We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Local Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Cheweng Beach, Ko Samui, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #601 of 876 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Puerto-de santiago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Basic seating and bar but the food was very good indeed, Chose the local food from the menu If it is busy then expect a long wait as they take so much care in presenting the food, which is piping hot and real spicy, which we love

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location, slow, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice location, with rooftop tables across two buildings with bridges connecting them, but very long waiting times for food, which was nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went for dinner and all enjoyed our meals. We started off with a tasting plate with different entree's and a couple of drinks which was lovely as we chatted and people watched on the street below. Then we headed off to do some shopping assuring the lady at the front that we would be back. When we did return a few hours later we all enjoyed green curry and Tom Yum soup our waiter was a lovely guy who went beyond the call off duty. He chased us up the street to return a shopping bag we had left on the seat. We would most certainly go back to the Loft next time we visit koh Samui.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unappetizing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food was bland, nothing of traditional Thai flavouring. My boyfriends dish was basically cooked in water down soy sauce (fried chicken and cashew nut) and mine was half decent (fried chicken with sweet chilli sauce) but would never go back. The venue itself is pretty neat, but aside from that I would avoid this place as there are many other hidden gems in the same price range with much tastier and more authentic flavours

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great cheap lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Read the other reviews of this place, after I've eaten my lunch at The Loft, and can't recognize any of it.

The staff was sweet, the food was great (Spring rolls and Fried pork in sweet/sour sauce with vegetables) and a couple of rice and sodas. Total bill turned out 400baht.

The place was nothing special, but overall I was happy at the end.

Would go again for a lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loft also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.