We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKWA Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AKWA Guesthouse to your Saves list
AKWA Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   28/12 Moo 3 | South Chaweng Beach Rd, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 247 Ko Samui B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with my friend for 3 days in the Penthouse just above the bar. The 3 stairs up were steep, but the staff helped with our luggage. Very nice big clean room, with nice terrace and sliding doors. The room and bathroom was perfectly clean and all we needed was available. Nice pop art decoration, just like the pictures on the booking site. We had breakfast every morning, as they offer 15% off the menu for guests. Nice food choice. Wonderful and very helpful staff. The beach just less than a minute from our front door. Absolutely best price quality

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    98
    46
    31
    49
See reviews for
16
129
97
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bonnesvalyn, Picardie, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed a week and that was great. We had a standard room . It was very clean and we slept well because it is very quiet at night. The staff is very nice and helpful. If we come back next year, we'll stay here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We at Akwa are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon with us.

Kind regards
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

On the whole the guest house is nice, really like the way it's been decorated. Nice pop art theme, room is very clean.

The mattress is obviously old and has springs sticking, the pillows are very thin. Although we opted for an air con room, it doesn't really go cold enough for us, would probably be fine for most people though, fridge door doesn't stay shut which is annoying. Also the toilet seat is a very weird shape and uncomfortable,

Food is nice and fairly reasonably priced, 15% off for guests is a good idea.

Wouldn't mind staying again but for the same price can get a hotel with swimming pool which we wish we had done now.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we've been there for 2 weeks and a half and that was such a great time.
Very clean and tidy place, beautifull meals and most of all : The best Hosts ever, always willing to help and advise about our trips.
Very good memories.
Every travellers who want to have a "break" on Koh Samui island MUST stop in this place.
Cheers mates

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked a standard room for two nights. A medium sized room with all amenities you would need. The rooms are cheap and has a real backpacker feel to it. The room had an interesting design with many decorations / paintings / cushions which made for a pleasant environment.

However I don't think any seasoned traveler would feel this was value for money. The room we stayed in was in need of a revamp (at least re-do the peeling walls) and the bathroom had a real "public bathroom" feeling to it, i.e. you wouldn't want to drop anything on the floor. The basin tap only dribbled water our entire stay. While individually, these issues are not an real problem for us, combined, it was disappointing.

The owner, Martin was friendly during our stay and the staff were good also. We didn't bother bringing up any of these issues with Martin, as from reading previous replies on Tripadvisor he seemed very defensive about all his rooms.

We ate only breakfast at the restaurant which was quite nice, if not a little small for the price we paid. All other meals were out of our budget.

We decided not to extend our stay, and instead found a much nicer, newer, larger, better condition room (with a balcony) for a cheaper price (500baht) 5min up the street. I feel if any of the other guests staying at Akwa were to look around at the competing guesthouse standards they would be quite shocked as we were!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We at Akwa are a small very popular boutique style Guesthouse, and we run at almost 95% occupancy (so almost everyday fully booked). This puts a lot of pressure on the maintenance schedule we have. The room you stayed in, is scheduled for refurbishment this month.

The water pressure on the Island can sometimes be a problem, but you certainly should have mentioned it to me; I indeed prefer guests bring up issues they might have with the room during their stay, so we can find a solution, than complain about it afterwards on the internet.

Regarding the food we offer in our restaurant; for budget travelers, we do have Akwa's Happy Meal, which is a Thai dish from our menu with a Thai beer or soft drink, for only 135 thb.
We believe that this is an excellent quality/price proposed. Of course you can get again cheaper when snacking at the local 7/11 or market.

There are indeed many guesthouses around Chaweng, but we at Akwa do have some unique selling points (like the direct, 40 seconds walk, access to the beach, the free Wifi in all our rooms, the funky designed pop art style rooms, the large book and DVD library available everywhere in all our buildings), that we do believe (as do many many of our happy customers) we offer excellent quality price.

Kind regards
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Arrived at Akwa following a Lonely Planet recommendation. The manager told us that the cheaper rooms are not available (not for us, as other travellers did get them after our arrival, and no booking was made). As we were tired from a long journey, we gave in and took the "Penthouse" room for 2 nights. The room is big, huge bed, a bathtub and dvd player (movies are available in room and corridors). A big terrace outside the sliding windows.
The A/C did not work and water was not running. The room was boiling, as it is the top floor and it was very unpleasant. Spent the second day in room as workers tried to fix the A/C fir 4 hours (!!).
Restaurant food was nice but expensive and really small and rather not satisfying portions.
We were not offered discount or any compensation and no alternative except of a "oh" from the manager.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

Unfortunately we haven't met during your stay with us as I was traveling, but having spoken to my manager, I think your review is really strange.

You did not had a booking for a room when you walked in at our Guesthouse, and indeed only the Penthouse was available that night. (not sure why you state other/cheaper rooms were available that night?. I checked our system, and all other rooms were booked. Where did you get that information from? a little inappropriate to make such unfunded statements on public forum)

Anyway, we offered you a VERY discounted rate for the room (more than 60% off the standard rate), and you accepted the room.

When you took the room, both the air-conditioners were working (something we always check when we bring the guests to the room), but next morning one of them you reported as broken. It indeed took our engineer long time to fix it and replace the part. (there was no need for you to stay in the room during the repair, I assume this has been your own choice).

Not sure why you expected us to propose you an "alternative"; the air-conditioner was fixed during the same day...

Kind regards
Martin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large and are decorated in an Art Deco theme. It brings a lot of character to the place. The a/c works well and the bed is super comfortable. The owner, Martin, is incredible. He goes above and beyond to make sure that you are comfortable and have everything you need. He rents out motorbikes for a good price and will go out of his way for his guests. Akwa feels more like an inn with Martin as the innkeeper. He is super friendly and interesting. I would highly recommend Akwa to budget travelers looking for a clean, nice, centrally located place with a friendly owner. The beach is a 2 minute walk away so that's a big plus too. Great stay and would definitely come back! Thanks Martin! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your nice review; we at Akwa are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon at our Guesthouse.

Kind regards
Martin
Akwa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKWA Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKWA Guesthouse

Address: 28/12 Moo 3 | South Chaweng Beach Rd, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AKWA Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of AKWA Guesthouse is unique. The individual & boutique style accommodation of AKWA provides each holiday goer with an experience to remember. On Chewang Beach Road. The beach is less than 2 minutes walk from the front doors of AKWA Guesthouse & Restaurant. AKWA Has 2 buildings, less than 3 minutes walk from each other, all have access to the beach, shopping and night life. AKWA has standard rooms and deluxe rooms, triple and quadruple studio's and a penthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AKWA Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akwa Guesthouse Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKWA Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.