four and I stayed at Sandalwood for three days from March 1st - 4th. The views took our breath away and the serenity of this small villa complex was just perfect. The villas are done in traditional Thai style while the interior is complete with great amenities. The balconies are spacious and just gorgeous. Though many of the villas were occupied, we hardly ever saw other guests. The pools were never crowded and they all had amazing views of Chaweng and the neighboring beaches. Their is a small restaurant on-site which has great food. The breakfast spread was delicious and plentiful...and included with our stay.

Like in previous reviews, Sandalwood is located at the top of a very steep hill but they have SUVs on the grounds that will bring you to the bottom of the hill and their private beach free of charge. You can also hire the SUVs to take you to Chaweng or Lamai which is very affordable. Thanks to Jip, Fon, Queen, and R for making our stay so special. You and your team are the sweetest!

I just saw the 30% off last minute booking offer. If you are reading this, you MUST take it! Don't miss out on the gem of affordable luxury. We couldn't ask for more. Thank you, Sandalwood for making our vacation so memorable!

Room Tip: Our family stayed in the Orchid Villa. It had a queen bed as well as a loft with a full sized bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My brother and I stayed at this resort and were blown away by the villas, view, service, and overall atmosphere! The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating; they want to make sure you have the best holiday you can. I booked the Spa Package whilst there and had the most relaxing 4 days trying different treatments in their on-site spa. The resort's location on the hill gives you gorgeous views of Chaweng, and the resort's free shuttle to-and-from town keeps you connected in case you want to go shopping, out to eat, etc. My brother did 2 day tours that he booked through the hotel and was very happy with them as well. The resort itself is very quiet and private. Even though there are others villas just next to yours, you'll feel as if you're in paradise by yourself. The atmosphere ensures privacy and quiet. You'll leave this resort feeling like a rockstar!

Room Tip: I suggest booking one of the package deals for your stay. You'll be the 1st guests to be upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Wauv! The view towards Chaweng is just absolutely stunning and lying in the pool absorbing the vistas of the blue sea and white skies made us feel almost dizzy.

The food and the service is to die for and this place is certainly very deserving of it's high marks on this website.

Sandalwood is one of the places you will long back for for years to come and we certainly hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this small resort with a personal touch. The hotel location is a bit remote and the street up to the hotel is very steep. Easy to do with a motorbike but avoid driving down on a rainy day.

Not much going on in the resort - it is something for people who love silence

Absolutely stunning is the view in the evening while having a nice drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just want to say i had a wonderful time staying at sandalwood. It was amazing. I can't wait to come back, and want to say thank you to the wonderful people there. I also want to say thank you especially to JIP, FONE, QUEEN, and R, you guys are the nicest.
The Restaurant and the Kitchen has really food too. I recommend the Gardenia for anyone wanting an amazing view, and travel alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandalwood Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Address: 211/7 Moo 4 Tambon Maret | Surrat Thani, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandalwood Luxury Villas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Samui, our ten Thai style pavilions are positioned around five infinity edge swimming pools. Each intimate and secluded villa has a panoramic ocean view and is linked by landscaped gardens with intricate stone walkways.We provide exclusive and sophisticated accommodation while seamlessly blending traditional Thai architecture with a modern contemporary style.At Sandalwood Luxury Villas, we strive to give each guest an outstanding level of quality service with our warm Thai hospitality. From the moment our professional drivers pick you up at the airport, our staff is available to cater for your every need. Whether enjoying an authentic Thai meal in our Blue Ginger Restaurant or a massage at our Sanctuary Spa, our goal is to make your Sandalwood stay a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandalwood Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Hotel
Sandalwood Luxury Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandalwood Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.