We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT OF THE WORLD EXPERIENCE AT BANYAN TREE SAMUI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Samui

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99/9 Moo 4, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 310 hotels in Ko Samui
A TripAdvisor Member
“OUT OF THE WORLD EXPERIENCE AT BANYAN TREE SAMUI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent location complemented by superb service & hospitality. Well maintained Deluxe Pool Villa & eye soothing landscaping. Out of the world SPA. Wonderful therapists. Good food. Nice Ambience. Children also enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Samui for your holiday and for taking the time to share your comments. I am thrilled to read that you had a rejuvenating stay while enjoying the comfort of your Deluxe Pool Villa, nestled at the foot of our private hillside and surrounded by lush greenery along with the sounds of local wildlife. It is also fantastic that you were able to delight in the tender touch of the therapists at our world-class Banyan Tree Spa as well as to dine at our various restaurants throughout the resort. It is wonderful that each combined for a relaxing stay.

Thank you once again for staying with us and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome your family back for another memorable holiday on Samui.

With kind regards,

Remko Kroesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    77
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
138
389
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We checked into Banyan Tree to celebrate our wedding anniversary n the whole experience was nothing short of breath-taking.

When we opened the door to our villa bedroom; on the bed were Happy Wedding Anniversary made from rose petals n flower buds. The bath-tub was also littered with rose petals. There was also a bottle of red wine, a bowl of fresh fruits sitting on the coffee table n a small bouquet of roses. I thought something like that only happens in movies! Kudos to the housekeeping team who put in such efforts to mark a magical moment.

The villa came with its own pool and the shower room has both the normal shower head as well rain shower. There is also a big bath tub with foam bath, bath salts n bath oil offered in pretty jars.

I always looked forward to the early evenings when they came to turn down the beds, leaving a small gift on the bed and burning essential oil in the room.

We had the service of a very efficient n warm butler, WI, who arranged for us the buggy to bring us about, made dinner reservations for us n gave suggestions for what to order for room service.

Even though the property only has 3 F&B outlets but the breakfast served at The Edge was lavish with champagne thrown in. You can see breathtaking views of the bay n the property. Every breakfast n lunch at The Edge is a visual and culinary treat.

For the money they charged, the management did their best to match with service. I am most impressed that when I requested for something, the staff ranging from waitresses, front desk staff, staff manning the marine centre; replied with "certainly" instead of "yes". This sums up the service culture of Banyan Tree!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear ailuiyou,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui, your Sanctuary for the Senses!

Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Samui for your anniversary and for extending such gracious comments regarding your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to find the perfect setting for your special occasion and that we were able to exceed your expectations.
I am always thrilled to hear that our guests felt the special touches provided by our team and it is fantastic that our Housekeeping team was able to delight you in special ways including the special arrangement upon arrival, the relaxing fragrance of our essential oils as well as the special bedside treats and small gift provided each evening.

It is great that your Villa Host, Wi, and our entire team met your each and every need in a warm, discrete manner and that your stay with us was relaxing from arrival through to departure. Our breakfast buffet at The Edge continually receives praise and it is great that you were delighted with the variety of selections on offer while taking in the out-of-this-world views of the Gulf of Thailand.

ailuiyou, thank you once again for staying with us. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the future and to deliver another memorable and relaxing holiday.

With kind regards,

Remko Kroesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

An excellent experience well worth the price. This is what a five star experience should be. Nothing was too much trouble! The welcome from the meet and greet and limousine transfer from the airport to the greeting check in made you feel special. The villa set in a quiet and lush setting made it feel if you were away from everyone else. The setting and facilities of the villa were amazing. A couple of small maintenance points where the reading lights above the bed were the wrong way round and the rain shower only had three panels working. The ambience made up for it though.
The breakfast restaurant, The Edge had spectacular views of the bay and the selection was good. Would have been better if the staff asked what you wanted rather than assumed. Had pancakes but was not asked if wanted bacon with it. Had to help myself and change it to a larger plate. On the first and second day, the service on the terrace was great and the staff remembered our drink choice...green tea. On the third day, the staff changed and so did the service...slow and inadequate. Empty plates left for ages and had to be asked to be cleaned. Had to take teapot into the restaurant ourselves to get it refilled. Male waiter seemed to be bit lost and was very slow and not aware of his guests. German lady supervisor was ineffective. Came to ask how was everything and when told her about the slow service on the terrace did not do much about it. Disappointed at service on that morning.
Spa treatments amazing. Well trained staff who were excellent in their skills. Recommended the right treatments. The relaxing time with complimentary fruit and tea was a lovely touch.
Dinner at Saffron was amazing. It was a birthday celebration and the villa host Wi had arranged the best table on the terrace. Amazing views. Service attentive and great. Food out of this world. Best Thai food I have ever tasted. Well cooked and aromatic without being overpowering. The choice of 4 different types of rice brought to the table was a nice touch as was the complimentary appetiser and sorbet. A lovely cake was also arranged and was made to feel very special...cake was lovely as well!!
Villa host Wi also went out of her way when wanted to purchase an oil burner and the only ones that they had in the spa and gallery were not the right colour. She managed to get the one that I wanted to purchase and came up to show me the item before packaging it. Lovely stay and would definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear PKKC,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui!

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your comments with us. I am delighted to read that you had a relaxing stay and that your villa as well as the quiet atmosphere of our private bay suited your desires perfectly. I am pleased that your Villa Host, Wi, met your each and every need in a warm, attentive manner including finding the oil burner in the colour of your liking to serve as a special memento of your time with us.

The breakfast buffet at The Edge features a wide range of selections coupled with an incredible view overlooking the Gulf of Thailand. Although you found the cuisine on offer to be suitable, I regret to learn of the incidents which you experienced including the inconsistent level of service from our team. These were obvious shortfalls on our side and I wish to reassure you that I have already addressed the areas which you discussed with our management to prevent future recurrences. I trust from your comments that these isolated incidents did not mar your overall perception of our resort and that your stay was wonderful nonetheless.

Our award-winning Banyan Tree Spa delivers incredible treatments and it is great that you were able to experience this during your stay. From the helpful recommendations by our receptionists to the tender touch of our therapists, specially trained at our Banyan Tree Spa Academy, to the refreshments served at the conclusion of your treatment, I am happy that all combined for a rejuvenating experience.

Saffron, our signature Thai restaurant, set in an ideal location with stunning views of our private bay serves contemporary Thai cuisine with a modern twist and I am thrilled that we were able to deliver a memorable birthday celebration for you.

PKKC, thank you once again for staying with us and for your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our resort for your next holiday.

With kind regards,

Remko Kroesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After many years of considering it, my wife and I finally decided to try a Banyan Tree resort for a relaxing and romantic long-weekend away. The brand always appealed, but we selected different resorts so far. From booking until arrival at our villa, everything went smooth and with great service. Our villa host Geng handled every request and answered every question we had. Service level and proficiency of the staff overall at this resort is clearly higher than at many others on Samui and nothing seems too much trouble. Our Ocean Pool Villa did have an ocean view, but not uninterrupted. Privacy was pretty good as we had villa A11, pretty much at the side of the resort. The villa was in good condition, probably recently touched-up, as most of the paintwork looked fresh and clean. Villa interior is spacious with decent living area, spacious bedroom, followed by a comfortable bathroom with bath, spacious shower and walk-in wardrobe. A nice but small pool in front of the villa and a partial decking with outdoor seat and separate sunbed with glass-paneled fence, which made it even on cloudy days almost unbearable to sunbath, as the glass-panel protect you from the ever-present breeze when you relax on the sunbeds. Many other reviewers have already commented that the resort is built against the hills surrounding the bay, which makes it very unappealing to walk between your villa and the resort facilities, restaurant/s, gym and pool. The resort provides golf-buggy services, which you need to call for. Occupancy was low (approx. 30-40%) when we stayed there, so often we only waited 3-5 minutes for a buggy to arrive. Only once or twice did we wait for more than 10 minutes. We had a Rainforest Hydrotherapy included in our package and I must admit that this was a great and fairly unique spa experience. We both really enjoyed that.

So none of the above would have caused us to call this review of our stay disappointing, except for the frustrations we had to experience during lunch and dinner in the restaurants (breakfast buffet is really nice, though). Only on our first day, we enjoyed really nice lunch (at Sands) and dinner (at Saffron). Every other lunch and dinner was a disappointment as most of the dishes had to be sent back and we actually never ate out main course at the same time due to that. For dinner on our last night at the resort, we opted to go to Saffron again, as our first dinner there was great. This time however, my wife's main course (steamed fish) arrived at the table nearly cold. The waitress took it back to the kitchen immediately and it arrived again at the table 3 minutes later, magically re-heated!! Quite obvious, as the fish had dried out and the piece that my wife took a bite from when it was first served, was cleverly hidden underneath the vegetables. WTF? We insisted on a new plate, freshly steamed and hot, which arrived 15 minutes later and by that time I had already finished my - fairly dry and chewy - roast duck main course. I didn't want to send that one back as well, as we were both so irritated by that time that I didn't want to have another conversation with the - by then - clearly embarrassed floor staff. Our waitress couldn't apologize enough and desert was on the house. On our way back to the villa we requested our villa host to have the general manager available at check-out time the next day for some feedback about our disappointing meals experience. A late check-out was already arranged to accommodate us and the GM actually approached us before check-out, just when we sat down for our last lunch, this time at the Edge restaurant. We shared our disappointment and frustration about the meal experiences and I cannot stress enough how important it was that he took appropriate measures to compensate us for this terribly frustrating experience. Unfortunately, even that last lunch saw most things go wrong and we actually had to laugh about the whole situation when we left the lunch restaurant to check-out and head back to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear RvdE,

Please accept my sincere gratitude for your decision to choose Banyan Tree Samui for your weekend getaway and for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased to read that your booking was handled smoothly and that your Villa Host, Geng, was able to accommodate your needs upon arrival. It is great that you found your Ocean Pool Villa to be spacious and comfortable, and that the majority of your stay was relaxing and rejuvenating.

It was a pleasure to meet you both in person. As I had just returned to our resort after a business trip away, I was unaware of the full details regarding your dissatisfaction and, after listening to you, I immediately decided without questioning to “do the right thing” so as to reinstate your trust in Banyan Tree.

After personally investigating your claims with our Executive Chef and Director of Food & Beverage, I learned that, during your time spent at our dining outlets, you did not capitalize on the opportunity to alert our senior Food & Beverage management, who were on duty during the entire weekend, in regards to your displeasure. Having done so, would have provided us with the chance to rectify the situation.

RvdE, I regret that even after my personal intervention, actions and discussion with you before you checked out, we missed the opportunity to convert you into being Banyan Tree ambassadors.

With kind regards,

Remko Kroesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is not really a standard 'hotel' it's better to think of this place as a set of serviced villas with some central amenities. We spent most of our time in our own room/villa (which is beautiful) but you need to be looking for this type of trip - i.e. not looking for socialising/'buzzing' atmosphere. It really isn't a resort for families, there are no facilities, the pool areas in the villas would be a total hazard, even the buggies are 2 seaters.

We had a lovely stay here and as a 'get away from it all', on your own, lots of time just the two of you in a really nice environment and room type of holiday this is great. But if you want 5 star service/food/spa or a buzzing, hotel type experience it's not the right hotel.

Certainly things to improve but overall a really nice place to chill out together and one we'd return to. Thanks for a nice trip.

Detailed comments below...

Situation/Location:
Overall this is a really beautiful resort looking out over a gorgeous bay with a private little beach and well kept, rainforest type greenery throughout. It is under the flight path but there aren't enough flights for this to be a major issue. It's also about 20 minutes from the main beach/drag so not ideally located if this is what you are after.

Rooms:
Really stunning - this is what this resort is all about. Villa quality and size is superb, private pool is actually usable and a decent size (we've often found private pools to be more of a dunking pool in the shade but this is actually big enough for swimming and ours has views of the resort and sea below). Bathroom is lovely - massive bath again looking out over the sea and boyfriend says the rainforest shower is great! You can open the doors from the sitting room and bedroom straight onto the pool which is also fun. Word of warning: villa privacy massively varies, we were very fortunate on the 'D' road to not be overlooked and if this is something that matters to you then ask before you come. Also 100% avoid entry level rooms, they are at the bottom of the resort 'in the rainforest rather than looking over it!' as my boyfriend put it - so the feeling of space and scenery is really missing versus the other catagories.

Hotel amenities:
I think if you like a luxury 'resorty' feeling then this isn't the place - no buzzing bar, no kids club... Reiterate really that it's a collection of villas and most people seem to spend their time in the villa, you can go for days without seeing other couples... This was a bit of a surprise to us but actually it's been brilliant and meant it's really relaxing. Spa is okay - not the best we've been to... Not Four Seasons type of quality... experience feels a bit amatuer (the staff were taking photos of each other running around in the decorational pool on one visit). We've read some positive comments about the rainforest - this isn't something we'd recommend to be honest, it's pretty gimmicky. Beach looks lovely - we've not really used it as we've liked our room and it's a bit of a hassle getting to the other facilities - actually we should mention this here, the buggies!! You pretty much have to get a buggy anywhere (breakfast, spa etc etc) they are very quick in none peak times but around meals you wait c10 minutes, it's not exactly a hardship but it does add another barrier to go anywhere really...

Food:
We felt this was the weakest part of the hotel and stay. Restaurants have lacked atmosphere and consistancy and we increasingly ate on our own terrace as it's no more expensive and we didn't really get the dining out experience in the restaurants. Food is three star, really not great but to be fair it's not expensive either. Had a bad experience at Sands ordering whole lobster which arrived 10 mins after my partners meal and was then undercooked and thus we didn't eat it in the end... the basic food is actually much better - opt for pizzas/spring rolls/pad thais etc... the Thai restaurant is the best, Saffron.

With regards breakfast, it's very catered towards the Asian market in terms of choice (I guess conciously so given their guests) but other options were lacking - I had toast and honey every day and I would normally make more of a buffet! Also service wise, little things like having to ask every time you want more tea/coffee seem a bit basic and given the number of staff working I can't see why this isn't part of the standard service. Not a 5 star breakfast by any means, it's like a 3/4 star hotel here.

Service:
Very patchy!! Lovely people and friendly but if it wasnt for this you'd get pretty tired of it very quickly... Some examples, they phone saying 'can we come and collect plates in 10 minutes' you say yes and no one turns up for hours. They attempt to do turn down at 5.30pm every day and every day we said can you do 7.30pm (after 4 days we gave up and just sat outside while they did it but we felt other hotels time this better for dinner/learn from requests on previous days)... We had a plate of crossaints left in our room, not cleared for 4 days, we then lay it out very clearly to be taken away and they just hid it behind an armchair! Anyway, there have been loads of examples of this!! Again, this stops it being a 5 star resort in our view but as we say, lovely people so you don't get too fed up with it!!

So in summary, great place to stay if you're relaxed about attention to detail in terms of service and basically all you want is solitude in a lovely villa on a beautiful island. It is a stunning place and we would come back again we just wanted to highlight the type of resort it is as we (at least) weren't quite aware of this before we came...

Room Tip: Definitely try to avoid the entrance level villas (no sea view): not only are the views were but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear EKPip,

Greetings from Samui, your Sanctuary for the Senses!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer your comments. I am pleased to read that you found our property to be beautiful, including the lush gardens throughout the resort, and our location overlooking our private bay to be relaxing. It is fantastic that you enjoyed the design of your villa as well as the amenities included and felt comfortable throughout your stay.

I regret to learn of your disappointment with various aspects of your stay including the cuisine and service at our restaurants as well as service standards which were not adequately met. These instances were obvious shortfalls on our behalf and we wish to assure you that we have taken heed of your valuable comments and have already applied these regrettable incidents into our training to ensure that our staff remain more attentive to our guests needs.

EKPip, thank you once again for your stay with us. We hope these few incidents you experienced do not mar your overall perception of our brand and we do hope you will honor us with a return visit to our property and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.

With kind regards,

Remko Kroesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love, love, love Banyan Tree Koh Samui! It was absolutely incredible. Loved every minute of our stay! Wow is all I can say. The service, the gorgeous views, the stunning hilltop villa...perfection!!! If you are looking for a secluded resort with amazing service, you must stay here. We stayed in the Hillcrest Pool Villa and it was worth every penny. We never left during our stay. We barely left our villa as we had everything we needed and wanted. We ate at all of the restaurants on property and had room service a few times for lunch and dinner. Food was very good! We also went to the gym each day and practiced yoga with the instructor there. What a great workout we had with him! I can't say enough about how fantastic the entire resort is....truly beautiful.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Hilltop Pool Villa - Worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear K M,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui!

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent trip to Samui and for sharing your comments with us. I am delighted to read that you felt comfortable in our resort and that the service from our team exceeded your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that provides added motivation for our team to continue delivering the highest of standards and I have already shared this with all.

From the stunning views of your Hillcrest Pool Villa to the attentive service throughout the resort to the cuisine on offer at our various dining outlets to the enjoyment of our yoga classes, I am thrilled that each combined to create a relaxing and memorable escape for you.

K M, thank you once again for staying with us and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the future to deliver another holiday to remember.

With kind regards,
Remko Kroesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I are currently staying here on honeymoon and we have both fallen in love with the place.

Who this place should appeal to: Honeymooners and couples wanting a romantic holiday.
Who it won't appeal to: Families with young children, those that get bored easily, those that like to be active whilst on holiday.

Banyan Tree in Koh Samui really is as beautiful, picturesque and tranquil as the holiday brochures and travel websites suggest it is. On our arrival we were shown around the complex and at every turn both my wife and myself kept saying 'wow' to everything we saw. This was particularly the case when we were welcomed to our private villa.

All of the villas are completely private, and very modern yet all have been designed and furnished with Thai influences. The villas comprise of a lounge, large bedroom and bathroom and the first thing you notice is that each room has floor to ceiling windows that overlook the large infinity pool.

The best features of inside the villas are:
1. Fast free Wi-Fi
2. 2 large televisions showing channels from across the globe
3. Quiet air conditioning that can be set to different temperatures in each of the 3 rooms
4. The large sliding glass doors in the bedroom that open onto the infinity pool with the most amazing view of the ocean beyond that.
5. Ultra modern bathroom with a double sized deep/long bath, a fantastic waterfall shower, double sink area with international plug sockets.

Outside the villa we had our own hot tub (unsure whether all villas come with a hot tub), 2 large sunbeds overlooking the ocean, and a 'pod' for 2 people to relax in on a separate deck. There is also a dining table.

What we love about this place...
1. On arrival we were given a mobile phone with a direct number to our 24 hour 'butler' who we have called to arrange dinner reservations etc. Our butler "Bobo" has been absolutely amazing! She attended to every need and even took the initiative to check the status and confirm our departure flights without being prompted. Her attention to detail and service is "first class"!
2. From the villas you can see the entire complex but due to its hillside location you call for a buggy to take you from your villa to the hotels restaurants, private beach, spa etc. The buggy has never taken more than 5 minutes to arrive.
3. The service from EVERYONE has been outstanding. OK so some of the English of the resort staff hasn't always been perfect but their smiles and the respect they have shown to us more than compensates for this.
4. The private beach and pool are peaceful, spotlessly clean and the staff working in these areas have attended to all of our needs.
5. The sea is AMAZING. The clearest water I have ever seen in my life and the sea water is warm and comfortable!!
6. The breakfast buffet is great with so many options (both western and Asian tastes are catered for). We have also eaten at the Saffron restaurant where I enjoyed the best meal of our trip so far. The service at this restaurant was truly exceptional.

In the 5 days we have been here we have joked that there must be at least 1 negative about this place and the honest truth is that there isn't!! Last night our hot tub started to automatically empty but after a quick call to our 'butler' an engineer was on site within 10 minutes and soon had it fixed.

What we would recommend...
1. Our villa was called an Ocean Pool Villa and we highly recommend this option. We stayed in Villa #G06 and it was located on the hill with perfect views. We would have been gutted not to have had a view of the ocean and we've noticed that some of the villas located lower down the hillside only have partial or no ocean views.
2. We got the free shuttle bus that leaves from the hotel each morning at 11am to visit the local town. We bought our Rolph Loraine and Lacosta polo shirts and Guchi purses and we sampled some of the local food being sold by the street vendors and had the best Thai massages of our trip.

This is truly a 5 star resort. If Trip Advisor allowed us to rank this hotel higher, we would!!

Thank You to all at Banyan Tree for making the first leg of our honeymoon so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Choose Ocean Pool villa or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Ben S,

Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Samui as part of your honeymoon and for sharing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read comments such as yours and I am thrilled that your stay with us has been relaxing and rejuvenating.

Our resort features a range of villa locations including those perched on the hillside which command stunning views of the Gulf of Thailand as well as those nestled in the lush gardens of our resort which deliver a wonderful sense of peacefulness amidst the quiet sounds of nature. It is great that you found your Ocean Pool Villa to be comfortable and well-suited to your needs.

I am also delighted to hear that your Villa Host, Bobo, has attended to your each and every desire and that you felt the care of our associates who continually work hard to ensure that all guests receive the special attention that they deserve.

From the pristine waters of our private bay to the variety of cuisine on offer at our breakfast buffet at The Edge to outstanding Thai selections at Saffron, our signature Thai restaurant, to the convenience of our buggies and shuttle bus, I am pleased that each has combined to provide you with a memorable start to your honeymoon.

Ben S, thank you once again for staying with us. Congratulations to the both of you on your marriage and I wish you nothing but happiness as you journey through life together. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Samui for a future anniversary or any occasion.

With kind regards,

Remko Kroesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Samui

Address: 99/9 Moo 4, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#24 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Samui 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a pristine private beach, the 88 all-pool villa Banyan Tree Samui features the best elements of a tropical getaway with the convenience of being just 19 km from Samui International Airport. Overlooking the sapphire waters of scenic Lamai Bay, the resort is nestled in a series of cascading terraces on a private hill cove in the south-eastern coast of Koh Samui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banyan Tree Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Samui Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.