We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang Rak Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanna Samui

Save Saved
You added Lanna Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanna Samui
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   11/85 Moo 4, Soi Kalara, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Spa Treatments!!!
Ranked #7 of 310 hotels in Ko Samui
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bang Rak Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying here twice in the last two months and it keeps getting better. Cool interior furnishings; state of the art fitness; awesome pool; great spa and sauna (truly the best) and lovely restaurant with vaulted beams and open decor. It's got everything I want and need. Lanna is tucked away on a small soi and is truly a mini-oasis. You just don't see this attention to detail in this price range, ever. I give this a solid thumbs-up!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but I would pick one of the 2 upper floors just for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Lanna has been composed to provide the very best for our guests - from the award winning suite interiors to the hydrotherapy beds in the pool it is the 'extras' at Lanna which set Lanna apart from other resorts on the island - and being within easy reach of both Chaweng and Lamai as well as being just a stones throw from beautiful Bangrak Beach and the accompanying bars and restaurants, Lanna is ideally placed for guests to get the very best from their tropical island getaway...

We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

With very best wishes,

Jen and the Lanna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    48
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
131
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place pretty much has it all. Understated luxury in a peaceful setting. Our 2 bed suite was not huge but certainly big enough for us for our 5 day stay. The suite was furnished in a minimalist style with white furnishings and light wood furniture. The leather sofa was comfortable and looked out onto a small balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom is small but the shower was very nice with a huge rectangular rain shower head. The beds were comfortable and each room had its own air conditioning unit so in each bedroom you could control your own temperature. There is a fully equipped kitchen with fridge freezer and full oven and a microwave. Each floor has a lift so if you are not feeling like climbing the stairs in the heat then this is the easy way up. The pool is quite big and the water temperature very warm! It was like getting in to a relaxing bath! It is long enough to do laps or just float around. There are 4 permanent loungers semi submerged in the pool which can be turned on to make them bubble. Finding shade and finding a sun lounger was not a problem. On some days we were given complimentary juice and fruit by the pool. There is a gym and a spa. I had one massage which turned out to be complimentary due to some drilling noise taking place. What a nice gesture and the massage was lovely! We had room service a couple of times and the food was tasty and beautifully presented. Breakfast was simple but very nice. It is all ordered from an a la carte menu. I had smoked salmon with scrambled eggs most mornings, together with fresh fruit salad and toast. Again, beautifully presented.

The staff are all very friendly and will do anything to help. Alex and Edward were particularly helpful during our stay. The level of English amongst the staff was pretty good too. We met Sebastian, the new General Manager, who had only arrived during our stay. He was very personable and friendly, willing to assist in any way possible.

There are two recommendations that would have enhanced our stay but certainly did not detract from it: having a washing machine either in the suite or in a separate laundry (having everything else in the room, it was the only thing lacking) and having built in steps in the main pool. They were in the children's pool but not the main pool. The metal steps in the pool were a bit tricky to navigate!

I felt like I could live at this resort as it just felt like home. If you want a peaceful stay in Koh Samui then I would most highly recommend Lanna.

Room Tip: A higher floor will offer greater privacy. We had a top floor corner room which was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Many many thanks for such a wonderful review!

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Lanna so much!

We do everything we can to make sure that our guests have the very best time while they are with us - for any help or advice all you need to do is ask...

At Lanna we offer a full laundry service which is why we don't have washing machines in the rooms - You're on holiday and customer service is our number one priority so you can just sit back and relax and your clothes will be returned to you freshly washed and folded just as they should be...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lanna sometime soon...!

With very best wishes,

Jen and the Lanna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Having stayed at many properties developed by kalara over the last few years they just keep on improving.lanna is a great place to stay,great location very friendly staff good attention to detail on every aspect of the hotel with a fantastic swimming pool.Will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Many many thanks for your review!

As a highly valued returning guest I thInk it says it all!

If Carlsberg built property they'd be called 'Kalara!'

Guest satisfaction means everything to us and we do everything we can to have everything in place to ensure that our guest have the very best time while they are with us - nothing is too much trouble; all you need to do is ask...

Wonderful to heat that you enjoyed your time at 'Lanna' so much - and you'll be glad to celebrate with us the fact that the suites at 'Lanna' have just been awarded 'Best Interior Design: Thailand' at the highly prestigious 'Asia Pacific Property Awards 2013 - 2014' - something which we are over the moon about!

Inside and out, Lanna has been composed to provide the ideal location to get the very best from the island...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

With very best wishes,

Jen and the Lanna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were booked into their sister resort Code in Mae Nam but asked for a move due to repeated power cuts. We were moved to Lanna and it worked out very well - we were there for 3 nights.

When we arrived we were met (presumably by coincidence) by one of the owners who explained about the rolling power cuts in some parts of the island. We were offered a complimentary signature massage at the spa at Lanna, which we gratefully accepted and very much enjoyed.

Lanna is similar to Code in terms of concept and build quality. It is beautifully done, with great style and taste. It doesn't have the hillside location and is nearer to the action. The staff were excellent and so friendly - Ice on reception tries very hard with her English and was a sweet girl, and the 2 ladies at the restaurant were efficient and friendly.

We preferred Lanna for its pool - much bigger, with more sunloungers and also a better layout to receive the sun too. The food was great, very similar to Code's. The gym was excellent, with state of the art machines each with integrated iPod players and TV screens.

All in all, a very relaxing high quality place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Many thanks for such a wonderful review!

So glad to hear that you enjoyed Lanna so much!

Guest satisfaction means everything to us and we do everything we can to welcome our guests to Lanna and make sure that they have the very best time possible while they are with us...!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

With very best wishes,

Jen and the Lanna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having been to samui many times before, Lanna is most definitely the best samui has to offer. Stayed for 2 weeks. The resort is well maintained, well staffed, always happy to help. Great location, close to the beach but in a nice peaceful location away from traffic and noise. Favourite would have to be the huge pool. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Many thanks for such a wonderful review!

Lanna has been put together to provide the ideal location to get the very best from Samui and we're so glad to hear that having been to Samui many times you'd put Lanna at the top of your list of places to stay - Thank you!!!

Guest satisfaction means everything to us...!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lanna sometime soon!

Jen and the Lanna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Amazing property, great location. Pool and resort spotless. Very friendly staff and faultless experience. First time in Koh Samui, airport transfer rapid and very near by, good restaurants close by and if you fancy it some nightlife. Loved the Spa and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Yes, Lanna is ideally placed within easy reach of the airport and all to the island's attractions and entertainment, making it the perfect place for our guests to get the very best from the island while they are with us...

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

With very best wishes,

Jen and the Lanna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Island in the last 2 years. This place was recommended by some NZ friends who have a villa in the area, and it did not disappoint. Everything was very tidy and clean, obviously being new, but it was genuinly well kept and organised. When we arrived that good old fashioned thai hospitality kicked in....good sign. We always look for a hotel with a gym, spa and pool but usually at least one facility disappoints, but not here, everything was within reach and of high quality. There is a great bbq area but we did not use it. We used the restaurant twice and it was of high standard, however the curry was just a bit too spicy for us! Breakfast was excellent though. If you are looking for a pampering in a reasonably priced retreat then we would recommend this place. Will be be back? Ehhh yep!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiCode, Guest Relations Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

Great to hear that you enjoyed the facilities at Lanna so much - from the gym to the spa to the hydrotherapy beds on the pool, everything has been put in place to give our guests the very best time while they are with us...!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

With very best wishes,

Jen and the Lanna team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanna Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna Samui

Address: 11/85 Moo 4, Soi Kalara, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 310 hotels in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanna Samui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury resort of 75 interior designed suites has been composed to create the ideal location for the discerning guest looking to get the very most from their tropical island getaway. With spa, bar, restaurant, sauna, steam room, gym and magnificent huge swimming pool equipped with hydrotherapy beds - Lanna has it all... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lanna Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanna Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.