We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montien House

Save Saved
You added Montien House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montien House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Moo 2 | T. Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 310 hotels in Ko Samui
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strategic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Was travelling with my parents, parents in law (aged 71-77) & 2 kids aged 10 & below. Airport van dropped us on the main chaweng street & made us walked 5 minutes to the check in counter with all our luggages. Booked Premier deluxe rooms & were checked into 1st flr & 2nd flr access via stairs only. Rooms r spaious, comfy & clean with a daybed and can sleep 3 pax comfortably as shown in the photos. Liked the balcony with garden view not the other 2 balconies with building view. Restaurant & Pool are right next to the beach & beach is good with gentle waves. Bike & car rental available at reasonable rate. Staff r friendly & attentive. Disliked having to carry our bags down from the room when checkout & could hear the base from ark bar at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    126
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
32
94
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The title says it all....got a smashing deal from Booking.com & booked online for travel with wife & parents in the last week of October. Didn't know what to expect....but pleasantly surprised with the charming behavior of all members of the staff, the delightfully location & almost everything!!!
We got rooms at Thb 1750/night including bf. The beachfront property has a pool almost on the beach!!! The bf restaurant is just opposite the pool on the beach again!!!
Another advantage is that one can book 2wheelers & cars from the hotel itself at reasonable rates.
Only suggestion is they should keep electric kettles in their rooms.
We are visiting this place again as soon as we can!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Location of this hotel is great as it's within 2-3 minutes walking to the Chaweng main street. Bike rental is available at reasonable rate. Room was clean and comfy. The only bad thing is the wifi speed/stability and command of English of the staffs.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to beach and a bit old-fashioned whereas rooms in the hotel building are more modern an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had 5 days here in a Pool Villa room. It was a big room with king bed, large bathroom/shower. The plunge pool was infont of room and fairly private. Breakfast each morning was very good. The pool was large and the beach was opposite. There was a restaurant but we ate in the street or on the beach. The room and pool were cleaned each day . I couldn't fault the Hotel. But there needed to be abit more privacy with the plunge pool - a small window each side of villa you could see in from other villas or you could see into their villas. We put a towel on the window!

Room Tip: The pool villa with plunge pool was the best and are quieter. There are many other rooms but we pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our room right by the pool is very comfortable with a nice little balcony. The gardens are beautifully lush and the pool and restaurant are situated right on chaweng beach. We are right in the thick of things without it being noisy - Lots of great bars nearby but you can't hear a thing. Only downside has been no included breakfast and the reception staff aren't very clued up on activities or sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and then returned for another 3! The staff are very helpful and the rooms are the cleanest we have had in Thailand. I love the showers! We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was a lot more expensive than the Main Street with lots more choice. The pool is lovely and right on the beach. The only down side was the pool area was in shade from about 2pm which was annoying for a sun lover like me but obviously this is not the hotels fault! Would definitely recommend! Xx

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Ate here twice as the first time the service/setting was second to none! Live music was a nice touch and the cocktails were delicious !:I highly recommend the muscles covered in melted cheese (they were Huge and succulent) my husband had crispy beef which was also yummy! I had a prawn dish in lemon noodles - a amazing and my husband had a duck massamen curry - superb :) you won't be disappointed if you spend a night holding hands eating an amazing meal looking over the sea :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montien House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien House

Address: 5 Moo 2 | T. Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#102 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montien House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Montien House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montien House Hotel Koh Samui
Montien Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montien House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.