We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter - Day Tours

Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter - Day Tours
123/117 Moo 1, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 81 940 1999
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sailing and yacht charters on Ko Samui in Thailand, island tours to Ko Phangan, Ko Tao, National Marine Park with Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter Co. Ltd.
1 review
“Excellent day and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked the half day trip with the crazy horse boat, we had an amazing time, just the two of us on the boat alongside the two skippers. They were very welcoming and could speak great English. Their knowledge about sailing was outstanding! We stopped us first near Koh Phangan for snorkelling and then spent an hour on the island. We were given drinks also by the crew. Highly recommended for a family or a couple .
Loic, France

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    5
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked for one day in order to spend some time at sea without crowds of other tourists on the Senora. Kunta - the German owner was a great host and showed us some of the most spectacular beaches we had ever seen. He's a passionate sailor and it really shows how much he loves the sea and environment. We stopped for a snorkel and a bite to eat on a clifftop on Koh Pangang - amazing views and food! Kunta mentioned that he would be going on a trip later in the week but the weather may be a little windy but we would be welcome to go along. We were delighted to have the opportunity and jumped at the chance of a life time.
The 3 day trip was just as amazing - again on the Senora. We had good weather for the most part - sunny and windy. We ran in to a tropical storm off Koh Tao which we are still talking about - very exciting - I wish I had turned the video camera on during it!!! We stayed on shore both nights away in bungalows which were cheap and cheerful and in beautiful locations. Amazing adventure overall. Kunta was laid back and happy to teach us the basics of sailing. If you want a different experience away from the crowds of tourists don't miss this opportunity of a lifetime!
Kunta - Thanks again for a great experience - and I hope you enjoyed the world cup in Norway!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntakosamui, General Manager at Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Vanessa and Finton,
yes, we did have a great trip and I enjoyed very much to have you two on board! despite the weather forecast we challenged the eliments and the weather gods did reward us with some exciting sailing!
That tropical storm before Ko Tao was deffenitely the highlight for me and will stick in our memories for a long time, you guys did very well in this bombastic moments, thanks again and hope we see you again for some good sailing around samui!
all the best and fair winds Kunta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing trip with Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A few weeks ago while on holiday in Samui my boyfriend and I booked a charter with company owner Kunta and went out with him on his beautiful 30ft yacht Sanora for the day. We aren't sailors by any means and weren't sure what to expect but were excited at the prospect of a day at sea. We had a fantastic time, loving the experience so much we decided to book a further 3 day/2 night trip with Kunta on the Sanora for the following weekend. Over the 4 days we sailed to Koh Phangan and on to Koh Tao. Seeing these beautiful islands by boat was a fantastic experience. We stopped in beautiful bays, snorkeled and swam by pristine white sand beaches, some of which can only be accessed by boat. Kunta was a brilliant host, friendly, easy-going and accommodating. He is German, living in Thailand for many years, speaks faultless English and was a great guide, often sharing interesting facts and stories with us about the places and people we encountered. Thanks to Kunta's inside knowledge, we were treated to excellent food and accommodation while staying on the islands overnight, all at budget prices and off the beaten track. On board we were keen to learn, and he was happy to teach us about sailing the boat, the sea and weather conditions. We felt like we were part of the team, although truly I think we were really crap sailors! (Sorry Kunta). But we always felt that we were safe in expert hands. We also briefly met some of his other staff who man the bigger and faster catamarans Crazyhorse and Dreamcatcher. They were friendly and helpful and it was obvious that the company as a whole is an extremely professional and well-run outfit.
Overall we had the trip of a lifetime, a great adventure. We were so glad we seized the opportunity to go. Prices for similar trips in other holiday destinations we had visited were always prohibitive, but not here thankfully! Highly recommended - don't hesitate to book.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun half day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our family of 12 with age range of 3-80 years went out on a half-day trip on the Dreamcatcher, which includes pick up from and drop off to our hotel to where the catamaran was "parked". Skipper Bobby (and crew member Ud) kept us well informed throughout the trip, whether with security briefings or activity options. They provided plenty of water/other drinks and snacks. We had a great time snorkeling and swimming/jumping off the boat--it was a memorable day. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent trip and excellent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I went on a sunset sail on the Crazy Horse catamaran. We absolutely loved the trip! The boat was great and the staff was the best! The captain and co-captain made us feel completely comfortable on the boat, constantly asking us if we needed drinks, informing us of the various islands as we passed by, but gave us just enough space to enjoy this romantic experience.

We stopped by an island, jumped off the boat and went snorkeling. The captain took tons of photos for us. A bathroom on the boat is a huge plus!

The price is not beatable. We drove 35 min from our hotel just because the sail prices by us were 3 times the price.

I would highly recommend Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.