We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and charming service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant

Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant
31/4 Moo5, | Thong Krut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
0878879956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 869 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nuch’s Green Ta’lay Restaurant is located in the south of the island, the peaceful side of Koh Samui. We specialize in central Thai cooking. Dine with pool and garden views and one of a kind relief art work on the walls by a local artisan. Prawns and fish dishes very popular. Nuch’s signature dish is green curry to which our guests say is the best in Thailand. We also have menus printed in Russian. Open 10-3pm closed Mondays
Whitley Bay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and charming service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The Green Ta'lay is a fantastic restaurant. On both occasions that we have visited in the last week the food was delicious and the service from Taan was charming. Ignore Madmannoman, he is clearly, as his name implies, mad. One tip - leave a little room for the homemade coconut ice cream, even if you have to share a scoop. It's to die for. And if 1200 bahts is expensive for 2 people to have 2 drinks each, 3 mains, 2 rice dishes and a desert then I'm a pineapple.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    45
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food and warm, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful restaurant does not disappoint. We were greeted warmly on arrival and service was very friendly and prompt the whole evening. The raw prawns in Thai dressing was the best dish I've had in Thailand so far! Definitely a dish to come back for. The curries were fragrant and full of flavour. The prices were very reasonable for such a beautifully presented restaurant. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very very disappointed ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

After reading soo much about the restaurant, traveling so far to get to it, I was completely disappointed. I am sure some of the street shops in Chaweng market have better food. Sorry about this review but that's the truth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good quality Thai food but a little too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The quality is very good with all the spice and herb flavours . Had an excellent green curry and fried fish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lazy Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

During our stay at the Conrad we asked if there were any close decent restaurants where we could experience home cooked Thai food. This was recommended to us so we booked in and looked forward to the experience. On arrival we were about to be greeted by a waitress/server/supervisor but they she started having a conversation with our driver for around 20 seconds not a good start. We noticed that there was one other table in the restaurant. We were told we could pick form any table so we did and waited for 2 minutes before we were brought menus. No good wine on the menu so decided to have a Mojito instead. It came and was very watery and weak so went onto diet coke.
10 minutes later she finally came to take our order, we asked for recommendations but she was not helpful. We did ask for thai curry but not a really spicy one and we had some garlic beef, vegetables, and rice noodles. the curry when it came was quite bland as i expected some flavours, but the beef was nice so we ordered another one of those instead. During our meal another couple had arrived and had slow service like us. You could see the girl serving popping gout of the restaurant to the house next door to get things out of the fridge and bringing them across not covered up and serving them. In the mean time kissing and chatting with a guy watching TV on the sofa.
If this restaurant had someone with character and charisma who welcomed you on arrival then maybe my opinion may have been different, but i still would not give this a rating better than average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.