We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Buddha Garden

Secret Buddha Garden
off the Airforce road towards the center of the island, Ko Samui, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 63 attractions in Ko Samui
Type: Lookouts, Gardens, Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting but..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Interesting and unusual place but not really anything special or worth visiting unless passing as we were.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    51
    18
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Suprising and random”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was taken to the Secret Garden as part of an organised tour of Samui. I didn't know what it was before we got there and when we did get there I still didn't really know as nothing was explained to me. I was just looking at some random concrete statues half way up a mountain. I have since researched a little about it and it was a garden started by a fruit farmer in the 1970 and added to until his death. I have been twice now and found that I saw new things the second time that I had obviously missed the first. But it is very random and unexpected. I am not sure I would choose to make the trip up the mountain just to see it but if you are going pasted it to get to the view point at the top of the island then it is worth dropping in for a visit. Definitely not wheelchair or buggy accessible.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a beautiful secret garden with stone statues in a little oasis of peace and quiet. Inspiring story too about the one man who created this.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place was fascinating. A single man decided one day to build this place with his own hands. He carted the stone that took him decades to create, If anything it shows what we can do. It well worth 30 minutes of your time

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magical Garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A MUST see when you are visiting Koh Samui. The garden is beyond beautiful! My husband and I visited the garden as part of a day tour (Safari Tours) and it was worth it. Make sure your camera's battery is fully charged (mine was not..), because it is something to catch on camera. Do believe that it is God's secret garden though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Buddha Garden also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Secret Buddha Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Buddha Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Secret Buddha Garden to your Saves list