We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but not well maintained” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Samui Golf and Country Club

Royal Samui Golf and Country Club
Ko Samui, Thailand
660 77458449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 206 Activities in Ko Samui
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great views but not well maintained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Went around 8:30am to play 9 holes & were the first ones there. The course is hilly & fairways were very narrow. Lots of jungle on the side so any stray shot will result in a lost ball. Overall, not very well maintained. That said, significantly cheaper than the Santiburi golf course. Views at some holes were spectacular. But the course was not very accessible - drive was extremely steep involving some dirt roads. Would highly not recommend driving there on a rainy day/getting there by scooter

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great course but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I played 9 holes yesterday and the course is in a great location with amazing views

I had to hire clubs as hadnt planned on playing which cost 500 baht, this would be ok but the clubs were very old with my 7 iron a blade club and my putter rusty
I also had to rent a buggy for 500 and then buy balls n tees so for 9 holes it all came to 2100 baht

The course itself wasn't in great condition, imagine an average council course in the uk and you get the idea, you pay for the views more than anything which are great and it's definitely worth it if you can afford it just to say you played but I feel they would have been busier with prices a little cheaper

Great to say I played though

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not your average golf course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Set in the hills of Koh Samui, this is a tight and challenging golf course. If you are an average golfer, your woods will need to stay in the bag, as the course has been set up so that you need to think your way around rather than getting a long drive off the tee. Views are spectacular, but for the cost of a round here, plus club hire, and the 4wd to get there( it was almost 3000thb), I'm sure that you would prefer to sit on the beach and have a few beers. But if you really like a challenge, then this is a great challenging course to play.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a stunning course. We played here with a fairly large group and had an amazing time, none of us are serious golfers but we hacked our way through the course and were blown away by the beauty of the course and the stunning views of the island. The holes are fairly short but quite challenging, the course is quite well maintained and fun to drive around. They also provided us with some eskys on the golf buggies to keep our beer cold which was much appreciated! If you're a serious player I can understand that you might have some complaints about the course but if you're a casual player looking to have a fun hit-around then you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“alan wales”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are a serious golfer do not bother to play this course. Driver or long woods cannot be used. Blind holes and its badly designed to make it a frustrating day. All the golfers at our hotel had the same view. Cannot beleive the reviews must be connected to the club. My advise avoid at all costs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Samui Golf and Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal Samui Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Samui Golf and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.