We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great craic and atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Bar and Restaurant

Emerald Bar and Restaurant
61 Fishermans Village | Bophut, Ko Samui 8200, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 814 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Chippenham, Wilts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great craic and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Came in here just to take the weight off one night and enjoy a pint, it soon became a local of sorts for our 2 week visit. The manager was very attentive and put the MotoGP on for us. The staff are brilliant. Ami is a little darling who speaks very good English and Bom is also a gem. Definitely worth a visit when the chilli and garlic are becoming too much for the old digestive system :0)
The club sandwich is fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    31
    10
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We were happen to be at Emerald on Songkran night as other shops around were all closed. Surprisingly, we love everything there. Choices of drinks, great serving portion of tasty food with noises of waves. Most importantly staff were all friendly but highly efficient.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Emerald bar has the best service ever,I've not eaten here but the service for drinks is super quick mad they are very friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“I wish I had eaten here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I did not eat here but I did drink there and I have to chime in, just a wee bit. First, beautiful location looking out over the sea. Service is spot on without exception. Friendly, on top of their game, get it right the first time and very quick. Obviously well trained. They have Kilkeny's on tap. That's it. I need nothing more. My guess is their food is better than passable as well. To the manager, owner, whatever...the ladies you have working in your pub are some of the best I have encountered in Asia, period. Very well done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Pub and Great Craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been here a few times, great place to hang out, sometimes they have great live music. If you go with family or friends it is perfectly suited for both. Food is wonderful and very home made. Don't miss it if your in this part of the world. Well done to George, Jimmy and the team.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Chaweng, Ko Samui
 

Been to Emerald Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.