We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant

Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant
31/4 Moo 5 | Thong Krut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
0878879956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 891 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best Thai food restaurant we've been in Thailand
Cozy, friendly staff the owner well look after you personally
Definitely we are going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    47
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ended up going to the Green Ta'lay 6 nights out of the 7 that we were in the South of koh Samui. Its a lovely restaurant and David the owner is very personable and recommended a number of dishes to us. We were never disappointed all the meals we ate there were excellent and I even enjoyed the raw prawns (which I was dubious about) that David recommended. The 2 waitresses were very polite and friendly and always very welcoming. On top of all this the food was modestly priced and they served wine that was affordable! I would highly recommend the Green Ta'lay to anyone who is venturing to Koh Samui the food and staff there made our holiday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best Green Curry in Samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hands down the best green curry you will experience in Koh Samui. Lovely owner as well. I will be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food with reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The restaurant suggested by Conrad. Just 10mins away from resort.
The food is good and price is not high.
Good to try

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Thai food on island, no contest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

If you are visiting koh Samui a trip to Green Talay is an absolute must. This restaurant is hands down the best food on the island and in the running for the best Thai food we have ever eaten, and we have spent a lot of time in Thailand. The food is authentic and original with many dishes we have never seen elsewhere and extremely high quality. The seafood, vegetables, and herbs are incredibly fresh and the food is never greasy. The cocktails are also impeccable, the best mixed drinks we j
Have had in thailand. The restaurant is run by a friendly American who will happily steer you to the best items on the menu, and you should take his advice! His wife is the genius in the kitchen :)

We went to the restaurant three nights in a row while staying at the nearby Conrad and were delighted with the food each night. We started with gin and tonics, and they were the best mixed drinks we have had in south east Asia. Tons of fresh lime juice and perfect proportions. The highlight dish was the fried fish with tamarind sauce and Thai herbs - simply phenomenal! We ordered it all three nights. The fish can be served off the bone (a welcome change from most Thai restaurants) and is smothered in flash fried lemon grass and kiffir lime with a tamarind sauce that is light and not too sweet. Outstanding! Other favorites were the Panang curry (creamy, spicy, no grease), baby squid stuffed with glass noodles and shrimp in a rich mushroom sauce (the squid was perfectly tender and not chewy at all), stir fried baby cabbage in oyster sauce (not what you think of cabbage - more like bok choy than cabbage but even better; crisp and crunchy instead of limp and chewy). The tempura shrimp were also fantastic. Perfectly battered and flash fried to perfection.

The prices of food and drinks are incredibly reasonable and the food is simply out of this world. The service is also fantastic - two lovely waitresses who are friendly, knowledgeable about the menu, and speak great English. And of course Dave, the owner who truly will not steer you wrong. An absolute must try!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.