We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dara Samui

Dara Samui
162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #382 of 890 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We ate at this hotel one night. The food and atmosphere was lovely with us sitting on the beach right beside the water. However service could be improved, it took us a long time to get our bill as no staff member was around and even after we had asked for it we were waiting a while and so went up to the bar to pay. It is also annoying that locals adults and children keep approaching you to buy things and the staff allow this to happen, although this appears to happen everywhere there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ambience good service and polite attentively staff and reasonably price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had dinner in their restaurant and the Service and attention from the staff was excellent from the moment you walk into the hotel. Great dining on the beach, food was excellent and reasonably priced. Good selection of wine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, Thailand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Romantic food at the beach side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

To celebrate a wedding annivesary I booked a table at the beach, very nice scenery and very fresh fish food, wide selection of food in all styles, nice wines and good service. You sit with your feet on the sand and the sea is at less than a meter from your table. nice decoration of the table and protected by a kind of moscito net. take your time, select yourself the fresh fish or lobster and enjoy your romantic evening.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic BeachSide Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed dining right on the water's edge at the Dara Samui. A romantic setup with each table located inside a bamboo "teepee". Service was excellent with a great seafood menu to choose from plus the usual Thai. We went for lobster, crab, tiger prawns , calamari and fish option for 2. We has the option how we wanted each seafood to be cooked. Pleasantly surprised!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best cookingclass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Took a cookingclass there and it was so much fun, and the food was amazing. The cheff was really friendly and patient with us.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dara Samui also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Dara Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dara Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.