We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks strange, bute perfect food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khun Ying

Khun Ying
Ban Bangrak | Big Buddah Beach Road, Ko Samui, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #315 of 948 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Wien
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looks strange, bute perfect food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You have to wait hours for your dinner, so order Starters!
But the Food is sooo good, it´s worth to wait.
Restaurant Looks a bit dirty, but don´t worry, everything is just fine!
Signature Dish: Black pepper Crab- Just like heaven!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aintree
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moved kocation, still Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We have visited khun yings, every year for the past 5 years and have always had excellent food and service for a cheap price. Ie £6 a head inc a drink.
We always get the same food! Squid (calamari style), chicken fried rice, prawn fried rice, pork omelette, vegetables in oyster sauce, Masaman chicken and curried dry seafood. All fresh and tastes beautiful. If we want something special we always telephone him during the day and he gets in in for the evening meal , for example large crabs. Please note this resteraunt has moved location and is on the ring road near chaweng noi. Go past the shell petrol station towards lamai and khun yings comes up about half a mile on the right hand side, next to full moon bar

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I love the Curry Masamman”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me and my husband decided to give it a try since it was only 5 minutes walk from our hotel, Samui Pier. We ordered Curry Masamman with Pork, Stir Fried Asparagus with Shrimp and Red Snapper with Garlic and Pepper.
The first dish to arrive was curry masamman and it was so delicious with the fragrance of coconut milk. We can almost finish the steam rice with just the curry.
The next dish was the asparagus but it was a bit too salty for us. Shrimps were fresh.
Finally came the fish. It was just okay, nothing to brag about. The fish cost us 350 baht, a bit big portion for two person.
Talking about the environment, not those fancy restaurant. A very normal atmosphere, or I should say "family feel". Expect to wait a bit for dishes to be served.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“real thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we ate here after reading on here about it. and all i can say is its a totally relaxed place to eat!!!, they ll give you recommendations on what to eat, depending on if you like spice etc...brilliant home cooked food. DONT let the appearance of this place put you off!!!!, if you like thai food EAT HERE

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai Food and low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We ordered a lot. Everything is delicious. Especially the crab.
The Tom Yum Soup is Great!

The banana coconut desert is a little too sweet though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khun Ying also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 
Plai Laem, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to Khun Ying? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khun Ying, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.