We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Restaurant on the Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relax Restaurant and Bar

Relax Restaurant and Bar
Choeng Mon beach road | 76/46 moo. 5 Bophut: Choeng Mon beach. Koh Samui THAILAND, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
878966357
Improve this listing
Ranked #345 of 794 restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Thai, Eastern European
Restaurant details
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Restaurant on the Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have to say this restaurant is the one I have enjoyed the most, ever!

Situated on the beach to the northern area of the island about 15 minutes from Bophut. You can see it from the road easily because of the huge coloured lanterns everywhere. Tables are by the sea with beautiful views of the water. They have little cabana type tables and chairs...you can have a lay down while you wait for your meal and drinks! The service was great and the staff very friendly. The food was very good and cheap, and the ambience is fantastic!

* I think, looking at some of the other reviews for this restaurant, people have it mixed up with the Relax Hotel Restaurant. So I will add some photos to show how wonderful this place! I would happily go back to Koh Samui just to re-visit this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    7
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

In my 3 visits to Samui this has to be my favourite place to eat. The staff are friendly, the food is great and reasonably priced and the location - right on the beach in Chaweng is perfect - especially during full moon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Atrocious Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There were 9 of us in our group and we settled on this place after wandering down the beach.
We ordered our drinks and 30 mins later they still hadn't turned up even though we had reminded them a couple of times and tables around us were being served. Then 3 drinks at a time turned up. We were only ordering soft drinks for the kids and beers for the adults so not complicated orders.

We then ordered our food, a mixture of entrée and mains. An hour later and still no food to be seen with the exception of one main meal that had come before the entree. We asked them several times to check on this and we got no response. We couldn't even get the kids a quick snack to keep them going. All the tables around us were getting served, albeit slowly and we noticed them complaining as well.

After 2 hours we paid for the drinks we had had and left. They begged us to stay and said it would only be another 5 mins but we were over it by this stage and kids were ravenous.

This was a very disappointing night and really the only bad experience we have ever had in Samui.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Magical evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We called in here for a quick lunch, then returned for dinner. Tables spread outside on a small promontory - overhead lights cleverly covered to appear as giant coloured jelly-fish dancing in the breeze - very wide range of good quality, moderately priced Thai food - friendly staff with good English. Just superb!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a brilliant night just listening to the sea lapping at the shore whilst watching the swaying lanterns. Food was good, not very expensive and staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relax Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 
Plai Laem, Ko Samui
Ang Thong, Ko Samui
 

Been to Relax Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relax Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.