We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food, stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island View Restaurant

The Island View Restaurant
Beachfront, Baan Taling Ngam | 348 Moo 3. Taling Ngam Koh Samui, Suratthani, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
0935758209
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 867 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value, good food, stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Island View offers well presented, tasty and good value food. We has veggie springs rolls with tasty dipping sauces, shrimp cocktail, fried rice, sea bass followed by ice cream. All dishes were very enjoyable. The Planters Punch cocktail was lovely too. The view of the Five Islands is stunning - this would make a great spot for sun downers follwed by an early dinner. Staff were friendly and attentive - they even offered to drive us back to our hotel after lunch. This is a great spot to visit for a lovely meal that won't break the bank.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb food in beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We discovered this Thai Beach Restaurant while staying at the The Sunset Resort Hotel Taling Ngam. On the first night we opted for the Traditional Thai set menu - Tom Yum soup, duck in red curry, crispy sea bass in coconut curry, chicken cashew nut and stirfried veg with rice. It was so good we went back most nights for the rest of the holiday. Each night Seksan and the chef would design a new menu for us on the Traditional Thai set menu - working our way through the regional foods of Thailand. The setting is superb, they service is very attentive but not over bearing and the price is really reasonable. They will collect you from your hotel if you don't have transport. I highly recommend this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar,cleveland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“sunset dinner , overlooking the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

fabulous food, thai food cooked perfectly,in a great location by the sea. I had green curry, we had happy hour cocktails too, buy one get one free , so it was super, and delicious. The staff are very friendly, and even gave us complimentary garlic bread , while we had our cocktails. We have returned several times and tried different things, all the food has been very very good, and the staff always helpful, and friendly. Just next door is the 5 islands restaurant, which is probably 5 times more expensive, and not as good food! definitely worth a visit, rather than wasting money next door ......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying at nearby Intercontinental Hotel.
This local Thai restaurant a short walk down the road or they will send a car to pick you up.
Have visited twice for dinner.
Friendly staff, clean fresh Thai food well prepared and presented, all at inexpensive price.
Tucked away on beach and not easily seen from the road but worth the effort.
Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great View, food, staff, & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We received a warm greeting and assistance with parking form our hostess. The rest aunt has beach and covered open-air dining. The restaurant was extremely clean, comfortable, and relaxing. We ate in the covered/main section of the restaurant with the beach area directly in front of us; spectacular views as the sunsets.

Our favorite dish was a flaming hot shrimp, chicken, & veggie dish. The banana/pineapple fritter desert was also great. The menu had many items with a seafood focus. Great options for non-seafood tastes and vegetarians.

The staff were attentive, friendly, and warm.

Great night out!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island View Restaurant also viewed

Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Island View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island View Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.