We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise on earth!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Springs Forest Spa

Tamarind Springs Forest Spa
205/7 Moo 4, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
+66 (0) 77 230 571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 56 Spas & Wellness in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are many Koh Samui spa resorts, but Tamarind Springs Forest Spa at Lamai - Koh Samui’s tranquil and picturesque East coast - offers you a unique Thailand holiday and spa experience:* Seek ultimate spa relaxation at Thailand’s first dedicated Day Spa on Koh Samui* Get away from it all. Unwind and experience unique Koh Samui accommodation in private villas, surrounded by tropical gardens, in close proximity to our magnificent spa facilities and just a short walk to Lamai beach* Learn massage at Thailand’s first dedicated professional massage training academy on Koh Samui * Enjoy healthy and home-made food at Tamarind Springs’ open-air Spa CaféTamarind Springs Forest Spa on Koh Samui is inspired by its superb location, bordering Lamai’s tropical forest interior, where lush coconut groves gently slope into a valley of huge granite boulders. Built out of love and respect for Koh Samui’s unique landscape, every effort has been made to fluidly integrate all man-made structures of this serene and exclusive Samui spa into Lamai’s indigenous surroundings. In 2008, Tamarind Springs Forest Spa on Koh Samui was awarded both “The Award of Outstanding Performance for Health Tourism” by the Tourism Authority of Thailand, and “Asia Spa’s” highly coveted “Day Spa of the Year Award for Excellence” .
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise on earth!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place amazing facilities awesome body massage!!!! Taste the real Thai massage realease your body and your mind to the tropical sounds!!! Paradise on earth!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    44
    11
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A paradise in Koh Samui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an extraordinarily expensive spa in Koh Samui. There's a spa or massage shop on every corner offering massages for about 300 baht, in comparison, we spent over 5,500 baht per person for the Thai massage and steam package. But I would still recommend going once, at least for the experience (because at this price you are better off going elsewhere for normal spa needs)

It was very relaxing to get away and go to the spa for four hours. It's happily situated on a hill with lots of trees away from the busy roads. They did a wonderful job designing the spa; all of the facilities and walkways felt like they were a natural extension of the current terrain. I saw tons of butterflies and birds. Everything was in harmony and the scenery was beautiful. It wasn't five-star luxury and the pools were a bit small, but it was a good balance of nature and comfortable amenities. I loved the complimentary snack area for the steam, the food wasn't that great but it was all presented beautifully. The massage... It was quite painful sometimes (I don't know if its supposed to hurt) but it was nice overall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
470 helpful votes 470 helpful votes
“Fabulou$ Concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A Forest Spa - what a fabulous concept.

On arrival you are met at the first of two receptions were your booking is confirmed and your instructed to turn off all devices and take no photos. On to the second reception where your treatment is discussed and your taken to the dressing rooms.

An hour and a alf wandering from one 'secret' pool to the next intermingled with cave saunas and herb infused saunas and then up the side of the mountain for a massage under a series of wooden platforms that capture the lovely afternoon breezes. We took the 'twice as nice' treatment - it was lovely but personally I'd opt for an oil massage next time.

The only downside to this enter experience was the terrible selection of music to massage by - a total aesthetic disconnect. Small thing but across a couple of hues it becomes really grating.

Would we recommend this spa? For sure! Would we recommend it for a return visit? Not so much - this is an extraordinarily expensive spa experience on an island where extraordinarily good spa experience abound... At less cost.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nature at its best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Dear Tamarind Spa,

My wife and I were lucky enough to spend 4 hours at the Tamarind spa a few years ago. Being a South African male-I was not too sure about the whole massage pampering experience. I just want to say that it was the best decision I made. The experience was out of this world. From the hot springs to the outdoor stations, to the experienced staff, to the cool breeze and the sounds of nature, everything was just perfect.
Every holiday since, I have been on a quest to find a similar experience—I’m afraid to say nothing comes close—full stop!!
I hate the fact that you can be surrounded by lush forests with crystal blue waters and a royal blue sky-and still be lead indoors to a minimalistic, cold, manmade room to have your treatment! Why are there not more spas taking advantage of their natural surroundings!! Are people really more comfortable in a closed room with a CD playing music in the background?
We have another trip to Thai land coming up, unfortunately we will not be able to go back to Koh Samui to enjoy the Tamarind experience -we have to explore other areas!
I know it’s probably cheeky of me to ask, but can you PLEASE recommend a similar spa in Phuket—if there are any? I’m so tired of being disappointed!
My wife and I will greatly appreciate your knowledge on this matter!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Can find better spas than this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The place does not look like the advertisement pictures. There are two steam rooms, each with a tiny pool next to it and a relaxation area with another small pool. It's a nice place but takes about 30 minutes drive on a motor bike from Chaweng beach. We expected it to be more exciting and unique but it feels to artifical. We enjoyed the stay, but we will not come back again.
PS : for some reason they don't allow taking cameras inside which was VERY annoying. Maybe they don't want people to see what the place really looks like...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindForestSpa, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Tamarind Springs Forest Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience with other travelers. We appreciate that you found the time to mention that you enjoyed the stay, despite finding some aspects that may have left you disappointed. Let me briefly comment on those: We are very proud of the natural beauty of our place and try to create photography that really reflects this beauty and the overall atmosphere of a visit to our spa. All photography we use in advertising is completely genuine and authentic and not enhanced artificially in any way.

The reason we do not allow cameras and phones in our spa are as follows: we promise a unique & natural experience with maximum privacy, relaxation and tranquility. We ensure that our visitors are completely at ease when taking a dip in our rock plunge pools or visit the two herbal steam caves, or relax into a long massage. Being in the presence of someone wielding a camera would most definitely disturb the comfort and peace of others significantly. The same applies for phones of course – we believe that our guests when giving themselves the gift of time, and leaving their to-do lists, commitments and phone calls behind, have an unforgettable relaxation experience.

We regret that not being able to take pictures annoyed you but we hope that you understand our reason. Please enjoy the rest of your stay on our beautiful island and we sincerely hope to welcome you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Springs Forest Spa also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Tamarind Springs Forest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Springs Forest Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.