We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Samui

Save Saved
You added Poppies Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poppies Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 310 hotels in Ko Samui
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We last visited Poppies 8 years ago and always planned on returning. Well it has taken us longer than expected but well worth the wait. The restaurant is not cheap but the food excellent. All the staff are as helpful and friendly as always and the 'cottages' a delight. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    46
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
62
204
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a five day stay at Poppies and the only thing I have to complain about was the weather!

Cottages are small but well set out, clean and tidy.

The gardens are beautiful.

The staff are very friendly and attentive.

The food is excellent.

Situated at the south end of Chaweng Beach the resort is in a great location. Nice stretch of beach which is clean and free from noise of pesky jet ski operators, etc.

Very nice boutique property ideal for a couple or family holiday.

We will definitely return - hopefully we will get some sunshine on the next visit!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

since 5 Years we spend our Vacation every February at the Poppies Samui Resort,
the Resort is a deam spot on the Island, The Service is absolutly good and arriving there is like comming home. The Bungalows are furnishe in Thai style very clean , and comfortable, the smal garden is like a tropical paradies. To have Breakfast in the morning on the Beach Restaurant overlooking the private Beach is a great start in the day. Relaxing on the privat beach, and swimming at the sea is fantastic, The Beach has no rocks and smooth entry into the water, no rocks in the water, ideal for swimmer. The Resort is on a quiet corner of the Chaweng beach, if you look for a silent place to stay ,but do not want to miss the shopping and restaurants on Chaweng the Poppies is the best place to stay. The Restaurant at the Poppies Resort is very reccomendable , delcious food and a romatic seating is perfect for the end of the day.
We can reccomend this hotel as one of the best at Samui.

Room Tip: The resort has 24 Cottages, the Garden is small and quiet , all Cottages are very good, some are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korbach, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks in Thailand and Singapore where we stayed at Poppies for 4 days. We were traveling with 2 kids and this was the first hotel where I felt the hotel treated us as 4, not 3. There were 2 extra beds in the room, four towels, and everyday they brought us all something to eat in the room (banana cake, cookies - always 4).
If you want to stay in a secluded beach or a large modern resort, this is NOT the place for you.
Poppies is small, it's on a busy beach (Chaweng is the nicest beach with fine sand and shallow water, so great for kids), and the street side has tons of stores, restaurants, bars. When you are in the resort of Poppies, it really feels like an oasis - the garden is goreous, the bungalows are nicely decorated, and the restaurant is on the beach, and it's quite serene. For us this mix was perfect. We enjoyed relaxing days on the beach where the staff prepared our louge chairs, could swim in the ocean and pool, and get drinks from the hotel bar or a snack at the restaurant. But we also had the option of buying grilled corn on the cob or pineapples from the beach vendors. The hotel had a canoe, boogie boards, volleyball, etc. for us to use. The staff came by and brought us fruit and cold ice water. And when our kids got a skin irritation (from a jelly fish or an allegy, we still are not sure), the staff prepared a scrub with local leaves and lemon juice and icea cubes to bring the swelling down and reduce the itch.
The restaurant has great food - whether steak/Western or Thai - and the amibiance in the evening is hard to beat. We were there once for dinner 12 years ago and regretted not having stayed there, so we returned this time and were not disappointed. We will go back for sure.
Re: breakfast - after all these buffets, we were happy to see an a-la-carte menu that was freshly prepared. Breakfast was possible between 7am and noon! It was plentiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Set in a beautiful tropical garden, the complex seemed a galaxy away from the more busier parts of Chaweng. We really felt well looked after from start to finish - breakfast was a real pleasure, with fresh fruit and great choices on the menu. The guys managing the beach area where always really attentive, reserving sun-loungers for us each morning. The times we ate at the restaurant, the food and service was always impeccable. The weekly drinks that the manager held for the guest was a really nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallinn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I shopped around for a hotel very thoroughly and Poppies seemed a must considering it's private, boutique and has high reviews. We moved there from Tongsai Bay, the price was almost the same and we expected something comparable on a smaller scale although it was a benchmark probably impossible to beat but our stay was truly disappointing. The hotel territory is tiny, cottages are in a lush garden but most are a little too dark (and there is a mosquito issue on the balconies), the room interior is very nice but the cottages aren't big, bathrooms are tiny and there is limited storage (at least for 2 adults and 2 children). Much in our room squeaked - the floor, the balcony door, the refrigerator, the cupboard. The service was below average and not friendly at all (with a few exceptions) - we checked in after 2 pm, our room was not yet ready, the reception staff speak almost no English and are quite apathetic. One night there were two giant cockroaches in the closet, the only response we got from receptin was yeah? the next day we talked to the European manager - he said he was sorry (but really did not seem to be) offered to have housekeeping search and spray the room or help us find another hotel and that was it. And almost everything we requested was a hassle - extra bed sheets and foot towels were removed not replaced by housekeeping, our room was sprayed twice with pest poison, but windows were left closed despite requesting them to be opened, the breakfast is from a set menu - fresh juice and fruit selection are small, the breads are dry and far past best before, there was a stapler's staple in a cinnamon roll once, we got a well done omlette on the 3rd request but hard boiled eggs were still wobbly. we also ate at the restaurant once and really do not get what makes it special - both the food and venue were average. the best part of the stay was the sandy beach and shallow water for children, we didn't touch the pool and I didn't see anybody else using it either. The hotel seemed to suit for above middle age couples though.

Room Tip: 121, 122, 103 and 104 are in the middle and have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in February when a some friends were there. This wasn't their first time, but it was ours and we weren't disappointed.

On a previous visit to Samui we stayed at another hotel but ate at Poppies one night and the food was excellent.

The hotel is made up of around 20 or so small cottages set amongst lush gardens surrounding a small but very pretty pool. Chaweng itself is a very busy part of Koh Samui so Poppies is a welcome oasis at the end of Chaweng beach. The cottages are traditional and very well done and spotlessly clean. It makes a nice change having a separate little place of your own rather than being in a large hotel.

Breakfast was included and there was a great choice all made on demand. We also had a light lunch while we were there which was equally good. Sadly, on this occasion we didn't eat dinner here which was disappointing as our friends who stayed on ate there on the last night of their trip and said it was the best meal they'd had while they were in Samui.

I'm not sure I would go back to Chaweng as I feel that it's got a bit too busy for me, which is a shame because I loved Poppies and the concept.

Room Tip: The cottages nearer the pools are the best ones in terms of location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poppies Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Samui

Address: PO Box 1, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
#12 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Poppies Samui 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Poppies Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Poppies Samui Koh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.