We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Samui

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99/9 Moo 4, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 310 hotels in Ko Samui
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing...Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Before arriving at Banyan Tree Samui, my husband and I had been traveling for a week at Hong Kong. Hong Kong is a place for total excitement. When we arrived at Koh Samui, we just wanted to unwind and relax. Banyan Tree Samui was the perfect place for doing that. When we first stepped into the resort, we were so impressed by the breathtaking sea view and it was beautiful. The resort had a simple contemporary Thai design which blended naturally with its environment.

We had a Deluxe Pool Villa without an ocean view. We didn't mind at all since we could see the ocean from almost everywhere in the resort. Our villa had a beautiful garden view with great privacy. At night, we could see lights shining through from other villas on the mountain slope. It was an oasis of serenity. Later, we also found out our villa was perfectly located. Banyan Tree Samui is huge and everyone needs buggy service to travel around the resort. During busy times, it could take up to 15 minutes for a buggy to arrive at our room. Luckily, our villa was so conveniently located. We could walk to the beach and most of the restaurants. So we didn't require buggy service all the time which was a good thing.

We stayed at the resort most of the time. We tried all the restaurants. All restaurants served good quality food especially Saffron, which we highly recommend. The beach was clean with crystal clear water. We could see fishes swimming right at our feet...so much fun. We had also tried the Rainforest at Banyan Tree Spa. It was an unique experience worth to try.

This was the second time we had stayed at one of the Banyan Tree resorts. Both experiences were unique and great. We were never be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Mchi402003,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui, your Sanctuary for the Senses!

Thank you for staying with us recently and for choosing our brand once again. I am thrilled to read that you had a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday while enjoying the comfort and convenience of your Deluxe Pool Villa, nestled among the lush vegetation at the foot of our hillside, and were able to find the perfect setting to unwind while feeling a sense of home. I am pleased that you experienced our various dining outlets including our signature Thai restaurant, Saffron, which serves a combination of traditional Thai dishes with a modern twist.

Mchi402003, thank you once again for staying with us. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the future for another memorable holiday.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    77
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
138
389
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Only one word can describe this hotel and the time me and my wife spent there, and this word is PERFECTION. It is really the best hotel me and my wife have stayed in our lives (and I may say we've been pretty much around). And I'm not only talking about the location or the architecture or the facilities, which are superb. I'm talking about the people working there. Never before I've found such a charming, helpful and efficient hotel staff as we found there. Their permanent smile, from sunrise to sunset and the way take care of any need that you may have, makes you feel so comfortable that you feel you could stay there for ever. If you add to all of that the beauty of the villas, the ever present breeze, the nice restaurants and the quality of the food, the relaxing luxury of the Spa and the Rainforest, the richness of the service... what else can you expect?. Only one regret, our heavenly time there ended too soon. Now there's only one thing I can do about it, to dream and plan when to fly back to paradise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear JoeLuciano,

Greetings from sunny Samui!

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to extend your comments. I am delighted to read that you were pleased with the comfort of your villa, the design of the resort, the cuisine on offer at our various dining outlets and the relaxation delivered at our award-winning Banyan Tree Spa. Moreover, it is a pleasure to know that our associates and their discrete, attentive service exceeded your expectations. As a Banyan Tree property, we take pride in delivering the highest standards of service and it is wonderful that your felt the personal touch from our team. I have already passed your comments along to all for their continued motivation.

JoeLuciano, thank you once again for staying with us. We would be honoured to welcome you back to our sanctuary for the senses and to create another memorable holiday in paradise.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We visited Banyan Tree Koh Samui back in Nov/Dec 2010. Simply one of the most beautiful places I've been to. The resort & spa were more than what we expected them to be.

Very private and exclusive resort. Rooms were 'roomy', our butler wasn't very helpful but the staff were cheery and really helpful. Spa treatments were amazing. Food was great, especially the fresh tropical fruits!

I am definitely going back.

Room Tip: The best room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Fatema81,

Thank you for staying with us and for extending your comments regarding your overall experience at our resort. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our villas, dining options, world-class Banyan Tree Spa and the service from our team. We anticipate welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday at Banyan Tree Samui in the future.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I love this hotel.That is the best hotel I had ever stayed.I and my wife stayed in royal villa from 24 may to 27 may.The staff is very friendly and the service is very good.The view in the villa is perfect.I am sure I will be back one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui, your Sanctuary for the Senses!

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and I am delighted to read that you and your wife had a memorable stay with us and were able to relax in the comfort of your Royal Banyan Pool Villa while enjoying the stunning view over our private bay and the Gulf of Thailand. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future and being of service to you once again.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I had the most splendid holiday at the hotel over the weekend. Service was impeccable and the views from our villa was out of this world. We loved it so much we spent most of our time in the villa enjoying the private pool leaving only for our spa treatments and meals. Food at the Thai and beach restaurant at the hotel simply delicious. Highly recommended for those who want a quiet and luxurious weekend away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Chiet,

Thank you for staying with us recently and I am thrilled that you were able to have a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday. I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of your villa and the privacy of your pool as well as the sensational view of our hillside out to the Gulf of Thailand. It is great to read that you also experienced our world-class Banyan Tree Spa and our various dining outlets throughout the resort.

Chiet, thank you once again for your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future for another retreat from the strains of city life in Bangkok.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

The Banyan Tree, Samui is situated in a beautiful cove that is exclusive to hotel residents. We had a lower level, ocean view villa for 7 nights. The setting was idyllic and the view from our villa can truly be described as "breathtaking".

We had a few minor issues to deal with when we were there. However, the staff were very helpful and efficient and the disruption was minimal. The resort uses a golf buggy transportation system which we found to be helpful, especially in the heat of the mid day. 

We used all facilities, including the spa. The Thai massage was fantastic.

We ate at all the restaurants, with Saffron ( high on the side of the cove) being our favourite. 

We are new to Banyan Tree, having previously tried out Four Seasons and other brands like Conrad and Shangri-la. The locals speak very highly of the Banyan Tree, placing it always in the top 3 destinations on the island.

We will certainly think of returning to this resort. It is a perfect place to rest and relax and reflect. We were very pleased with our choice. Enjoy! 

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear B20url,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to extend your comments. I am delighted that you were able to have a memorable holiday while enjoying your Ocean View Villa, with its stunning view over our private bay and the Gulf of Thailand, as well as our various facilities including our award-winning Banyan Tree Spa and our dining outlets inclusive of Saffron, serving our signature Thai cuisine.

B20url, thank you once again for choosing our brand for our travels. We would be honoured to welcome you back to our Sanctuary for the Senses. Whether it be here at Banyan Tree Spa or one of our sister properties around the world.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stunning view from the room. The room is very functional. The endless pool is nice
Recommend for couple who want to have perfect honey moon. You will find pretty of activity to do in the hotel room and overall fascility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday. I am pleased that you were able to delight in the comfort of your loved one while enjoying your villa and its private pool as well as the exceptional view of the Gulf of Thailand. It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again in the future for another relaxing holiday.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Samui

Address: 99/9 Moo 4, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ko Samui
#24 Family Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Samui 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a pristine private beach, the 88 all-pool villa Banyan Tree Samui features the best elements of a tropical getaway with the convenience of being just 19 km from Samui International Airport. Overlooking the sapphire waters of scenic Lamai Bay, the resort is nestled in a series of cascading terraces on a private hill cove in the south-eastern coast of Koh Samui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banyan Tree Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Samui Hotel Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.