We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samui Private Exotic Villa

Magical Sunset from our verandah
Magical Sunset from our verandah
Magical Sunset from our verandah
glorious sunny day in samui
Our villa in the coconut jungle seen from the sea 10 mn walking distance
Your view when you wake up in our paradise
High ceilings living room open architecture
Ko Samui
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
watchours...
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about our stay was absolutely wonderful! First of all, the house is beyond gorgeous - both the design and the way it is decorated. The vibe is one of pure calm and relaxation. You wake up every morning with a view of the beach that just can not be beat. The room is lovely - again, well decorated (beautiful Burmese bed), with good closet space, a great DVD selection and the outdoor bathroom of the Frangipani Suite is, quite simply, awesome. Meli the housekeeper is sweet and so helpful, plus she's an incredible cook - I will forever be craving her mango salad.

We wanted a week of peace and quiet, and the location is perfect for this. If you're heading to Koh Samui for nightlife and drinking, this rental is not for you - its (perfectly) far away from the party spots. But if want a blissful beach escape, look no further. You definitely need to rent a car if you stay here, because its on a steep hill and away from the fray, but that's part of what makes it so wonderful. And with a car nothing on the island is more than 30 minutes away, although you don't have to go much farther than 10. There's a pool on the grounds for all the houses, but we were the only people there every time we went, so you basically have a private pool.

Finally, Frederique and Patrick are amazing hosts and people. They gave us fabulous recommendations for the best beaches, markets, massages and restaurants - we had the insider, local line on everything, which made our trip even better! Despite a 30 year age difference between us, we can honestly say that by spending the week at the villa, we made new friends in Frederique and Patrick. I could gush on and on about how fascinating and kind they are, and I look forward to the day our paths cross again. And yet, we had every inch of privacy that we needed. They are very much in tune with your needs and only interact with you if and when you are up for it, so this is a great rental whether you're looking for solitude OR you like to meet new people! My only regret about our visit is that we didn't stay longer.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Wendi86
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Skip the hotel & go for a real delightful, unspoiled tropical paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Frangipani Suite, located on the southern tip of Koh Samui, Thailand a top a small hill overlooking the sea, was a delight. Each night, wrapped in soft sheets with the breeze coming in the room, I fell asleep to the sounds of the jungle or the tropical rain. Each morning I woke to see, from the foot of my bed, the ocean and Koh Samui's coast line.

The proprietors -- Patrick and Frederique, have designed and executed an architecturally delightful house and had the good will to include a secluded, private suite overlooking their hillside garden and the ocean. I walked in the garden each day and marveled at the amazing plants and creatures. Glistening green everywhere.

Frangipani Suite is tucked away from the crush and bustle of the touristic machine further north and for my taste, that was a treat. For a whole week I wrapped myself in a luxury villa setting--pool included, pristine nature, and experienced the verdant and luscious life Thailand has to offer, if you know where to look for it.

The suite is a large bedroom with floor to ceiling windows facing the ocean, a private spa inspired bath, continental breakfasts made of fresh, healthy foods, and a private patio to marvel at the surroundings, which all combined helped me to rest and revel. The bedroom includes a small fridge, a bevy of local, insider tips and directions that Frederique and Patrick have provided for guests, and for the few nights I was just too tired to move a muscle (the whole point of vacation), they provided an excellent supply of DVDs to choose from.

Lamai is only a ten to fifteen minute car ride away from Frangipani if you decide you need a little bump and grind. Closer by, just a few minutes outside Frangipani's hillside estate setting are easily reached, tucked away, charming restaurants and beaches, not to mention world class spas and yoga retreats if that is your thing.

Skip the hotel and go for a really delightful, unspoiled tropical paradise. Book Frangipani.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
se78Copen...
copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a very personal experience and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Live in a comfortable scenic villa on the hills.
The treck to the villa is the only downside as you have to walk unless you have a four wheal drive or someone to pick you up. The view is outstanding and the service and personal approach is unique. A relaxing and laid back experience for couples and single travellers alike.

3 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with teenagers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Make Inquiry
Owner
Frederique D
66 892908579
Speaks English, French
Listed since : May 2011
Response Rate: 25 %
Response Time: Within a week
Calendar Updated: 175 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing