We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, lovely owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant

Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant
Choengmon Beach Road, Ko Samui, Thailand
084 3042 665
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 867 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful food, lovely owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I just had The most wonderful indian food, chicken Kadahi! The owner is very charming. I recommend it!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“delightful and intimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

For a lovely and lively and authentic Indian repast, which comes with a warm welcome, this is the place to eat on Samui. Very good service and excellent food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good authentic Indian food with very prompt service.
Quite good value if you choose carefully but recently the bill always seems a bit more than I expected.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just the place if you love Indian food well cooked and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had met the owner when he worked in bophut but discovered his place by recommendation from my neighbour .
The welcome is always warm and friendly this is a plain simple restaurant relying on good friendly service and excellent food .i would say it matches my local curry house in the uk but at a quarter of the price would not use anywhere else in Samui.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE TO EAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is amazing,RAJ and his wife are the most amazing hosts,and the food is Excellent, tasty and lots of it, we ate here 3 times during our stay and highly recommend it,the best option is a set meal and the owner is happy to change items from the main menu if they are the same price,we found out how he came to open a restaurant in Koh Samui and about his family,it,s the best indian food i have eaten out of the UK and can't wait to visit on our return to the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.