We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you do just one day trip...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angthong National Marine Park

Angthong National Marine Park
Gulf of Thailand, Ko Samui 84360, Thailand
+6677280222
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Angthong National Marine Park like an insider
Top Rated
$81*
and up
Sea Kayaking at Ang Thong National Marine Park...
Ranked #11 of 139 things to do in Ko Samui
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These 40 islands, spread over approximately 97 square miles in the Gulf of Thailand, are characterized by hundreds of limestone monoliths, carved into fantastic shapes by years of erosion.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you do just one day trip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

...do this one. You can choose to get there either by speed boat or the slow boat, which is what we chose. Took about 90 mins to get there from Nathon Pier. The marine park is spectacular, we took a sea kayak out and were guided around one of the larger islands by a very knowledgable but slightly impatient dutch lady (i think she was dutch anyway). The crew on the boat were great, lunch was simple but just what you needed. and in the afternoon we had the choice to kayak, snorkel, sunbathe or climb to a viewing point 500m up some challenging terrain. We chose the climb which took about 30 mins to get up but the view over the islands was fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    361
    151
    54
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Snorkeling was terrible, couldn't see a thing. Food on boat was good. Hike up to the lookout was tough but very rewarding.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Choose your operator carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went with In Sea Speedboats after reading bad comments on other operators. They delivered on all they promised. Good guide, happy staff. Basic breakfast. Good lunch. Snorkelling very ordinary. I used one of the sickness tabs that they offered before leaving as sea conditions rough. Glad I did. Canoeing was a good option. Granite rock outcrops spectacular. Emerald lake looked great. Good day overall.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Better than Phi Phi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We toured this park with 100 Degrees East. A great experience & lots of fun.
This park is clean, beautiful, quiet and un-polluted.
A definite 5 star experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good snorkelling,Kayaking and sightseeing on islands. I recommend to climb up and see Lagoon. It is emerald colour. Do not miss!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angthong National Marine Park also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Angthong National Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angthong National Marine Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.