We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Cove Chalet

Save Saved
You added Coral Cove Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Cove Chalet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Coral Cove Beach | Lamai, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 310 hotels in Ko Samui
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel with great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Vety nice quite hotel.we stayed in one of the bungalows.clean,well equiped. There are rwo small beaches not even 100m from the hotel.the pool is also very nice.
The restaurant is absolutely delicious et not that expensive.even if you choose to stay in a different hitel,go to their restaurant! It the best we have eaten during our whole trip in thailand! The breakfast however was not good but we had always bad experience with breakfasts in Thailand!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
67
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights.stayed in a deluxe building room.Rooms are large with nice size bathroom and balcony.The hotel is very clean and the food is nice.The beach is small and very rocky and the sea is fairly wild on this part of the beach so I would be dodgy about swimming.Was very happy with the hotel but was it worth the price in high season??NO.You can find just as nice hotels closer to everything for a fraction of the price.Just my opinion,if you want to confined to your room or by the pool for a romantic getaway then this is a great place.If you like to go out at night and socialize then you would be better staying elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spent 5 nights at CCC. The hotel offers a great view and we liked the pool area and the massage place overlooking the bay. The hotel is quite "used" and could surely use some renovation however it has its charms. Perhaps we were unlucky but in the short time we stayed we experienced a very noisy aircon, a firealarm makeing sounds as it needed new batteries (which we never got despite we called the reception) and the light in the shower went, Cleaning in the room was fine but the restaurant was quite dirty. The location was bad (if you like to go out for dinner etc) since it is located between Chaweng and Lamai so we had to take a taxi everytime we wanted to go anywhere. I find it too expensive compared to how used it is but we enjoyed our stay but would propably not return. We did not experience unfriendly staff but found most staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Rather unatractive hotel, we had a very bad experince at the hotel's restaurant. Terrible service with misleading menu and prices. Fresh fish wasn't fresh, very badly presented and served by arogant waiter, not even napkins and we were charged excepionally high price, probably 4 time more what we should have paid and no explanation. We would recommend to stay clear of this place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

On the positive side this is a very clean resort with a beautiful peaceful beach and surroundings. The restaurant staff was friendly but very expensive for Thailand. The room is quite average but the furniture is old and dated and needs serious maintenance.

The problems however started whenever we had to deal with the front desk staff. From the moment we checked in they were unfriendly and unhelpful every time we had to deal with them. This reached a climax when we asked for help with transport to the airport very early the last morning. They told us it was to late to help us with that (it was only 8pm) and that we are basically on our own in getting to the airport the next day (we had to leave at 4.30 so the chance of flagging down a random taxi on a small island we dont know was very slim and risky for going to the airport). No matter how nice we asked them for help, they made it clear with lots of bad attitude that we were on our own. We were never rude or unfriendly towards them to warrant their attitude. The checkout process was then equily unfriendly and it was clear to see the staff made comments about us in Thai to each other.

So the bottom line is that although its a beautiful resort with lots of potential, I would recommend you avoid this place at all cost if you are looking for any kind of support or friendlyness from the front desk staff while in a foreign country.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I spent there a few days, yes its isolated but its a half hour walk ( better take a flashlight or you might get killed by a car). The services, especially transport, massage and food are expensive, here they try to exploit their isolated location.
Restaurant was very unflexible and no real vegetarian options. Beach is small but nice but snorkling was impossible by bad vision and lack of wildlife. The stairs sometimes are dangerous.
The rooms are nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

if you wish a quite nice rest on the beach through the jungles its hotel for you!!there is amazing beach with much corals so you need specific shoes for swiming.the teritory of hotel is very beautiful and green,much exotic flowers and butterflies.there is nice not big swimming pool near the restaurant of hotel.the restaurant of hotel is little expensive but there is realy very nice and tastefull food, especially seafood.as the alternative there is small restaurant on the beach,its much cheaper,food is tasteful but dishes not so big as in coral cove chalet restaurant.the stuff is attentive and courteous.we stayed in Holiday Suite w jacuzzi in main building 703.its realy very big nice furnitured room with amazing seaview.but there was a disadvantage of noise from the road wich was near the building where are the holidays suites are situated.sometimes on our big nice terace with jacuzzi we had guests-small and not very small lizards=)room was cleaned very good everyday,sometimes we had new flowers in the room.to leave costly things in room was safety,nobody never took anything.realy not very nice old towels,but clean at all everyday.we took car for the rent in hotel for near 30dolars per day in hotel.we heard that often tourists have problems with rent of transport at the end,but all was ok.nobody hadnt any claims to us.its realy more safety to take a car,cause there are a lot f accidents on motobikes on the roads and also some roads are hard get by the motobike.the hotel is far away from Lamai and Chaveng.No chance to walk by foot there but if you dnt want take a car or motobike,just stay on the road and songteo will stop near you and will get you to the place you are wishing for 50bath per person.also there are a lot taxi meters but i dont know midle price for its using.Chiva spa in the hotel something expensive but value to visit any kind of spa.if you will choose this hotel you wilnt be dissapointed!=)))have a nice rest!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Cove Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Chalet

Address: 210 Coral Cove Beach | Lamai, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Cove Chalet 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coral Cove Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Cove Chalet Hotel Koh Samui
Coral Cove Chalet Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Cove Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.