We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Cafe

Magnolia Cafe
21 Moo 2, North Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 88 110 9649
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 948 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Bakeries, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Magnolia Cafe In the last 5 years, we won the love and appreciation of the locals and guests all around the world. In our menu you will find a wide selection of the most popular Thai- and Mediterranean dishes, made of fresh local ingredients and vegetable. For dessert, we offer you a selection of homemade cakes and pies, which have already become quite famous here on the island in the last few years. We hope to see you soon at Magnolia Cafe. Your team from Magnolia
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lovely food very reasonably priced. I must say the cakes there are just so delicious. The owner Dali seems like a very nice lady. Highly recommended :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After a recommendation from a friend we were delighted to find the Magnolia cafe in Chaweng that has the most delicious cakes even by London/NY standards! The food is also very good with a choice of Thai and western, perfect in our family! The place is run by the lovely Dali who is a wonderful host, always welcoming and a real character! Anyway I'm very happy to have such a good cake shop on the island, they even make proper granola!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find off the main strip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are a young couple travelling through Thailand for several weeks. We were walking through the main road of Chaweng from one end to the other and looking where to dine. After seeing many options and having many waiters beckon us into their locations for their offers and daily deals, we decided to continue further up the road until we came across this small cafe that seemed tame & quaint. The menu had similar items from other restaurants, however, the atmosphere appealed to us as they were playing salsa music and it seemed to draw us in for being different.

We ordered an appetiser of spring rolls and two main dishes from their Thai Favourites section of the menu, all of which had really good flavours and the service was pretty good. The prices were substantial and normal from the rest of Chaweng. Their fruit smoothies were pretty tasty and they are presented well with a flower on top.

Worth a visit if you are looking for some good, quick & tasty Thai food and an air-conditioned setting. They also have an outdoor seating area, however, we noticed there were quite a few smokers that would come out regularly, therefore, request an indoor seating spot to avoid being covered in smoke, if that is a concern for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Great setup targeted especially for families with kids but also relevant for the rest
Very clean, very nice atmosphere and great food&drinks. All for a very fair price.

Great to spend the time here after a good massage in the spa which is part of the same complex

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Koh Samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

To ge a liitle peace of mind from the main street and great food.
Good service and the best cakes in town.
Fresh vegetables and enough choises for everyone.
Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Cafe also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Magnolia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.