We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great craic and atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Bar and Restaurant

Emerald Bar and Restaurant
61 Fishermans Village | Bophut, Ko Samui 8200, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 876 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Chippenham, Wilts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great craic and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Came in here just to take the weight off one night and enjoy a pint, it soon became a local of sorts for our 2 week visit. The manager was very attentive and put the MotoGP on for us. The staff are brilliant. Ami is a little darling who speaks very good English and Bom is also a gem. Definitely worth a visit when the chilli and garlic are becoming too much for the old digestive system :0)
The club sandwich is fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We were happen to be at Emerald on Songkran night as other shops around were all closed. Surprisingly, we love everything there. Choices of drinks, great serving portion of tasty food with noises of waves. Most importantly staff were all friendly but highly efficient.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Emerald bar has the best service ever,I've not eaten here but the service for drinks is super quick mad they are very friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“I wish I had eaten here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I did not eat here but I did drink there and I have to chime in, just a wee bit. First, beautiful location looking out over the sea. Service is spot on without exception. Friendly, on top of their game, get it right the first time and very quick. Obviously well trained. They have Kilkeny's on tap. That's it. I need nothing more. My guess is their food is better than passable as well. To the manager, owner, whatever...the ladies you have working in your pub are some of the best I have encountered in Asia, period. Very well done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Pub and Great Craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been here a few times, great place to hang out, sometimes they have great live music. If you go with family or friends it is perfectly suited for both. Food is wonderful and very home made. Don't miss it if your in this part of the world. Well done to George, Jimmy and the team.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.