We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Chao Baan

Krua Chao Baan
438/18 Moo.1 Maret | Nr Silangu Temple, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
077-418589
Improve this listing
Ranked #455 of 792 restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Ewa Beach, HI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just finished lunch here. It's a sleepy, casual, oceanside restaurant. We enjoyed the yum krua chao baan which included shrimp, fish, and squid as well as lovely shallots and cilantro. My chicken paneng curry had great flavor and considerable heat. It was topped with thin hot pepper strips and kaffir lime leaves. Desserts were also very good. Total bill for a large beer, Coke, 2 entrees with rice, two dessert dishes and a side scoop of ice cream was 615 Baht (a bit over $20). The only downside was very slow service. Once our food was brought to us, we were ignored until we flagged someone down. With better service, this place would be top notch. It has an outstanding view and the kitchen excels at local dishes.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    9
    14
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic, authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Highly recommended....and the prices aren't bad either. Their menu is mouth-watering and authentic. It's really easy to find - right along the Ring road, just before Lamai. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I understand if this restaurant is quite popular with the Thais, the food was very authentic local Thai cuisine though I saw some foreigners too when we were there and they seems enjoyed this place, well I have to say very good food, cheap price and perfect location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy food but it doesn't agree with us.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We went to Krua Chao Baan for lunch. The food was yummy and good price, by Thai standard. 'Yum Krua Chao Baan' was delicious. Hor Mok was also very nice and tasty. However, my partner and I did not feel well afterwards. To be on the safe side, we did not go back there again. I would not rule out this restaurant though.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our host recommended this place and I'm glad he did. When we arrived there was a high proportion of locals, which instilled a great deal of confidence. The service was quick and friendly. The menu contained most of the stock standard Thai dishes, but also a few we hadn't seen at other places. The prices of both food and drinks were a fraction cheaper than other places, but never came across an expensive restaurant in ten days. The setting was right on the water's edge, so the sea breeze was appreciated. So good that we went back a few times.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Chao Baan also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
 

Been to Krua Chao Baan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krua Chao Baan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.